9/8 Zeke - PMPS=196;+1=189(AT)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
This is so upsetting. Why 516?

He dipped to 66 last night and at +4.5 I gave him a little HC food because I got nervous that he was going to continue dropping from 80 as he still had two hours to nadir.

So just wondering is the 516 a bounce or most likely from the HC?

Here's the condo from yesterday: Zeke's day on 9/7
 
Re: 9/8 Zeke - PMPS 516: Bounce or HC?

This is a bounce! The HC wears off in 1 - 2 hours. Zeke worked himself through the entire rainbow yesterday. He was in the 400s at AMPS and in the 60s by PM +3. That's a lot of territory to cover in the space of 24 hours. Hence, a bounce. Bounces can happen if a kitty's numbers drop low, drop fast, and/or drop a lot. The most difficult aspect of using Lantus is being patient. The bounce will clear. It took Zeke 24 hours to clear the last one so hopefully, he'll get back into better numbers quickly.

One strategy you may want to take advantage of is what we call, "shooting through the bounce." Given that Zeke's numbers last night warranted a dose reduction, if when you test at the next pre-shot and numbers are high, you can shoot your old dose once more. The extra insulin can help with bringing the bouncy numbers down. (In other words, you could have shot the 1.25u this morning.) Then, you reduce the dose the following cycle.
 
Re: 9/8 Zeke - PMPS 516- BOUNCE

Thanks Sienne. I appreciate the "shooting through the bounce" info in case we're faced with this situation again in the future. I have seen shooting through the bounce mentioned here and there. I wish I would have asked what that meant (or read posts a little closer to understand the concept) so I would have considered it this morning. I believe that would have been the best course of action this AM.

Patience is not one of my virtues so I'm really hard on myself when I believe I didn't make the best decision for Zeke. I'll try not to beat myself up too much about it. Live and Learn.

"Serenity Now"
 
Re: 9/8 Zeke-AMPS 516;+3=360;+6=214;+10=156AT (911 JIC)

Looks like we might have another active night. Zeke's nadir is "typically" +6 but his BG has dropped since then (+10=156). I'll take a +11 to see if still going down.
Hope you don't mind my using the 911 just as a heads up of what might be ahead. But seriously, there's no way he's gonna be =>130 at PS. I've already received copies of the Protocol and guidance on "shooting low numbers". So regardless of his recent reduction, we would still reduce tonight if his BG warrants it, correct?

BTW - This little stinker is not wanting to eat much. His appetite (as expected, I suppose) has decreased immensely since we started insulin. It's just getting much more difficult to get him to eat when we want him to (even the usual enticements aren't as effective).

WCR: The 5 Ps are normal. His coat feels so much better and even his hind legs (what we believe is) neuropathy is much improved since we started insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top