9/9 Alex AMPS 462 PMPS HI,+3-169

Status
Not open for further replies.
Don't know if this is because we went below 5.0 but but seems that whenever we do..we get stuck. Just my theory but what do I know? :roll:
Alex is a little grumpy pants this morning but I got him off schedule by giving him his shot late last night so we'll see.

Otherwise, all p's are in order and he and Jackson ..no he and Jackson had a normal size breffis(was gonna say huge) and are now taking their morning naps.

Have a great day everyone! :razz:

yesterday
 
Re: 9/9 Alex AMPS 462 YUCKY

Oh Alex...red is not so nice.... :sad: Shadow had trouble holding reductions in the past so now he has to wait for 3 separate <50s before I reduce his dose. Did you ever think of trying that with Alex?

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet.
 
Re: 9/9 Alex AMPS 462 YUCKY

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Oh Alex...red is not so nice.... :sad: Shadow had trouble holding reductions in the past so now he has to wait for 3 separate <50s before I reduce his dose. Did you ever think of trying that with Alex?

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet.

Carolyn told me not to hold this time with Alex..we tried it last time and it was a disaster.
 
Re: 9/9 Alex AMPS 462 YUCKY

squash that red, Alex
banana095.gif
 
Re: 9/9 Alex AMPS 462 YUCKY

Alex is the exception that proves any rule. It's his MO. At least he enjoyed breffus.

Hugs to all!
 
Re: 9/9 Alex AMPS 462 YUCKY

Yikes! :o Alex, come down!

Sorry for the dosing troubles Caryl! I have no advice, I absolutely have no clue. But you totally have my sympathy. ;-)
 
IF the HI was 600, then that was a drop of 431 points in 3 hours! OMG!
Alex, honey, what are we going to do with you?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top