9/9 Beenie 165 AMPS, 295 +3, 244 +7..PMPS 177, 207 +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beenie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

We are running higher but she seems more perky. Since we started to see greens she seemed more miserable in them. Not perky at all. So I thought it would just take time for her body to get used to the lower numbers. Not sure how long that is supposed to take?
Anyway I'm curious to see how she fairs today and tomorrow in the mid to upper blues. Will increase to 8 U soon if we keep trending upwards.

Got some good shut eye last night!
big stretches.jpg

Chin scritches to all the kitties

Prayers to all our friends and family affected by Irma.
 
Sleep is good! Come on Beenie, back down to greens for you (just dark greens - no lime greens allowed today!). It took Gizmo a little bit to feel better in the lower numbers. I can't remember how long though. It was just a gradual change.
 
Sleep is good! Come on Beenie, back down to greens for you (just dark greens - no lime greens allowed today!). It took Gizmo a little bit to feel better in the lower numbers. I can't remember how long though. It was just a gradual change.
That's good to know. It was bothering me that she was very lethargic in the dark greens. It hasn't been long that she was in them so I would imagine the patients pants were probably needed for mama bean:rolleyes:
 
I think each cat is different in how long it takes them to get used to normal numbers. I hope Beenie surfs safely today. I'm glad you got some sleep last night.
 
That is a tough one, hopefully the real pros chime in but Beenie has shown she gets to greens with 7u, albeit somewhat from the larger depot of the 11.5u. If you want some sleep, I would maybe wait till tomorrow for a possible increase to 8 and also see how she plays out the rest of today/tonight. Pros here will prob tell you to see how 6 cycles of the same dose pans out...
 
On a decrease, you don't have to wait six cycles. You just wait for any bounce to be over and see where the nadirs land. If they aren't green, you can increase and consider it a failed reduction. As long as you can monitor, I think you'd b fine going to 9 units. However, since you've been adjusting the dose a lot this week, I would hold the new dose at least six cycles, unless of course if she earns a reduction.
 
On a decrease, you don't have to wait six cycles. You just wait for any bounce to be over and see where the nadirs land. If they aren't green, you can increase and consider it a failed reduction. As long as you can monitor, I think you'd b fine going to 9 units. However, since you've been adjusting the dose a lot this week, I would hold the new dose at least six cycles, unless of course if she earns a reduction.
Ok. So I new you didn't have to wait 6 cycles for a failed reduction but you're right there were so many dose changes I'll give it 6 full cycles anyway to see if it "settles". I was worried if she shot up even more would that be cause to reduce sooner. We are already on cycle number 4 so it wouldn't be much longer if I needed to increase. I can monitor a good amount this week so if at the end of the 6th cycle she's been running higher I will opt to go to the 9 u.
Thanks for the feedback!! :)
 
That is a tough one, hopefully the real pros chime in but Beenie has shown she gets to greens with 7u, albeit somewhat from the larger depot of the 11.5u. If you want some sleep, I would maybe wait till tomorrow for a possible increase to 8 and also see how she plays out the rest of today/tonight. Pros here will prob tell you to see how 6 cycles of the same dose pans out...
Thanks Paul. I tag you because I consider you one of the real pros and value you're opinion!!;) Thanks so much for the feedback.
 
My suggestion was to increase now, then hold for six cycles. Not to keep holding this dose. But you hold another two cycles if you want and she doesn't keep trending up.
 
My suggestion was to increase now, then hold for six cycles. Not to keep holding this dose. But you hold another two cycles if you want and she doesn't keep trending up.
:woot:Oh my goodness I'm glad you clarified. I will increase tonight to 9 U and see how we do. Thanks Wendy!!
 
It was bothering me that she was very lethargic in the dark greens.
Remember she also started cabergoline, so that probably is impacting her too. I can't say with Marvin as he was pretty much lethergic from dx with occasional perkiness. Mind you he was always a lazy kitty. Since the cabergoline looks like it kicked in immediately wtih Beenie I would think that maybe part of it.
 
:woot:Oh my goodness I'm glad you clarified. I will increase tonight to 9 U and see how we do. Thanks Wendy!!
Lol, I remember trying to plan the next dose with Marvin, he sometimes had other plans for me and Wendy. A few times when a bit lower than you, the BCS became the next dose as he just kept throwing us some low numbers with no bounces :rolleyes: there were some nights I wished he would have bounced so I could get some sleep.
 
Lol, I remember trying to plan the next dose with Marvin, he sometimes had other plans for me and Wendy. A few times when a bit lower than you, the BCS became the next dose as he just kept throwing us some low numbers with no bounces :rolleyes: there were some nights I wished he would have bounced so I could get some sleep.
So the 7 U was a big drop and I'm thinking the 9 might be a better way to go for now. We're getting close to PMPS test and if for some reason she's much lower than +10.5 I may consider 8 or 8.5. Plus I slept really well last night and even napped for two hours today!! With all that sleep I'm ready for the next round of "monitoring":p
 
Remember she also started cabergoline, so that probably is impacting her too. I can't say with Marvin as he was pretty much lethergic from dx with occasional perkiness. Mind you he was always a lazy kitty. Since the cabergoline looks like it kicked in immediately wtih Beenie I would think that maybe part of it.
Even before starting cabergoline she was so not herself. Today has been the best day in a while...go figure. :rolleyes:
 
That's good to know. It was bothering me that she was very lethargic in the dark greens. It hasn't been long that she was in them so I would imagine the patients pants were probably needed for mama bean:rolleyes:
Glad to hear you got some sleep! :-)

So glad you asked this question. Girlie is noticeably happier in blues, but in greens she's also lethargic and definitely not a happy camper. I was wondering if her body was just finding those greens too confronting and needed time to adjust. She is absolutely miserable when she's diving and trying to self-compensate (don't think that's a word) by eating more food, poor thing!

Hope all goes well with Beenie! :bighug:
 
Hi there :cool:

'Dialing for Doses' ... I believe it was Julie Punkin that coined the phrase ;)

You are mindful of all the various moving parts...Acro, IAA, cabergoline, the depot...and the importance of safety first navigating the uncharted waters.

You have good instincts. Follow them.
 
Glad to hear you got some sleep! :)

So glad you asked this question. Girlie is noticeably happier in blues, but in greens she's also lethargic and definitely not a happy camper. I was wondering if her body was just finding those greens too confronting and needed time to adjust. She is absolutely miserable when she's diving and trying to self-compensate (don't think that's a word) by eating more food, poor thing!

Hope all goes well with Beenie! :bighug:
Thanks, yes it was nice to sleep almost straight through. I even indulged in quite a bit of red wine last night:p

Interesting about how the kitties feel depending on where their BG numbers are. So crazy how she was today. Well see what happens on the new dose.

Thanks again!!
 
Hi there :cool:

'Dialing for Doses' ... I believe it was Julie Punkin that coined the phrase ;)

You are mindful of all the various moving parts...Acro, IAA, cabergoline, the depot...and the importance of safety first navigating the uncharted waters.

You have good instincts. Follow them.
Thanks Sandy:bighug:
 
I think it was Julie who also compared higher blood sugars to coffee. You get used to a certain amount, but when it goes lower, you feel crumby until your body gets used to it. When Neko first saw green, she hid under the bed,
 
When Neko first saw green, she hid under the bed,
I remember you telling me that. Do you remember how long it took, roughly, for Neko to get used to the lower numbers? I know ECID but just an idea so I have some sort of reference. Again Beenie wasn't in the greens very long but boy its a night and day difference today. She was so bright eyed and was little more like herself.
 
Neko was on Lantus then, and quite a bit higher IAA, 52%, so greens were fleeting as we climbed the dosing scale. She didn't have as much time in green to get used to it. For the longest time, low pink was her happy zone. I can't remember how long it took, but black was also a regular visitor in those early days. It took a year to say goodbye to reds. :rolleyes: Maybe it took 5 months after the first green?
 
Neko was on Lantus then, and quite a bit higher IAA, 52%, so greens were fleeting as we climbed the dosing scale. She didn't have as much time in green to get used to it. For the longest time, low pink was her happy zone. I can't remember how long it took, but black was also a regular visitor in those early days. It took a year to say goodbye to reds. :rolleyes: Maybe it took 5 months after the first green?
Ok that helps. Thanks Wendy!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top