9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - PMPS~258|+3.5~52|+4~40

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sushi (GA 5/05-3/14)

Member Since 2011
Well, though I was at the end of my rope there for a bit, I somehow managed to nurse Sushi back to health over the course of the week. He's doing so much better, completely back to himself and softer than ever!

Throughout the week, I went about setting up feline versions of Ryan's buffet for Sushi, complete with a variety of dry and canned foods, at shot times. I even tried sampler plates, with small bites of several different yummy canned foods. Despite my efforts, Sushi wasn't really interested, but his sister sure did enjoy it! She ate and ate like she was a queen!

In addition, I threw in the towel and attempted syringe feeding Tuesday. As I mentioned before, my main hesitation with syringe feeding was not having good syringes. The vet gave me 3ml and 10ml syringes, but the openings are about the size of a tip of a ballpoint pen. It was very difficult to use these syringes, no matter how thin I made the food. The 10ml syringes were impossible to use. So, I went to PetSmart, and (thank God!) they sold syringes. The one on the top is the one I got from PetSmart, and the ones on the bottom are the ones from the vet. I felt like Goldilocks trying to find the perfect size syringe:
Syringes.jpg

The syringe I bought from PetSmart was a bit too big, but was much easier to use. It also holds an ounce, which was good, because that's how we usually measure how much food our kitties eat.

Overall, syringe feeding went a lot better than I expected. I would go as far to say I prefer it to trying to get Sushi to eat canned food out of my hand. I cannot STAND the feel or smell of it; it reminds me of throwup. I gag every time, and can't seem to get the smell out of my hands.
Sushi growled a bit, his tounge would go crazy and he would snap his head to the side right at the moment I would squirt the food, so a lot of it went onto the other side of his face. So I'm not sure how much actually got into his system, but hey, it worked!
In fact, I had some food mixture leftover and he actually ate a few bites of it on his own! And he was looking at me expectantly as I was putting the syringes together for those pictures!

His numbers did drop into the 50's at one point when he wasn't eating much at all and didn't want anything to do with canned food. But I stalled, and got him to eat as much as I could, and he started to climb. That was stressful to say the least. Whew!
Plus, having the confidence that I could syringe feed him high carb if I needed to was incredibly reassuring! I feel so much more confident about handling Sushi's diabetes now that I know how to syringe feed, and how Sushi does with it.

Now that we're back on our feet, Sushi's numbers are super high. I'm assuming it's because of what he's eating. And there's still the factor of his antibiotic that has a rice/flour base.
Should adjust his dose?
I tried feeding our usual canned last night, but Sushi didn't go for it. I've at least got him eating half dry m/d and half canned. I'll continue to work on weaning him off dry food and back to our usual low carb canned.

Here are the questions that have come up through this experience and throughout the week:
The assisted feeding video suggested feeding
(4)10ml syringes (=a little over an ounce) 3-4 times a day = ~4.5 oz a day
or
(2)10ml syringes 5 times a day = 2.5oz/day
That's not much at all; Sushi normally eats 3 times that much!
:?: Is the goal of syringe feeding to feed the entire amount your kitty normally eats?

:?: What are your thoughts on VitaGravy? I'm assuming it's super high carb?

Happy Caturday! :-D
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348

Great to see such improvement with Sushi! Wow, what a challenge for you. I cut the tips off of the syringes to get the size opening that I wanted. I think they must be intended for water or other liquid.
Liz
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348

Hi Ashley,
I can't answer your questions, but I am in awe of what you were able to accomplish this week. Great job! Very interesting comments about the syringes and their differences.

So happy that Sushi is doing much better.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348

Glad to hear of the improvements for Sushi.
Sounds like you learned a lot and worked hard to get there.
Happy Caturday!
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348

What Great News from your condo!! I am so very happy for you and your darling Sushi. I am a syringe wielding bean myself, after a similar experience to yours and it comes in so handy. Continued recovery, health, joy and good bg's from our kitty condo to yours!! Alexa & Reuben
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348|PMPS~25

Update - PMPS was 258; that's good progress!! :-D
And Sushi ate a bit of his usual canned at shot time; I'm feeling optimistic that we won't have to go back to dry.

Thank you all for your encouraging words! I so appreciate them. Really. You don't know.

Anne & Zener said:
I cut the tips off of the syringes to get the size opening that I wanted.
Liz, I sort-of tried that. But then these have 2 tips; like one inside of the other. So I wasn't sure how to pull that off. I did try cutting slits in the tiny tip, but that didn't work. Judging by my pictures, I suppose the hole on the smaller syringes would have been about the same size as the hole on the large syringe had I been able to cut the tips off. Hum...
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348|PMPS~25

I can't quite tell from your picture but our syringes just had a single tip, no outside ring kind of thingy. That made it a lot easier.
Liz
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348|PMPS~25

Ashley

well done, you!!!!! I'm so proud of you and sounds like you have done a fantastic job!!

I have 10 ml syringes I ordered on line and the opening is pretty decent size.

For Sushi, figure out how many calories/day he was getting when he was healthy and if he is still showing any ketones, then you want to feed at least 1.5 times that until he starts eating on his own in the amount he normally was eating. If he is not showing any ketones, then be sure you feed him at least the amount he was getting before he got sick.

It looks to me like he is bouncing right now. I'd let the bounce clear before you decide to raise his dose. IF you decide to increase his dose, be aware that pulling away the dry food can cause numbers to crash down quickly. So I'd be really, really cautious. On top of that, as his infection decreases and he gets better, that could also lead to lower numbers.
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348|PMPS~25

Thanks for the great wisdom, Marjorie!

I agree about his dose. I wasn't sure how long it would take for him to convert back to canned--it looks like it will be quicker than I thought!
And so interesting that infection increases his #s. I didn't know that!

How can you tell Sushi is bouncing? His numbers have been high for several days now; bounces last that long? :? I still have so much to learn!

Thanks again! : )
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348|PMPS~25

OH MY GOODNESS!!!! I've been checking the board all week looking for Sushi updates and was scared out of my little mind! I'm so glad I checked one more time before going to bed! Congratulations, Ashley, on being one heck of a great momma-bean! Sushi sure is lucky he adopted you! ;-) I am so happy to hear that he is doing better and happy to hear that you are breathing a little easier over his situation. Hope you guys have a wonderful weekend with lots of cuddles and purrs!!!

Good night, Deborah & Shasta

p.s. I love the Ryan's buffet idea!!! :lol: :-D
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348|PMPS~25

One more question:

Is VitaGravy the same thing as Nutri-Cal? I know we were hating on Nutri-Cal in one of my previous condos, because it has sugar in it. But it's advertised as a high-calorie dietary supplement. Would that be okay to use in a situation similar to the one we've been in over the past few weeks?

Does VitaGravy have sugar?
Is it something that can be used as a high carb in a hypo kit?
 
Re: 9/8 Sushi - MUCH BETTER - AMPS~367|+3~360|+6~348|PMPS~25

Okay, to kind of answer my own question, it doesn't look like VitaGravy is the same thing as Nutri-Cal. VitaGravy does appear to have honey in it though. I'm giving some to Sushi right now to see if it will raise his #s, because he's at 40!
 
wow ashley - i've been away and had no idea you were going through that. punkin had pancreatitis that sure killed his appy. i didn't have to syringe feed him, but i did have the joyful experience of syringing my friend's sick cat that looked like she was going to die. she works in a pharmacy and bought a huge syringe, i think it was a 60ml. i was making a mental note that i should share it here because it was a million times easier than the littler ones we started with. i want to say it held 2oz total. and the tip was big enough you didn't have to worry about it clogging, although it was a little bit hard to manage in one hand.

i'm glad to hear sushi's feeling better and hopefully back to eating on his own again soon. do you think he's feeling nauseated? i gave punkin cerenia for nausea for 5 days, i think, with the pancreatitis. it seemed like it made a huge difference. ondasetron is the other drug that helps with nausea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top