9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 PMBG 218 Back from Vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51720&p=556828#p556828

Besides probably needing to increase her dose back up, yesterday she seemed to have some diarrhea and I found a little throw up and I had trouble getting her to eat her tuna to test her and shoot her, but she finally started eating it and ate the rest of her food too.

This morbing, she would not eat her tuna at all, but I managed to test her and she was at 458. I didn't give her the shot right away. She followed me downstairs and I put her regular cat food in her bowl along with the tuna hoping she would eat, but she would not, but I still gave her the shot since her number was so high. I put a tiny bit of gravy food in her bowl hoping she would eat that, but she did not. So, now I have to leave for work not knowing that she will eat. She also threw up while I was down in the kitchen. If she does not eat today, I will have to make a vet appointment I suppose. Don't know if this fact has anything to do with this, but when I visited the new vet a few weeks back, I got some fiber pills I have been putting in her food, so I was thinking maybe that has upset her stomach. I did not give her any today.
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Need Advice Please

Have you tested for ketones?

Can you ask someone to look in on her today, or can you come home at lunch to check on her? Not eating in a diabetic, especially with high numbers, can lead to serious problems. I don't mean to scare you. And, I haven't read all your posts, so don't know the history. But, yes, I would try to get a vet appointment for today, if possible.
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Need Advice Please

Hopefully, she's just still bouncing from the 111. But, I still don't like the not eating part. Was she eating normally, yesterday, and before that? I would make note of food/appetite issues in the comments section of your spreadsheet.

Sending eating vines
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
to Miss Kitty today.
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Need Advice Please

She was eating normally up until yesterday evening. My husband is here, so I will check with him to see if she continues to throw up and not eat after I get to work. I am sure work will let me leave if I tell them I need to take cat to vet. They know all about my poor kitty. I don't have time to put the notes in the ss right now, but I will later on. Thank you.
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Need Advice Please

Miss Kitty, what are we doing here??? Hope she starts eating for you- I'm glad that there is someone home with her today...
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Need Advice Please

Husband says she is lying out on the porch with him. He says no more throwing up so far. I asked him to fix her a fresh plate of tuna to take to her on the porch and see if she will eat. She still had not touched any of the food I had given her.

Does anyone know anything about these fiber pills? I'm hoping these are just giving her a tummy ache/diarrhea and will clear up soon since I'm not going to give them to her any more.
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Throwing up/Won't eat Help

Hi guys .. I'm sorry miss kitty is not eating very well .. I will be sending her get well thoughts today .. hopefully no vet appt is needed, but if it is, good luck with everything ...
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Throwing up/Won't eat Help

So sorry to hear Miss Kitty isn't feeling well. I give fiber pills (Physillium) to our kitties and they haven't had any problems from them. Please be sure to get her to the vet as soon as you can.

Good luck and thinking of you!!
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Throwing up/Won't eat Help

A cat that is repeatedly vomiting is a problem that requires a vet visit. It could be something as inconsequential as the fiber pills not agreeing with her or something as serious as your cat having eaten something really bad. (Gabby's only symptom of having eaten dental floss was vomiting. She needed major abdominal surgery.)

Can your DH test or could he get Miss Kitty to the vet?
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Throwing up/Won't eat Help

He can't test nor take her to the vet. I will have to leave work. He says she has not thrown up anymore, but still won't eat. I'm keeping in contact with him to see how she is doing. I was going to wait till around lunchtime to see if she had eaten yet and if not, call the vet. Do you think I should just call now?
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Throwing up/Won't eat Help

Still no more throwing up, but still no eating. Called the vet, got an appointment for 430p and vet will call me before then too.
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Throwing up/Won't eat Help

Good luck!! I know how scary it is when your kitty isn't eating. I just had a recent episode of that with Champ and ended up having to syringe feed him. It ended up being just a stomach bug, but it was a scary three days. I'm sending some healing vines and positive thoughts your way!!
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Throwing up/Won't eat Help

Thank you. I guess the vet will tell me this, but I would assume that I would not give her the next shot if she still has not eaten, correct? What if her number is still high though?
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Throwing up/Won't eat Help

Home now, checked her BG and it is at 59. Still not eating, she licked a bit of tuna off my finger. No more throwing up. Leaving for vet in half an hour.
 
Re: 9/8 Miss Kitty AMPS 458 Throwing up/Won't eat Help

Back from the vet. Blood work was all good, except for a slightly elevated kidney function test, but nothing to worrry about now. So no apparent reason for the throwing up and loss of appetite. She said it was not the fiber pills, but I'm not going to give those to her anyway. She was a little dehydrated, so they gave her some fluid, some nausea medicine that I have to give her too, that should be fun. Her BG was 118 in the doctor's office and just now, it was 218, so I will not give her a shot tonight. She did eat a tiny bit when we got home, but she still will not eat the tuna. Really odd, she's always been crazy for tuna. I'll have to find something else to distract her with during testing and shots. Vet said that overall, from looking at her blood, that she has been doing good despite the ups and downs she has. She said she does not think Miss Kitty would ever go in remission though. She did a fructosamine test too and she said if that turns out good that she would recommend she stay on the lantus.
 
i was thinking the same thing - if she doesn't want tuna, definitely see what else she might eat. different cat foods, sprinkles of parmesan cheese, warming the food, rotisserie chicken (nom nom nom i even like that one!) - i simmer chicken breasts and cut them in little pieces for punkin's treats - freeze most of it, keep a bit in the fridge at a time.

hoping miss kitty's appetite picks up soon!
 
Oh, I heard about the parmesan cheese before, I forgot about that. I'll have to try it tomorrow morning.
 
I'm confused. Why are you not giving Miss Kitty insulin tonight? Her numbers are clearly on the rise. Is there any other food you can try? How about baby food? It's typically what I feed if Gabby's tummy is off. (Gerber Stage 2 or Beechnut -- any food that's ONLY meat and broth.)

If nothing else, you could give a token dose.
 
The vet said not to if she was under 250, but you're right, she is going up, but I'm also afraid of her not eating and giving insulin. Right now, it is too late, I need to give her a.m dose at 530 a.m. It's going to be an ordeal tomorrow if she still won't eat while I do all the poking plus, I have to give her that nausea medicine wtih a syringe. They didn't even show me how to get the medicine into the syringe. I'm going to have to get up a 4 a.m.
 
Yikes! Good luck with medicating tomorrow- you have my happy thoughts! I'm glad to hear the Miss. Kitty seems healthy other than the obvious. I'm sorry to hear that the vet doesn't think that Miss Kitty will go into remission but at least you are making progress on regulation!
 
did your vet give some sort of explanation about the thought that miss kitty wouldn't go off of insulin?

if that's true, it's not the end of the world. our goal is always to have kitters be healthy. many kitties continue to need insulin. but i'm wondering what that comment was based upon?
 
Sending Miss Kitty healing vines. I'm sorry to hear she has had a tough day and hasn't been eating. I hope she'll eat for you tonight with her meds on board.
 
did your vet give some sort of explanation about the thought that miss kitty wouldn't go off of insulin?

She said cats usually only go into remission if it is caught the moment they become diabetic and it's from an infection. Never heard that about an infection before, but who knows, she could be wrong. I won't completely give up hope though, anything can happen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top