9/9 Achilles AMPS 111 +1 108 dose reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eva and Achilles

Member Since 2010
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24447

Good morning, and happy Thursday.

Achilles gobbled up his breakfast and his snack at +1. Automatic feeders are in place, so we are hoping for some smooth sailing this afternoon while DH and I are at tbp (love that acronym). :-D

We put out lc wet food last night at pm +8 and +9 to help bring down his morning AMPS, but he didn't touch it. I think the feedings at pm shot and at pm +1, +2 and +3 filled him up. Also, I'm having such a hard time getting him to eat the Wellness foods which was the flavor I put out for him overnight. He loves FF, but I would like to get him on a predominantly Wellness and EVO regimen. Tonight I will put out one of his favorites as an overnight snack and see if he bites.

Anyway, he hit 50 last night and that was enough for me to take action and lower his dose this morning to .5u from .75u. I hope we can hold this dose for several days to give his pancreas a break. nailbite_smile

All in all I am so pleased with Achilles' response. :mrgreen: Again, thank you to everyone who has contirbuted advice and handholding and hugs during this FD crash course we are on. I hope to be able to pay it forward some day.
 
Thanks Jill. I am torn about the decision. I know the protocol calls for a drop below 50 in order to justify a dose decrease, but my nerves got the best of me. Shooting a low blue or high green and leaving the house for 11 hours has turned me into a ball of nerves.

To make matters worse, we are scheduled to go on a much needed vacation in 2 weeks (which we booked before Achilles was diagnosed), and now I don't know for the life of me how I can possibly go away given the situation. :YMSIGH:
 
yes, reducing is one of those borderline decisions. i debated whether to say anything about it when i posted. however, achilles is so newly diagnosed that it might not matter. we'll know soon enough. the numbers will tell the story. if the reduction doesn't hold, just go right back up in dose.

what kind of arrangements have you made for achilles when you're gone? will someone be testing and shooting? will he be alone or supervised during the day and at night? does he usually eat normally when you're gone? how long will you be gone?

*usually* we suggest lowering the dose when a caregiver is away. as it gets closer to vacation time, remind us and we'll suggest a safe dose depending on the arrangements which have been made for him.
 
It will be interesting to see what Achilles does with the lowered dose. That 50 was a point away from a 49...splitting hairs really. I realize that the reduction made you feel a little more relaxed. And he probably would have gone lower had you not been feeding, right? Now we have to see if Achilles will let you keep relaxing or if he will soon outgrow his need for this lowered dose. :lol:
If his numbers go higher, you will increase when the time comes
If his numbers go lower...well, you will do the same thing as you just did.
You are doing a great job Eva...and the way you are using the mini meals is excellent!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top