9/8-TAFFY AMPS 69/1.5u/+1 45/+1.5 39, 35, 29 @ +2.5/39 @ +3/+3.3 46/+20min 40/+6 78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone, so my spreadsheet is not up-to-date at all, I am guilty! It's totally on my to-do list and I never seem to get to it... I just have not had the time to post an update everything, I am so exhausted all the time.

But right now taffy's blood sugar is tanking I started him on Saccharomyces Boulardii two days ago because he tested positive for two types of Clostridium and one other thing, and they want to put him on Clavamox, but I'm trying the SB first. It must be working because his blood sugar has plummeted, given two reductions in the last two days and I think I'm gonna have to skip the shot, because it's either killing stuff off and helping him so much that that was the problem why he was high for so long. I don't know. He has a little bit of diarrhea still but I'm hoping that will clear up seem to be feeling okay and he's eating fine anybody else have this experience when they started getting bacterial overgrowth under control or giving the SB? I give other probiotics and have not had this reaction quite before with his blood sugar. (sorry for the little punctuation & run on sentences, but I'm dictating this on my phone.)
 
Hey there! Sorry I can't weigh in on answering any of your questions but I'm sure you'll get some words of wisdom soon.
Just wanted to say hi and hope Taffy comes up for you right now. You hear me mister? Feel better, both of you:bighug:
 
I hope Taffy comes up and surfs higher for you. I don't know about your questions either. You may want to add the ? icon to your subject line or edit your subject line with a question to get more eyes. I hope the SB helps clear everything up. Sending prayers.
 
At what point do I go to vet???? I am not panicked, but he has not tanked like this in a long time and not getting any response from food. He has had MC snck, two HC sncks and just gave corn syrup...

We are at 29 @ +2.5
 
Me too, if it's been 15 minutes since the HC and corn syrup test him again right away.
I hope someone else weighs in soon. I would head over to the vets unless you see him coming up SOON.
Better to be safe!!!
 
Any other symptoms?

It does take a few minutes for higher carbs and corn syrup to take effect. The next test (20 minutes after the last test) should tell you, though sometimes it takes a bit longer or shorter.
 
Panic is when the numbers are not coming up for you.

Taffy is coming up for you, but carbs wear off. It's early in the cycle and you are going to be doing a lot of steering for the next couple of hours.

But, I second the call to the vet and be prepared to fly out the door. This means putting the cat carrier beside the front door, and, if possible, having someone ready to drive you so that you can continue to test and observe.
 
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
  • DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
+3.5 is still really early in the cycle. I seem to recall a late night with you and Taffy who was not easy to bring up. Are you ready to go out the door is necessary? Some cats never do show symptoms of a hypo until it is too late.
 
Next test at 4pm PST, this will be +4.25

We are so early in the cycle...perhaps I should have skipped the shot this morning with the 69 at preshot, but I have shot low many times, so had maybe too much confidence! It was a dose reduction too. So, it looks like I should cancel my 6pm dinner plans???

I'll start working on updating SS right now.
 
Next test at 4pm PST, this will be +4.25

We are so early in the cycle...perhaps I should have skipped the shot this morning with the 69 at preshot, but I have shot low many times, so had maybe too much confidence! It was a dose reduction too. So, it looks like I should cancel my 6pm dinner plans???

I'll start working on updating SS right now.
At this point, I'd cancel the dinner plans. Taffy is only staying in the 40s with the help of honey and you will need a number of tests above 50 without help before you can step back a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top