9/8 Podo AMPS 91,PMPS 170

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seattlebrian

Member Since 2010
yesterday

yesterday summary:
AMPS 134
+2 98
+6 77
PMPS 120
+4.5 110
+9.5 140


Running a couple hours late this morning and once again this results in extra low AMPS.

AMPS 91 :mrgreen:

Gave a weak shot of 1.5U with her food. I'll test her again in an hour, hopefully we are up. She seems quite happy.

The visiting kitty was quiet and napping, Found a little bit of pee to scoop for her, but it didn't look like she touched her food yet.
 
Re: 9/8 Podo AMPS 91

+1 123 :mrgreen:

As expected, a good jump after eating. Gave her the rest of her shot.
 
Re: 9/8 Podo AMPS 91

There are 3 options in the Queensland PDF for low BG at shot time.

"If Blood Glucose at shot time is 50-100mg/dl:
a. Feed cat and reduce the dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin
b. Feed the cat, wait 1-2 hours and when the glucose concentration increases to >100 mg/dL give the normal dose. If the glucose concentration does not increase within 1-2 hours, reduce the dose by 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU (as above).
c. Split the dose: feed cat, and give most of dose immediately and then give the remainder 1 to 2 hours later, when the glucose concentration has increased to >100 mg/dL.

If all these methods lead to increased blood glucose concentrations, give the full dose if pre-insulin blood glucose concentration is 50-100 mg/dL and observe closely for signs of hypoglycemia. In general for most cats, the best results in phase 2 occur when insulin dose is as consistent as possible, giving the full normal dose at the regular injection time."

This is the first time I've ever done a split shot. I had planned to just do the reduced 1.5U shot, but she was high enough an hour later I figured she could handle the rest of the shot.
 
Re: 9/8 Podo AMPS 91

splitting doses is mentioned in the tight regulation protocol:

It is likely, because of the way Lantus and Levemir work (they appear to work for >12 hours, therefore producing overlap between doses), you will face the problem of having a low pre-shot BG and wondering what dose you should give. Try reducing the dose the first few times to see what happens - in all likelihood the cat will have higher BGs as a result. A second alternative is to feed the cat, wait 1 to 2 hours, test again, and when the BGs start rising, give the normal dose. A third alternative is to split the dose: feed the cat, give most of the dose immediately and give the remainder 1 to 2 hours later when the BGs start rising.. However, in most cats none of these alternatives have shown themselves to work as well as consistent dosing.

as said, in most cats these alternatives do not work as well as consistent dosing. we've seen splitting the dose work well initially, but the the inconsistency will show up later (messed up shed). however, i do not know of anyone who has consistently split doses. i have no idea if consistent split doses would be successful or not...
 
Re: 9/8 Podo AMPS 91

+5 113 :mrgreen:

Remember my meter gives alphatrack numbers, so my AMPS of 91 is like 61 for most of you.
 
Re: 9/8 Podo AMPS 91

PMPS 170

:-D seems we mitigated that low pretty good. Normally a really low preshot the next preshot has been in the high 200s low 300s. :-D
 
Re: 9/8 Podo AMPS 91

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Have you done this often Brian with the splitting the dose? Hmmmm...just wondering how/why you would do that...

I have been splitting doses consistently with Foster Bastian since 8/23/10. (Sorry, SS is not up to date.) It certainly extends his duration, and gives him a flatter curve. Also lowering dose. Started at .75U/.75U. He's now down to .5U/.25U. I try to split the shot at PS and +3, but sometimes life gets in the way and its PS and +2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top