9/8 Yoshi amps 425 :( pmps 381 + 3 346

Yoshi just hasn't found his good dose yet.

Here's what I see on your spreadsheet. I suspect the 78 was a bad strip or bad test. That green is out of sync with the rest of Yoshi's numbers. (It can be helpful to re-test if you get a number that doesn't seem to make sense it it's either way high or way low.) Based on that number, you reduced Yoshi's dose. Then, he tested at 299 which is relatively low for him and he bounced. Even with the dose increase back to 1.0u, there looks to be a bounce. It can take roughly 6 cycles for a bounce to clear which means that the bounce should clear tomorrow AM.

However, I also suspect that Yoshi needs more insulin. Taking all of the above into account, I understand your frustration but Lantus is a marathon and not a sprint. Don't expect an overnight miracle. You've been using Lantus for less than 2 weeks and you're still getting the hang of this insulin.

 
Yoshi just hasn't found his good dose yet.

Here's what I see on your spreadsheet. I suspect the 78 was a bad strip or bad test. That green is out of sync with the rest of Yoshi's numbers. (It can be helpful to re-test if you get a number that doesn't seem to make sense it it's either way high or way low.) Based on that number, you reduced Yoshi's dose. Then, he tested at 299 which is relatively low for him and he bounced. Even with the dose increase back to 1.0u, there looks to be a bounce. It can take roughly 6 cycles for a bounce to clear which means that the bounce should clear tomorrow AM.

However, I also suspect that Yoshi needs more insulin. Taking all of the above into account, I understand your frustration but Lantus is a marathon and not a sprint. Don't expect an overnight miracle. You've been using Lantus for less than 2 weeks and you're still getting the hang of this insulin.
I thought for a second that 75 was a bad strip or test, but he was acting really weird before I tested him. Like forging for food. Knocking avocados down, knocking over my vitamins, sniffing the floor for a drop of food. He was way more hungry than he usually is. Idk.
 
Yeah like Sienne said, I always re-test if I get a result that seems outside the norm. I've found that sometimes the test strip will take up blood only along one half of the test strip and still give a reading but it winds up being a bad reading.

Are you testing for ketones at all? When you've got numbers in the 300,400,500 range it's always a good idea to keep an eye on them. Cats can handle high BG numbers that would kill a person but it's not without risks. But as long as there's no ketones, you're pretty okay. Again like Sienne said, it's a marathon not a sprint and as long as the cat is otherwise healthy, just gotta hang in there and be patient.
 
It's entirely possible that it was a legit test. The only way to truly know is to re-test. Gabby was the kind of kitty who could plummet into low numbers early in the cycle and catch me by surprise. I typically would re-test to make sure the number was accurate vs something goofy.
 
Yeah like Sienne said, I always re-test if I get a result that seems outside the norm. I've found that sometimes the test strip will take up blood only along one half of the test strip and still give a reading but it winds up being a bad reading.

Are you testing for ketones at all? When you've got numbers in the 300,400,500 range it's always a good idea to keep an eye on them. Cats can handle high BG numbers that would kill a person but it's not without risks. But as long as there's no ketones, you're pretty okay. Again like Sienne said, it's a marathon not a sprint and as long as the cat is otherwise healthy, just gotta hang in there and be patient.
I’m not testing for them. He didn’t have them at the vet a week ago, but I should get some. I’m vet poor at the moment. I have to get new test strips soon. I’m almost out
 
You can get ketone testing strips from a human pharmacy, in the diabetic supplies. They're pretty cheap.

Might also be a good time to consider switching to a human meter if you are almost out of the AT strips. It really does save money over time, plus it's a lot easier to get strips if you don't have to go through the vet.
 
I thought of switching this morning. But my vet may not even look at the readings if I switch

She already thinks I’m “challenging” her, and that Yoshi “will never go back into remission.” She wanted to do a fructosomine at 3 weeks and up to 2u (because that is her protocol with EVERY cat - I know, insane). I told her I would do a curve and she would have my spreadsheet data to determine dose and that I wasn’t paying for another fructosomine test

I unfortunately think I need to stick to alpha track to avoid unnecessary vet tests
 
Ugh. I'm sorry you have to worry about that. How annoying.

Another possibility that some people do to get around this issue: two meters. One for day-to-day monitoring and one for the occasional curve to show the vet. And just don't tell/show her all the day-to-day tests (sounds like she doesn't like them anyway!).
 
That is a good idea!!!. Too bad I saw it after I just ordered more alpha track strips :banghead:

And you are right, my vet sees no point in home testing. She is a new vet to me, my old vet (when he was first diagnosed) had a fire, and she appreciated home testing. I may go back to her if we decide Lantus isn’t wking (she has prozinc).

I will pick up keytone strips. How do you test for them? Does Yoshi get to pee on me now? I’m sure he would love to get me back for all the poking :facepalm:
 
Yoshi just hasn't found his good dose yet.

Here's what I see on your spreadsheet. I suspect the 78 was a bad strip or bad test. That green is out of sync with the rest of Yoshi's numbers. (It can be helpful to re-test if you get a number that doesn't seem to make sense it it's either way high or way low.) Based on that number, you reduced Yoshi's dose. Then, he tested at 299 which is relatively low for him and he bounced. Even with the dose increase back to 1.0u, there looks to be a bounce. It can take roughly 6 cycles for a bounce to clear which means that the bounce should clear tomorrow AM.

However, I also suspect that Yoshi needs more insulin. Taking all of the above into account, I understand your frustration but Lantus is a marathon and not a sprint. Don't expect an overnight miracle. You've been using Lantus for less than 2 weeks and you're still getting the hang of this insulin.
Thank you. When they bounce, do you typically lower the dose? Maybe I shouldn’t have gone back up to 1u after that 299?
 
There are a variety of ways to do the ketone testing. Some people with very chill cats can put a long-handled spoon (or even the strip itself!) under the cat's butt when peeing to catch some of the stream. More indirect methods include putting some crumpled plastic wrap in the cat's favorite litter box corner, or temporarily replacing litter with something non-absorbent like aquarium gravel. You only need a drop to dip into.
 
I'm sorry about your vet. It might mean time to find a new one when you can. And I wonder if your old vet will be okay with Lantus if they were open to home testing.

If all else fails... you can order insulin online from https://rxcanada4less.com/

Edit: and just some housekeeping, would you mind putting the date on your thread? Helps those who scan quickly on the forum page to know if the numbers are for today. Thank you!
 
Last edited:
I'm sorry about your vet. It might mean time to find a new one when you can. And I wonder if your old vet will be okay with Lantus if they were open to home testing.

If all else fails... you can order insulin online from https://rxcanada4less.com/

Edit: and just some housekeeping, would you mind putting the date on your thread? Helps those who scan quickly on the forum page to know if the numbers are for today. Thank you!
I just put the date up. I didn’t realize. Thank you.

I hope Yoshi gets good numbers soon. I don’t get it
 
When they bounce, do you typically lower the dose?
No. Bouncing means they are getting to lower numbers than they are used to, or dropping fast. Neither of those says “too much insulin”. Cats can bounce from yellows if they are aren’t used to it. If all a cat is getting is yellow nadirs, the dose is too low. The dosing method tells you when to lower or increase the dose.

Getting below the reduction point says they need to go down in dose. If you have decided on a dosing method, could you put TR or SLGS in your signature. That’ll help us help you because the reduction points differ for the two dosing methods,
 
No. Bouncing means they are getting to lower numbers than they are used to, or dropping fast. Neither of those says “too much insulin”. Cats can bounce from yellows if they are aren’t used to it. If all a cat is getting is yellow nadirs, the dose is too low. The dosing method tells you when to lower or increase the dose.

Getting below the reduction point says they need to go down in dose. If you have decided on a dosing method, could you put TR or SLGS in your signature. That’ll help us help you because the reduction points differ for the two dosing methods,
I think for now I’m slgs because I can’t test as often as tr because of wk. I don’t know; I’m testing as often as I can

I think I missed my one week curve. I wasn’t sure if I should still do it because I reduced a bit for three days. Is it ok if I do it next weekend?
 
It is good to do the curve when the depot is full, so after six cycles at the same dose. In the mean time, random spot checks during the night or day when you can, will help answer the question on how low this dose is taking Yoshi.
 
It is good to do the curve when the depot is full, so after six cycles at the same dose. In the mean time, random spot checks during the night or day when you can, will help answer the question on how low this dose is taking Yoshi.
Is a cycle an insulin shot (half day) or is it 2 (whole day)
 
Back
Top