9.8 Lucy PMPS=289 Changing up the food

Status
Not open for further replies.

LucyCat

Member Since 2013
It's been a while since we posted on here...Lucy's SS is up to date though.

We are starting up (tonight) small servings of Science Diet M/D because Lucy has had some digestive issues with the wet Friskies Pate only. It also has not helped her numbers since we switched her from dry Iams to only wet Friskies...so we're going to experiment with this addition. We are hoping to see less vomiting and harder poops.

We had to go back up to 2.25 units after trying a reduction...she did NOT like the reduction and her body has responded with weeks of high numbers. She is acting normal but her numbers are mostly remaining above 250. Not sure what's going on with that as nothing else has changed. Her numbers did start going up after my husband and I returned to work in August but I assumed that would level out after a while...it has not.

I know everyone hates dry food but ECID and I have a feeling that this is what Lucy needs.
 
Hi Becky,

I'm glad to know that you have decided to keep Lucy, at least until you find a perfect match.
I think your heart wants to keep Lucy forever. :smile:
In time, I'm sure taking care of her will become easier to manage and less stressful for you.
Good luck with the food change. :smile:
I think the best food for Lucy is the food that Lucy does best overall, not just blood sugar, so I think it's a good idea to experiment.
 
Hi Becky--

Gobbles has had lots of GI issues in the past. Believe me, I know how frustrating it can be to try to figure out what to do about it. Gobbles has been driving me nuts!!!

I may be onto something, though. In his case, his diarrhea started back up 2 weeks ago. I tried flagyl, metamucil, renew probiotic, pepcid, different foods. Just today, he finally had a normal poo. I bought a product called "Fruitables" which is a pumpkin-based digestive supplement. I gave him a teaspoon mixed in food Saturday evening and then Sunday morning (I think though that a teaspoon is too much--in hindsight, I should of tried maybe 1/2 teaspoon as I think it gassed him up) and switched him to food that is higher protein/lower fat/low carb/gluten-free, and in my budget. He may have a gluten allergy, he may have a problem with higher fat food...I wish I could ask him and he'd tell me!!!

So now, he gets Fancy Feast Chicken & Liver classic pate in addition to a homemade chicken appetizer : one piece of cooked skinless, boneless chicken breast cooked in a cup of water; I strain the water off and set aside, then chop the chicken in a blender (to resemble shreds). I serve about 1/8th of that and cover the meat in the water broth. I haven't given him the Fruitables since Sunday; if his stools loosen, I will give him 1/2 teaspoon. I also started the manipulating exercises yesterday that "Barb & Mr. Frog" mentioned in one of my posts.

He doesn't eat a lot at once, but he eats often: so far today, he's had 6 or 7 mini meals....

There is a short list of other foods that "fit the bill" I mentioned above. Feel free to look over my post re: these type of foods: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=103922

Also, you may find some helpful information in my earlier GI post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=103435

Further, perhaps the "notes" section in Gobbles' SS may be helpful

I do hope Lucy's belly gets better!!!
 
I hope the food change helps Lucy. You're right, ECID. I have three non-diabetics who won't eat wet, and can't digest high protein, low carb dry foods. It seems backwards for carnivores, but it just gives them the runs. You just never know....their tummies can be sensitive. Please keep us posted on how Lucy does with the food change!
 
Hi, Becky!

A couple of thoughts. The MD dry is high in carbs - 13%. The canned MD is about the same. Several members have recently had cats that were having difficult transitioning to canned food. The have been using Young Again Zero Carb. This may be a better option if you really thing a dry food is necessary for Lucy's diet. Frankly, for what you're paying for MD, you could use a better quality canned food (e.g., Wellness) if you think the Friskies was the issue. One additional thought -- were you feeding Lucy beef or seafood flavors? These are common allergies for cats and may be why Lucy was vomiting. (Gabby will vomit if she eats beef.)

As for Lucy's numbers being high on 2.0u, If you're seeing high numbers, one thought is to increase the dose after 3 days. Holding the dose for longer than is necessary can make it harder to get the numbers to come back down.
 
Thanks everyone. Lucy has not had a soft poop or a vomit since I've added the dry food...I give her such a tiny bit. Also, the dry food is being donated to us by our local no kill cat shelter. They have decided to help us with that so I'm not actually spending any money on it. They have "a lot" of it since they get a great discount on it from Hills.

Anyway, I did increase her evening dose tonight. That's interesting if the dose isn't adjusted in a good time range that the numbers get more stubborn! That may be part of my issue. I will make sure that if I'm still seeing high numbers, I'll adjust in 3 days.

I think you are right about the food allergy. I stopped giving Lucy the canned Salmon pate since her puke was always a pinkish color and so far, no puke! She seems to do fine on the other seafood pates...I will keep observing but so far, so good.

Thanks for all the wonderful advice! Keep it coming :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top