9/8 Polly AMPS 163 We're baaack. PMPS 216 (5U)+2=150+4=116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
Yesterday, We're Here

Recap, pokey ear, pokey ear. 9/7

215 AMPs
241 +2
144 +4
152 +6 Rifle, CO
121 +7 Vail, CO
152 +9 Denver
182 PMPS We have landed
130 +2
101 +4
100 +5
115 +7
113 +8
149 +10

And, we're offfffffff. CSU meet Polly. Polly, meet CSU. Be nice to each other.

Vines and wishes.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 (5U, fasting)

Marilyn,

I'm just now catching up on yours and Polly's adventure! Sounds like all is going well.

Polly, you be good for the vets at CSU! They're here to help!!

~Suzanne (and Cobb)
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 (5U, fasting)

Hi guy .. keeping you in our thoughts during this adventure! I know you'll update when you can!
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 (5U, fasting)

Plenty of hugs to you today Marilyn. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Today is the longest session of anesthesia and the hardest on the bean. In spite of all I tried to do to distract myself, the worrier was ever present on Day 1. The subsequent days anesthesia is only about 20 minutes and much shorter stays.

I'm pretty sure CSU will be nice to Polly - they were a great bunch of people when we were there.
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 (5U, fasting)

Hi Marilyn:

Sending good vetty vines for Polly today. I know with Sasha's radiation therapy, the first day was the longest and hardest on me! Sasha did pretty well.

I hope all goes smoothly today and you and Polly have a nice, relaxing evening together.
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 (5U, fasting)

you must have her home by now - i hope there's no scarf and barf after the anesthesia!

thinking about both of you and sending our best "feel good" wishes to miss polly!
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS We're baaaaaaack. PMPS 216 (5U)

Can't wait to read the next update to Polly's great adventure! :-D
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS We're baaaaaaack. PMPS 216 (5U)

All's well at the end of the day. Great people at CSU, from the front desk to the volunteer wandering the waiting area greeting, small talking, and getting coffee for those of us waiting. To the student who took us back to an exam room, comfy and labeled "feline friendly." Yeah right! After his exam and comments (she's an easy kitty...my response, she's kind of a ragdoll, scared mindless but just goes limp.), Dr. Fitzpatrick came; she's Polly's internal medicine doctor here. (How come all these people look like they're in high school? They're either freaky young or I'm frickin' old...I kinda know the answer to that one. :lol: )

Liked Dr. Fitzpatrick tons. Interesting info. 50% of the treated cats go off insulin, 30%-40% see significant reductions in insulin needs.

Polly stayed for CT scan. I found a store to buy cat food!

Met the radiation oncologist when I went to pick up Polly, Dr. Swift, another young'un! Very impressive. We looked at the scan (the med student on our case will e-mail me a copy). Yup. There's the nodule, smallish. Polly will start the blasts tomorrow and get another for each of the following two days. (Dr. Fitzpatrick advised reduced dosing tonight as well as the usual half dose after the 12 hour fast tomorrow a.m.)

So, Miss Polly had a good day. And has eaten in small doses, 3/4 can of Fancy Feast beginning about a half hour after our return and will easily finish that before her 10:00 food curfew. And back to CSU by 8:00 tomorrow.

Looks like she's recovering nicely from her ordeal.

Half hour or so after getting back to the hotel:



And Miss Polly ridding herself of the icky hospital smell.



Or perhaps that's guilt grooming.

1. Yes an old lady can disassemble a California king platform bed. Not easy, but fear can provoke superhuman effort! (no cat under there.)
2. Every drawer in this room pulls out; lots of drawers. (no cat there)
3. The refrigerator does pull out of the cabinet it's in; the microwave, too. (no cat there)
4. My suitcases do unzip. (no cat there)
5. NO CAT ANYWHERE THIS MORNING. She'd awakened me at 5:00 a.m. begging for food. (sorry, kid). At 6:15, she had vanished.
6. The couch does pull away from the wall. (no cat there)
7. Couch tips over on its back. No rips in the fabric covering the bottom. (no cat in there)
8. Cushions come off the couch. (no cat there)
9. Toilet seat lifts up. (no cat in there, thank God)
10. Wait a minute, that's a sleeper-sofa. Pull up to lift up the folded "mattress." And there, smushed in the folded mattress, completely out of sight....(Praise be....There's a cat in there!!!!!)

Somehow the little *&$%@ cat squeezed under less than a three-finger gap, got under and behind the sofa and crawled up to hide inside the folded mattress. Darn lucky I didn't sit down this morning...I was too busy (one hour and ten minutes busy) looking for that drat cat.

Anybody want to come spend the night. We have the sofa bed pulled out and ready for company!

Thanks all. Polly and I know you're here with us...now, would you all please keep an eye on the cat!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS We're baaaaaaack. PMPS 216 (5U)

Oh my God Marilyn! I choked on my pepsi reading your post, and let me tell you...choked pepsi out the nose is NOT wonderful :lol: :lol:
Our civvie drooler Murphy started SRT today for a brain tumor and has two days to go so we wanted to send you and Polly some extra great SRT vines :-D We will be thinking of you both!
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS We're baaaaaaack. PMPS 216 (5U)

I'm soooo glad to know other kitties plot their humans' demises. :lol: :lol: :lol: Funniest condo of the day award goes to you!

So happy for the good treatment report. Continuing to send vines to you both. Sounds like you may need them more than Miss Polly!
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS We're baaaaaaack. PMPS 216 (5U)

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Cats do have vet radar don't they. ;-) Sorry about the cat hunt this morning.

It's kind of a relief to see the CT scan with the tumor. The IGF-1 isn't 100% an indicator and I know I was holding my breathe after traveling 3 days to get there. Did they tell you how big it is? Sending tons of successful zapping vines for tomorrow.

The people at CSU are indeed lovely. I wonder if it's the same older volunteer giving out coffee that we saw.

ETA: Neko told me the KTSS kitties will be stopping by after the Full Moon Party for a full workup to help Polly get rid of the vetty smell.
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 We're baaaaaaack. PMPS 216 (5U)+2=15

and i'm thinking that Polly was supremely pleased with herself. She had a puurrrrfect start to her day! :-D While you were searching everywhere, she was secretly laughing at you. :lol: just think how happy you made her when you couldn't find her!

one time i "lost" my indoor kitty, TC, in my one bedroom apartment. Like 400 square feet or so. I looked everywhere for her and no luck. Eventually i found her balanced on top of the open door to my bedroom. She'd gotten on my dresser and from there on the top edge of the door. I swear she was laughing at me. Smart little buggers.

I felt like everyone there was so competent. I know Polly is in good hands! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 We're baaaaaaack. PMPS 216 (5U)+2=15

BWHAHAHAHHA on the story of "find the kitty". Now, I have this image of the sleeper sofa in my head...



Anne
 

Attachments

  • W6821.jpeg
    W6821.jpeg
    21.7 KB · Views: 431
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 We're baaaaaaack. PMPS 216 (5U)+2=15

Hi Marilyn! I just caught up on your condos from yesterday and today, and I am loving your lists!! I would have been totally freaked out looking for Billie and finding her in the couch. :shock: What a crafty hiding spot! Aside from the disappearing act, I'm really glad that Polly is doing so well so far. Those pictures of her are just adorable. I hope everything goes perfectly tomorrow. Sending lots of vines to both of you.
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 We're baaack. PMPS 216 (5U)+2=150+4=

What a great day and funny story except it's never funny when you can't find them. Polly is so clever.

Good luck tomorrow!! Many prayers.
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 We're baaack. PMPS 216 (5U)+2=150+4=

Oh Ms. Polly, you do know how to get your bean going in da mornin' dontcha?!?!?

Sending lots of vines your way over the next couple of days....hope everything goes fantastically for you both!

And Polly....no more hiding....mommabean is just trying to help you get better!!
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 We're baaack. PMPS 216 (5U)+2=150+4=

How do they find these spots, and more to the point, how do they get into them? Sasha and Harvey each have a secret hiding spot that I have yet to locate. I just know where they are not. After I spend 30 or 40 minutes looking EVERYWHERE, I'll turn around and the missing cat will be sitting calmly behind me, looking like he or she has been there the whole time! :o :roll: Soooo aggravating!

I'm glad today went well, once Polly was located. It is so reassuring when you are dealing with pleasant, helpful people in such a stressful situation. I hope day 2 goes as well or better.

Sending lots of good vines for both of you!
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 We're baaack. PMPS 216 (5U)+2=150+4=

Clearly, Polly has been speaking to Jersey! I hope your blood pressure and heart rate are back to normal.
 
Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS 163 We're baaack. PMPS 216 (5U)+2=150+4=

Yikes, Polly...way to scare your bean!! I hate when a kitty goes MIA...I start getting all sorts of panicky. I'm glad you were able to track her down, but it is amazing she managed to squeeze into that couch! Sending more SRT prayers!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top