Laurasboyz
Member Since 2020
Our last post was August 29th: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-3-5-47-4-59-4-5-70-5-77.252182/#post-2845418
Toeby and I didn't have a good day today.
He started off this morning with a 121 preshot, acted normally, but a +3 check showed him at 40.
I gave him some gravy HC food, which normally works to raise his BG level.
Today it didn't - it took me over two hours to get his BG over 50.
I even had to give him some honey because he eventually stopped eating for me, something he'd never done before.
I want to stop following TR guidelines.
I really don't think attempting to give him just a drop of insulin on a TR protocol is going to work for me.
He's gone below 50 three times at this 0.10 unit dose, and had an even 50 a fourth time.
I know I have to indicate a change on my spreadsheet, in the event I need help and someone looks at my SS.
I'm not sure if I should go back to the original SLGS guideline to decide whether to shoot or not, i.e not shooting below 100, and possibly skipping doses at BG's from 150 - 200.
If someone could help me on that, I'd really appreciate it as I'm feeling a bit frazzled on how to proceed.
I did search on previous posts, and read the lengthy convo about some people wanting to modify TR and the establishment of the SLGS protocol, but obviously I'm sure I didn't read all the discussions on how to go BACK to SLGS from TR.
Any input will be considered and appreciated.
Tagging @Wendy&Neko and @tiffmaxee and @Christie & Maverick
Not playing favourites! just some people I know who have given guidance on dosing in our past.
Thanks,
Laura
Toeby and I didn't have a good day today.
He started off this morning with a 121 preshot, acted normally, but a +3 check showed him at 40.
I gave him some gravy HC food, which normally works to raise his BG level.
Today it didn't - it took me over two hours to get his BG over 50.
I even had to give him some honey because he eventually stopped eating for me, something he'd never done before.
I want to stop following TR guidelines.
I really don't think attempting to give him just a drop of insulin on a TR protocol is going to work for me.
He's gone below 50 three times at this 0.10 unit dose, and had an even 50 a fourth time.
I know I have to indicate a change on my spreadsheet, in the event I need help and someone looks at my SS.
I'm not sure if I should go back to the original SLGS guideline to decide whether to shoot or not, i.e not shooting below 100, and possibly skipping doses at BG's from 150 - 200.
If someone could help me on that, I'd really appreciate it as I'm feeling a bit frazzled on how to proceed.
I did search on previous posts, and read the lengthy convo about some people wanting to modify TR and the establishment of the SLGS protocol, but obviously I'm sure I didn't read all the discussions on how to go BACK to SLGS from TR.
Any input will be considered and appreciated.
Tagging @Wendy&Neko and @tiffmaxee and @Christie & Maverick
Not playing favourites! just some people I know who have given guidance on dosing in our past.
Thanks,
Laura
