9/8 Tibbs pmps 325 - what's going on?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
i don't know what happened. i thought the zero carb food was working. he almost went blue and today he's back in pink.
how can you tell if it's just a bounce or if his insulin is too low? i don't understand the science of the numbers to know which it is. also if i wanted to move his shots from 12 am/12pm to 7am/7pm how slow would i have to do it? what is the safest way to change times if i decide to change? thanks

relaxed lantus condo
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=124912
 
you can just keep the same condo for the whole day and edit the subject line. otherwise it gets really confusing.

on your other post for today, i posted

julie & punkin (ga) said:
doesn't really look like a bounce number to me. this seems to be in the range for his typical recent preshots. If his last dry food was 9/4, it would surely be out of his system by now, probably by the end of the 5th. I'd say it just looks like he needs more insulin - if you're hoping for remission, 50-120 is your goal.

Tight Regulation Protocol
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

If he were mine, I'd increase to 1.75u and then try to make sure i got a pm cycle test every night, even if i think he's bouncing. You don't want to hold a dose too long that's not getting him into normal numbers because of Glucose Toxicity.

What zero carb food are you feeding? Is it the young again? I think that one is considered about 5%. It's not necessary to feed zero carb and it often doesn't really seem to help. Most cats do well on 4-5% carbs.

I don't mean to harp, but the night cycle tests are often very revealing. Without those, it's hard to have better explanations. This is from a post I wrote recently for someone else.
I think of the spreadsheet like a jigsaw puzzle. If you have only the corners and edge pieces, it's pretty hard to see what the picture is. But if you have pieces spread here and there all over the puzzle, it becomes easier to decipher the picture. That's exactly what the spreadsheet is for us. It helps us to see what the Lantus is doing when we can see the past 3 or more days with a sprinkling of tests here and there. Right now you've done a super job of getting tests in - it's giving us edge pieces and a couple of stripes down the middle of the "puzzle." It would really help to see some variety in the test times. Does your schedule allow you to get some different times? Your plan for a +4 and +8 today is super.

I'd suggest one day getting a +2 or +3, then maybe a +5 (since you have a lot of +6's), or +8, and then in the evening cycle get some different times, maybe a +4 or right before you go to bed. Your total per day doesn't necessarily need to be more tests, just vary the times. Does that make sense?

In Tibbs' case, we have a pretty good picture of the left side of the puzzle. But the right side is missing. I know it's hard to get night cycle tests - maybe making the schedule shift will help with that.

For changing the times, I'd go all at once, moving forward. So if you shot him at noon today, wait and shoot him at 7am tomorrow. He ends up with one 19 hr cycle and then you're at a good time. Make a note of it on the ss, cuz it will impact how soon he can have a dose increase after that. At this point, I'd probably go ahead with the increase. He's on a very low dose. I suspect we just haven't gotten to a good dose for him yet.
 
hi julie
thanks so much. the food is the young again. and yes the time change will def help with the pm cycle. thank you
nadine
 
Hi guys .. no advice from me, but just hang in there .. I know it's all confusing on what's what but everyone on here is so generous with their time and knowledge I'm sure someone will be able to explain it to you .. You are doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top