9/8 Poopy AMPS 283,+2 280,+3 307,+5 305,+7 324, +9 250....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Member Since 2011
Prior thread


Gooooooooood morning! :-D

It's official, we are now in Lantus Land! Drew my first dose of Lantus without a hitch (thanks to the video!). I really appreciate the help I've already been given and have no doubt will continue to receive. Poopy thanks you too! He's loving the idea of having food available at all times. He's such a pig when it comes to food, even if it's only a bite here and there. he just wants what he wants when he wants. :lol:

I'll be back to add his +2. Keep fingers and paws crossed for some movement, please, but no bottom dropping out thrills. :smile:
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283

Ah, there she is, the self-confessed lurker :lol: Come stop by Karre's condo anytime :mrgreen: Good luck today!!

So does your kitty have a non-scatological nickname I could use to refer to him? I don't think I can get myself to keep typing his given name :lol:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283

Good luck on the start of this part of the journey. We'll see you back at +2.

The same 'rule' applies with Lantus re. picking up food by no later than +10. You want to be sure the pre-shot value isn't influenced by food.
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283

Jane said:
So does your kitty have a non-scatological nickname I could use to refer to him? I don't think I can get myself to keep typing his given name :lol:

haha_smiley My nieces and nephews were the same way! They'd giggle and laugh, trying to call him by anything but his given name. Had the same response picking up his insulin at the pharmacy...she kept laughing when she'd say his name. :lol: His vet asked if it was pronounced pop-ee. :lol:

Sorry, but he answers to anything with "Poop" in the name. :lol:
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283 +2 280

+2 280 - not much movement but it is a rather small dose (.5) and it's early yet. No telling where this may lead. We're heading out for work and will see you there for +3! :smile:
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283 +2 280

Welcome to LL, Teresa! Wish Poopy best of luck working on the Lantus juice!
A yellow start, come down P!
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283 +2 280, +3 307

Grrr...I'll keep trying to fix the link.

+3 307 and he is not a happy camper. He is not eating his raw chicken chunk, which he loves. I'm hoping he'll settle in because I must get this work done (on a deadline). Also, momma goofed and got the vein...poor baby bled like a stuck pig. ~sigh
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283 +2 280, +3 307

Teresa, welcome to LL and Maggie says to tell Poopy she loves the name! :-D Thanks for stopping by earlier with your cheers, and we look forward to seeing you every day.
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283 +2 280, +3 307, +5 305

+5 305...guess I'll know better next time to hope for numbers not bottoming out. True to Poopy form, he is obliging in opposite fashion. ohmygod_smile

In all fairness, though, he is stressed from being out of his element, hiding under my desk, alert to every strange sound. He did eat (snack) at +3.5 and +4.5. Never did eat his chicken chunk. :cry: So far, no water intake other than what I mix in his food and minimal liter box action.

Showed him Maggie's pic to perk him up a bit. Now I know he's ticked at me as he had narry a drool or double take...very unlike him with the ladies!
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283 +2 280, +3 307, +5 305

Welcome to LL and good luck. The first time I hit a vein with Furball, it freaked me out. I didn't think it was going to stop bleeding. I still hate to see a lot of blood when that happens. The blood doesn't bother me. I'm always afraid her ear won't heal. Of course it does heal, but I still worry.
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283 +2 280, +3 307, +5 305

This is just the first dose of Lantus. I wouldn't be stressing over the numbers just yet. He'll get there!
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283 +2 280, +3 307, +5 305, +7 324

+7 324...yuck :YMSIGH:

Well, good thing is we have plenty of room for improvement. :-D

He snacked at +6.25 and +6.5. I must admit, there's a few benefits having him under my desk all day. Hard to miss his activities! :lol:

Trying not to stress, but I really don't like the numbers. I know it will take time. As one of my favorite beans says, "Breathe." :smile:
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283 +2 280, +3 307, +5 305, +7 324

Showed him Maggie's pic to perk him up a bit. Now I know he's ticked at me as he had narry a drool or double take...very unlike him with the ladies!

Oh hahahaha :lol: :lol: we saw that! Maggie said she will need to so some serious flirting with Poopy to change his mind!

How nice you can take him to work!
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283 +2 280, +3 307, +5 305, +7 324

Hi Teresa! Hiya Poopster!

I'd drop the standard "race vs. marathon" mantra on you, but you already know that. :smile:

Keep in mind - We had already determined that Poopy's current dose of Prozinc wasn't doing all that much for him, right? So, you're right where you need to be - starting Lantus on a nice low safe dose, and it's all about data collection at this point. Not so much about the specific numbers. You'll be figuring out what a cycle "looks like", where the highs and lows are. You'll be figuring out if his current feeding routine works with Lantus or if needs to be tweaked to work with the different way the insulin works. You'll be "building up the depot" for a few cycles.

The big brightside, IMO, is there won't be any more agonizing over whether the dose is right. The data and the protocol will make that easier. You'll know when the dose needs to be adjusted, and how much each time. A lot of the guesswork will be taken out of the picture. Of course, he's still a cat, so he'll throw "wonky" at you on occasion. But you'll know if something is working or not and proceed accordingly.

Managing feline diabetes, no matter what insulin you are using, is going to be stressful. Just from the time I've been lurking here, and doing an awful lot of reading about the daily adventures here (ever notice how many green smilies you see in the subject lines here?), what I feel the greatest benefit to people who use Lantus and post here is that the entire process is a lot more "logical". I find that comforting and reassuring once you accept it's a whole new way of thinking about treating the disease than you're used to. That will come with time. In the meantime, it's all about data collection and asking lots of questions.

Carl
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283,+2 280,+3 307,+5 305,+7 324, +9 250

I see movement! :-D

+9 250...it's not much but it's a start! Woohoo!

Hasn't really snacked since last test, other than a bite or two right after, and did drink a bit of water about +8.5. Now he's chowing a bit (more than a snack). I'll pull the food up at +9.5 so PMPS will be food free. :smile:

Will be back at +10 for a final AM reading. @-)

Carl, I appreciate you being here for us beans and sugar babies. You have been the sanity in my storms too many times to count. As Poopy would say, "You ROCK, Dude!"
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283,+2 280,+3 307,+5 305,+7 324, +9 250..

+10 337...double yuck, but it's a start. See y'all at PMPS. :smile:
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283,+2 280,+3 307,+5 305,+7 324, +9 250..

About me having Poopy at work. My boss knows the deadlines I have (my project and one I am helping with) and is familiar with the normal, daily interruptions I deal with during the work week. Coming in on the weekends is just something I do when needed, and she knows and appreciates it (many others wouldn't come in on a weekend no matter how badly needed!). If I wasn't helping with the other project right now, I'd not need to work this weekend.

With the change in Poopy's insulin, she was really cool about me bringing him to work on the weekend since she knows I need to test so often this weekend. I won't be able to do so during the normal work week (when everyone else is there).

Thankfully, I live about 3 miles from work so can pop on home a few times during the day to catch +3, +6, and +9 for a while.

Made great progress today on both projects but still have more to do on the one I'm helping with so I'll be back at work tomorrow too. I'm exhausted. @-)
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283,+2 280,+3 307,+5 305,+7 324, +9 250..

Hi Teresa and welcome to you and Poopy to LANTUS LAND!!! Land of magical happenings and friendly members with fun-loving cats!!

Poopy has kicked off his lantus adventure with a nice, flat cycle. Since Poopy got up to over 2u on ProZinc and still didn't get with it, we might find we need to fast-track him a little up the dosing scale with lantus.

From the TR protocol on the Tilly website:

If the cat received another kind of insulin previously, the starting dose should be raised or lowered by taking this information into account. Cats that have a tendency to get ketones and/or who are getting relatively high flat curves after the switch should have their dose raised earlier (after 24-48 hours).

So if he wants to hang out in these numbers for a while, we might want to increase him after four full cycles. We'll keep a look out :-D
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283,+2 280,+3 307,+5 305,+7 324, +9 250..

Cool beans! And here I was thinking 3 days would be the absolute soonest. Woohoo!

Poopy says, "Watch out Lantus Land! Bought me a pawful-a-tickets and am gonna ride me some rides!"

PMPS 264, shot .5u. Will get a +2, and hopefully a +3 before crashing. Think I need to get up to do a +6?
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283,+2 280,+3 307,+5 305,+7 324, +9 250..

PM +2 302

Poor guy was hiding in the closet, trying to avoid pokies. At least he ate his chicken chunk. :-D
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283,+2 280,+3 307,+5 305,+7 324, +9 250..

A +6 is always a good number to know. Especially if you see a sizeable drop at +3.
Carl
 
Re: 9/8 Poopy AMPS 283,+2 280,+3 307,+5 305,+7 324, +9 250..

+3 265

I'll set my alarm for the +6 and hope I hear it. I sleep like the dead, especially when exhausted (and I am that!). :oops:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top