9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 +12 42

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24385

He went into the 40's last night, but I wanted to try the 4u dose again today since his shed was also emptying last night too. Yesterday I had to keep him above 40 by giving a fair amount of MC food during both the am and pm cycles. At +6 today he is back in the 40's so I know we need to decrease again. I am concerned that the decreases are coming very very close together - like every day to every other day. Should I drop his dose tonight to 3.5u instead of 3.75u in a hope to hold him there for a few days at least?
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 decreases coming too quickly

+7 is 56..... I got him to eat a fair amount at +6 by putting fortiflora on his food. Gonna try to get him to eat some more.
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 decreases coming too quickly

That would be like getting two dose reductions....not sure what the dosing experts will say.
Sometimes they do hit a dose where everything clicks and their numbers start coming down quickly.
Your normal reduction would bring you down to 3.75u and I think that this step would help keep the momentum going nicely as per the protocol....
I am sure others will be around to discuss the dose with you sometime today...
Oscar is looking so great...lovely numbers!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 decreases coming too quickly

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
That would be like getting two dose reductions....not sure what the dosing experts will say.
Sometimes they do hit a dose where everything clicks and their numbers start coming down quickly.
Your normal reduction would bring you down to 3.75u and I think that this step would help keep the momentum going nicely as per the protocol....

That's the conundrum I am grappling with. Protocol would be 3.75u, but I have also heard that we don't want dose reductions to come that quickly. I don't know what else to do but make him eat more - but he doesn't eat as much when I am not home to remind him there is food available, and he is already 13 pounds (the top of where I want him to be weight-wise). He will at least be going down to 3.75u tonight, there is no question about that! :-D
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 decreases coming too quickly

I know someone more knowledgeable will be along eventually... I have thought that a deduction earned is a deduction earned -- in other words, we don't hold doses on the way down the way we hold them on the way up. But I could be wrong! The protocol does also talk about fat/skinny changes in doses. Maybe Oscar's solution will be a change to 3.75 skinny?

Let's see what others suggest. In any case... congrats on the dosecrease!
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 decreases coming too quickly

+8 is back down to 46... time to feed yet again!
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 decreases coming too quickly

reductions coming too close together is a legitimate concern no doubt about it.

the higher the dose, the bigger the "shed". i do think we're still seeing some residual effect left over from the higher dose.

if pmps is low, i would be tempted to shoot a one time dose of 3.5u with the purpose of further draining the shed tonight.

if all goes as planned, i would begin shooting 3.75u tomorrow. make sense?

see how things go the remainder of the day. oftentimes coming down the dosing scale can be fast and furious... leaving the caregiver no choice but to make some rather unorthodox decisions.
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 decreases coming too quickly

Jill & Alex said:
reductions coming too close together is a legitimate concern no doubt about it.

the higher the dose, the bigger the "shed". i do think we're still seeing some residual effect left over from the higher dose.

if pmps is low, i would be tempted to shoot a one time dose of 3.5u with the purpose of further draining the shed tonight.

if all goes as planned, i would begin shooting 3.75u tomorrow. make sense?

see how things go the remainder of the day. oftentimes coming down the dosing scale can be fast and furious... leaving the caregiver no choice but to make some rather unorthodox decisions.

This makes sense and was kinda along with what my gut was telling me.


HOWEVER LOL..... he has given me a pmps # of 42!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Obviously not going to shoot this #. Should I feed MC and test in 30 min? Feed HC and test in 30 min? Feed LC and test in 30 min? (See where I am going here? lol) What about considering a BCS dose tonight and going to 3.5u or 3.75u in the morning?
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 PMPS 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

ok, here's what i would do given this set of circumstances...
i would allow the shed to drain by skipping tonight's shot and then resume insulin in the morning with a new dose of 3.75 units bid.
i know skipping shots is not ideal, but oscar's been low for a good part of the day and at that dose, he's built a pretty good sized shed.
he's gotten ahead of us. skipping the shot will allow us to stay ahead of him.
just my thoughts...
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 PMPS 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

Don't shoot if that's your question. Is he eating? What are you doing? I've been doing this all day with doodles. She's finally on the rise.
What can I help you with?
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 PMPS 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

Jill & Alex said:
ok, here's what i would do given this set of circumstances...
i would allow the shed to drain by skipping tonight's shot and then resume insulin in the morning with a new dose of 3.75 units bid.
i know skipping shots is not ideal, but oscar's been low for a good part of the day and at that dose, he's built a pretty good sized shed.
he's gotten ahead of us. skipping the shot will allow us to stay ahead of him.
just my thoughts...

Hmmmm ok. It took us so long to build up his system to work with the insulin. This won't set us back too far will it?
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 PMPS 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

heidi and doodles said:
Don't shoot if that's your question. Is he eating? What are you doing? I've been doing this all day with doodles. She's finally on the rise.
What can I help you with?

Its not a question of should I shoot now - It is what do I do to get us to a point where we can shoot?

He just ate a bit of LC FF. He has been snacking all day. Since his numbers have regulated, his food intake has greatly diminished.
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 PMPS 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

Ok if you didn't shoot you need to change your heading it should read +12 42 and so on don't ask me how to write in your ss cuz I haven't figured it out yet :roll: .
I only know cuz I did the same thing :smile:
When was the last time you checked?
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 PMPS 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

it really shouldn't kelly.
if his numbers rise quickly and you want to bcs the dose by about half, that's ok, too.
my only concern is that when kitties get up to that 4u dose, the shed gets pretty big. it takes more effort to drain it than it does to drain the shed of a kitty on 1 or 2 units.
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 PMPS 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

This is what I did with doodles. I kept checking her and when she got to a number I was comfortable with, which ended up in the 200's and then I shot. But remember it will change
your time. For me that threw off everything. And took awhile to fix bummer.
The choice becomes yours now :smile:
I didn't think about the bigger build up. You may be good over night. How are you feeling about it?
Being patient sucks sometimes.
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 PMPS 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

heidi and doodles said:
Ok if you didn't shoot you need to change your heading it should read +12 42 and so on don't ask me how to write in your ss cuz I haven't figured it out yet :roll: .
I only know cuz I did the same thing :smile:
When was the last time you checked?

Good call on that.... changed it

Just checked him now and he is at 46, 20 min after eating a little bit (+12.5)
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 PMPS 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

heidi and doodles said:
This is what I did with doodles. I kept checking her and when she got to a number I was comfortable with, which ended up in the 200's and then I shot. But remember it will change
your time. For me that threw off everything. And took awhile to fix :-D
The choice is yours. Do you want to change your time or wait.

I can only adjust the time my a max of 3 hours since I have to be away tomorrow starting at 9am until around 2-3pm
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 +12 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

Ok he's just being good :smile: as long as he looks good and continues going up, you guys are rockin now its the poke and wait game :-D
good job today! I got a lump in my throat when doodles hit 32 at 1.5 this morning nailbite_smile but all is good, yeah a good for us all.
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 +12 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

heidi, i know you have the very best intentions, but traveling up the dosing scale can be very different than speeding down the dosing scale like oscar is apparently trying to do.
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 +12 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

It's good to recheck any BGs in the 40's every 15 minutes or so to make sure they are rising.....
How is Oscar doing now?
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 +12 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

enticing him to eat with some fortiflora again. The little bugger has decided to hold out for it a lot lately :lol:
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 +12 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

Kelly & Oscar said:
enticing him to eat with some fortiflora again. The little bugger has decided to hold out for it a lot lately :lol:
mine do that, too. and i cave almost every time! :lol:
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 +12 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

Even if you do not shoot tonight to let his huge shed drain, I would keep testing to make sure his numbers don't drop like they did earlier after +8. You want him to get higher than the 40's and let him coast on the insulin in his system, right?
And maybe take the "Help" out of your header when you update, okay?
You have to eat now Oscar....eat your dinner like a good boy.... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 +12 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

Jill & Alex said:
Kelly & Oscar said:
enticing him to eat with some fortiflora again. The little bugger has decided to hold out for it a lot lately :lol:
mine do that, too. and i cave almost every time! :lol:

The problem is I have one packet I am nursing until our new order arrives this week! (ordered this weekend)

Just tested him and we are at 51 with food in him. I have to leave for the next hour and a half, but will test as soon as I get back and post an update. This ok?
 
Re: 9/8 Oscar amps 102 +4 69 +6 43 +12 42 - HELP!!!!!!!

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Even if you do not shoot tonight to let his huge shed drain, I would keep testing to make sure his numbers don't drop like they did earlier after +8. You want him to get higher than the 40's and let him coast on the insulin in his system, right?
definitely! surfing the 50s or 60s is much more comfortable...
 
way to go, Oscar!

FYI, I had to skip or BCS shots a few times on Lucy's way down the dosing ladder. It's either that, or keep earning reductions too quickly. Then you risk landing on a dose that's too low once the shed catches up, and the cat loses momentum and you have to climb back up the ladder again. Lucy did fine. :smile:
 
HI Kelly, From what I understand, the advantage now of skipping the shot will be that you can keep your normal shot schedule when you resume tomorrow morning. (I am unable to give advice on what that shot should be!). Good luck!

Ella & Stu
 
Kelly & Oscar said:
Back! Annnnddd.... he gives a 42 at +14.5

He keeps eating these little snacks..... time to push the food again!
hi kelly. just ducked in for a minute in-between appointments to see where oscar was at.
a 42 at +14.5 despite having been fed! it's becoming increasingly obvious the shed needs some major remodeling.
skipping the shot is all about draining the shed. i would definitely skip tonight's shot and start over in the morning at 3.75u bid.

hope his numbers come up for you soon...
 
I had to do the same thing with Gabby about 2 weeks ago. Better to get the shed caught up than to have to keep fighting with the numbers. You're doing a great job with Oscar!
 
Jill & Alex said:
Kelly & Oscar said:
Back! Annnnddd.... he gives a 42 at +14.5

He keeps eating these little snacks..... time to push the food again!
hi kelly. just ducked in for a minute in-between appointments to see where oscar was at.
a 42 at +14.5 despite having been fed! it's becoming increasingly obvious the shed needs some major remodeling.
skipping the shot is all about draining the shed. i would definitely skip tonight's shot and start over in the morning at 3.75u bid.

hope his numbers come up for you soon...

Me too.... he did this extended low number thing to me on occasion on ProZinc too. Just how his body reacts sometimes I suppose.

46 at +15

Now the question - since our shot times are 6am/pm and there aren't a lot of people online at 6am EST - do I still give 3.75u if he is still in the greens by morning? I am guessing so, but I want to be sure before I get there.
 
A lot depends on what he dose during this cycle I would imagine.....you will keep testing him right?
I am surprised at this low number still...and concerned if he keeps wobbling during the night.
Are you able to now keep checking him...you're home. right?

Kelly...just keep checking him and updating here. Maybe at some point there will be enough information for someone to tell you what to shoot in the morning, ok? It would be so much better if he was surfing a little higher..he is something else, isn't he? :razz:
Paging Oscar...Oscar...please get out of the 40s and stay out for awhile, do you copy that? :razz:
 
Kelly & Oscar said:
Now the question - since our shot times are 6am/pm and there aren't a lot of people online at 6am EST - do I still give 3.75u if he is still in the greens by morning? I am guessing so, but I want to be sure before I get there.
i can't imagine he'll still be in the greens at shot time in the morning, but i guess it could happen. continue posting updates tonight. let's see how long it takes and how much feeding you have to do to get the numbers up. i have one more appointment. will check back as soon as i'm free.
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
A lot depends on what he dose during this cycle I would imagine.....you will keep testing him right?
I am surprised at this low number still...and concerned if he keeps wobbling during the night.
Are you able to now keep checking him...you're home. right?

Kelly...just keep checking him and updating here. Maybe at some point there will be enough information for someone to tell you what to shoot in the morning, ok? It would be so much better if he was surfing a little higher..he is something else, isn't he? :razz:
Paging Oscar...Oscar...please get out of the 40s and stay out for awhile, do you copy that? :razz:

LOL I have always said Oscar looked at "The Book", scoffed at it, and promptly threw it out the window! :lol:

I'll keep testing every hour, I am home now. Should I wait to go to bed once I get two tests an hour apart in at least the 50's?
 
I would test on the half hour myself and feed if he is still in the 40's. You want to keep him up and not give him a chance to start sliding down again. He is only at 46 now?
Take it one test at a time for now I think...
 
can't blame you. it's been a long day.
considering the duration we're seeing, i think it would be better to take the dose down to 3.5u rather than 3.75 units.
 
Jill & Alex said:
can't blame you. it's been a long day.
considering the duration we're seeing, i think it would be better to take the dose down to 3.5u rather than 3.75 units.

Sounds good. We are at 58 at +19. Hopefully we don't see a zoom here in 5 hours!
 
yes, hopefully, there won't be a big bounce.
if you end up with a lower ps number in the morning you'll have to take into consideration not only the number itself, but the rate of the rise and your availability to monitor. err on the side of caution if you're unsure.

will catch up to you tomorrow. have to test and feed a kitty before heading to bed...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top