9/9, Bell, AMPS 44/55/63 +2.5 49 +3.5 76 +5 56 +6.5 65 +10 120 PMPS 266

Seth&Bell

Very Active Member
Yesterday

My shenanigan meter was on point yesterday. I set an alarm for PMPS +8 and she had dropped to 61. I woke up again at +10 to make sure she ate her food, but I didn't poke her (I should have). Got her 10 minutes before her normal AM shot time at 44. Gave her 2 tsps of 3% and poked her 20 minutes later for the 55. Waited another 20 min (30 min after the normal shot time) and got her at 63 and shot. She's back down below 50 for the +2.5, so I am staying home and watching her closely today. 5 units may still be too strong for her! Maybe she'll do better at 4.75 than she did a few weeks ago. One more lime will do the trick.
 
Back on the fridge this morning 😄
1757431524452.png
 
From the Sticky Note on Handling Lower Preshots:
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
Might have been best to stall without feeding and retest that 44 this morning. Just to see if she would have come up on her own or was dredging the bottom.
 
Ha, I actually did dig up that sticky and reread at shot time this morning.

I’m curious your thoughts on this, Wendy. Since I had the +8 as 61, my gut was that she was still dropping at the AMBG and I wanted to give her a bit of a boost so I could comfortably shoot. I understand that I don’t want to falsely inflate a shot, but if I’m not confident that she’ll be above 50 an hour after shot time is it worth the risk to not feed? I really didn’t want to skip the shot and felt like a little low carb could kick her into a rise.

Say, if I stalled for an hour and she was at 49, what would be the play? Skip?
 
Yesterday

My shenanigan meter was on point yesterday. I set an alarm for PMPS +8 and she had dropped to 61. I woke up again at +10 to make sure she ate her food, but I didn't poke her (I should have). Got her 10 minutes before her normal AM shot time at 44. Gave her 2 tsps of 3% and poked her 20 minutes later for the 55. Waited another 20 min (30 min after the normal shot time) and got her at 63 and shot. She's back down below 50 for the +2.5, so I am staying home and watching her closely today. 5 units may still be too strong for her! Maybe she'll do better at 4.75 than she did a few weeks ago. One more lime will do the trick.
Whoa! Great job, Seth. Bell is such a diver. Glad you just knew where she was headed 🥰
 
Since I had the +8 as 61, my gut was that she was still dropping at the AMBG and I wanted to give her a bit of a boost so I could comfortably shoot. I understand that I don’t want to falsely inflate a shot, but if I’m not confident that she’ll be above 50 an hour after shot time is it worth the risk to not feed? I really didn’t want to skip the shot and felt like a little low carb could kick her into a rise.

Say, if I stalled for an hour and she was at 49, what would be the play? Skip?
I see several times on Bell's spreadsheet where she was fine at +8, hit lime, then was back up at preshot. So we don't know which direction she was going at +12. You only wait 15-20 minutes to see what she's doing. If she's lingering in the 40's, then you feed. That is the second bullet point I quoted.

Glad to see she's done with flirting with limes for the day.
 
Gotcha, thank you Wendy. My question is a hypothetical, which I know you love :p. But here goes:
AMBG - 44
Stall 20 min - 42 (feed a little LC)
Stall 20 min - 45
Stall 20 min - 48

After stalling for an hour is it ok to keep stalling past that if I feel Bell is on the upward trend and say in another 20 min she’s 55? Or is stalling longer than an hour not recommended and I should just skip at this point?

Since Bell isn’t tightly regulated, maybe that plays into it as well? Since bigger shifts in shot times might not be as big of deal if she ends up bouncing to the moon from her limes.
 
If you stall too long, at some point, kitty's numbers tend to go down without food. Your job is to find out how long you have with Bell. There is no theoretical point after which you stop stalling. Hopefully she doesn't give you a chance to test this. In your scenario above, you'd keep giving a little LC at the 20 minute marks.

FWIW - I one time did back to back deliberate 18 hour cycles, to accommodate an event for me. At the end of the second 18 hour cycle, Neko was green for AMPS. No clue what happened, I thought for sure it'd be safe to sleep cause it was so long between shots. 5/30/2015 if you are interested in looking it up. Could have been her working pancreas - which some acros have. Anyway, just saying, cats are unpredictable.
 
Thank you so much, Wendy. For some reason I always had the one hour time limit running in the back of my head.

I just looked at Neko's 18-hour cycles. That is pretty wild. It is almost like she had muscle memory of a bounce break. I bet you went to bed with the tea leaves telling you her preshot the next day was going to be really high. Her cycles in general look interesting, with a lot of nadirs around shot time. The pokes at +10 really give good info on which way she was headed for the following cycle. Thank you for sharing
 
Neko was also on Levemir at that point in time. Typical Lev onset +4 (Neko +5), typical nadir +8 (Neko +9-+12). That same year 2015 end of July, you can see her acro tumour pulsing up again.
 
Back
Top