9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +4 110 +5 147 +6 192 PMPS 344

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's adventure!

Leo's 9/7 Condo Extraordinaire

I am writing a summary post about our adventure that I will post later today. Since several folks were lurking and at least one of you mentioned bookmarking it, I figured I'd digest the nuggets as I could.

But here's our starting Condo. I shot Leo on falling numbers this morning (+11 was 145) so this bean will be keeping a close eye. I'm not looking for another decrease today, so I want to steer him out of dips below 50. I'm thinking he needs to stabilize a little after all his recent decreases. Is that a good idea, Jane? :-) I'll be using tsps of mc/lc depending on where he is in the cycle. He ate his full breakfast.

Leo's Wild Rollercoaster and Green Water Rapids
AMPS 88
+1 40 --- 2 tsp HC + 2 drops Karo
+1.3 35 ---2 tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+1.7 51 --- 2 tsp HC
+1.8 59 --- 1 tsp HC + 2 drops Karo (added the Karo in anticipation of a drop ... which he did as predicted!)
+2.2 45 --- 1tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+2.5 48 --- 1 tsp HC + 3 drops Karo
+2.75 61 --- 1 tsp HC + 1 drop Karo
+3 78 --- 1 tsp HC + 1.5 drops Karo (little oopsie on the chaser droplet. But he'll probably need it's surfing power.
+3.5 79 --- 1/2 tsp HC + 1/2 tsp LC
+4 99 --- yay! 1 tsp LC
+5 85 --- 1 tsp MC
+5.75 65 -- 1 tsp HC
+ 6 51 --- 1 tsp HC
+6.5 53 --- 1 tsp MC
+7.25 49 --- 1 tsp MC
+8 59 --- 1 tsp of MC
+8.75 60 --- 1 tsp MC
+10.75 100
PMPS 103
+1 141
+2.5 127
+5 102
+11 145
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42

NOooooo, mama bean doesn't want another reducie so fast!!!!

AMPS 112
+1 80
+2 42 --- 2 tsp HC

I should have perhaps given a MC at +1, but he'd just eaten a full breakfast and I thought it would help stop a fast drop. WRONG!

If I get him back over 50 soon without sending him through the roof, can I NOT take another reducie? nailbite_smile

Oh boy, I know the protocol....Jane, just smack me, okay? :smile:
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 ?

Oh boy...and, yes, I will be once again lurking as your threads have been so educational. :smile:

Common, Leo. Give momma bean a break. :smile:
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

AMPS 112
+1 80
+2 42 --- 2 tsp HC
+2.5 41 --- 1tsp HC, 1/2 tsp gravy, 2 drops Karo

Darn it, Leo! This is NOT how you're supposed to get lots of the tasty gravy foods!

Theresa - LOL - glad our adventures are useful to others - glad to have you here!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

Leo, dude, what did I tell you last time? Elvis. Think Elvis. What would he do? Would he drop it like it's hot? No. He'd be all smoooooth about things. Try that, silly boy.

Lisa, nice catch on that 42 and 41. Nicely done with the HC. Re-test in 15-20, k?

Personally, this says "reduction" to me - seems like his shed really is full, full, full, and letting the shed get too far ahead is *not* a good idea, and you're having to battle to get him into safe ranges very early in the cycles. You want a dose you can safely shoot every 12 hours... This looks to me like Leo thinks that dose to be the next one down. Still --- What do the others think? Ladies? (And Carl? :mrgreen:)

Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

Hi guys! we're following you down, I`m using your food dosing as reference :razz: :razz:

Alexa and diverReuben
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

Lisa, I just posted this in Alexa/Reuben's condo as well, just a heads-up: I'll have to sign off at 7ish (in an hour and a half or so). But by then, I'm sure others will have come online to take over if needed, k? You're doing so well, keep it up! And keep breathing :lol:

Jane
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

Part of what you are seeing is from some of the shed or depot from the 1.50 dose, yesterday, and the days before.
But since he is in the 40s so early in the cycle, I would say try to reduce to 1.00 unit tonight. Good Luck.

You're doing a good job, Lisa. Now to go read your yesterday's condo, to see what I can learn.

I'm runnning to the store, so will be back in about an hour, Jane.
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

AMPS 112
+1 80
+2 42 --- 2 tsp HC
+2.5 41 --- 1tsp HC, 1/2 tsp gravy, 2 drops Karo
+2.75 37 --- 2 tsp HC, 3 drops Karo

Jane - thanks for the Head's Up on your day plans. I'm more and more confident each time, even if I don't steer him ideally, I'll get him there. I read your Elvis admonition to him, and he stared at me like, "more good fuds?" Little stinker. I understand what you mean about the shed. Now that he's below 40, we'll do a reducie.

Dyana - yup makes sense. I just wasn't aware the shed could take so long and affect so many cycles. But I suppose that's really a factor when he got so many reductions in a row. Thanks for pointing that out.
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

...The irony of all of this is ...

I was in the middle of making a nice informative and humorous summary post of yesterday's adventure for reference and fun. Geee, now I'll have more information to add!!!!
:mrgreen:

Auauauaughghgh!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

Lisa & Leo said:
...The irony of all of this is ... I was in the middle of making a nice informative and humorous summary post of yesterday's adventure for reference and fun. Geee, now I'll have more information to add!!!! :mrgreen: Auauauaughghgh!

Well there you have it. You asked for this, lady. Sheesh, you practically begged :lol: Incidentally, you and your boy are *of course* on this week's list of LL Highlights over in Karre's Caturday Condo :mrgreen: You guys make on helluva teaching case :lol:

Jane
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

AMPS 112
+1 80
+2 42 --- 2 tsp HC
+2.5 41 --- 1tsp HC, 1/2 tsp gravy, 2 drops Karo
+2.75 37 --- 2 tsp HC, 3 drops Karo
+3.2 50 --- 2 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo

At this time yesterday when he went to 50 I have 2 tsp HC and no Karo, and I think he needed a tad of a boost then even though his #s were increasing. However, that was earlier in the cycle (+1.7 rather than current +3.2) ... because Leo dropped again later in the cycle and I had to add more Karo. This is fine tuning so we'll see where it takes us.

This value of 50 is ARTIFICIAL. It is all Karo. If I went for a pedicure right now (which I've desperately wanted to do for the last 3 days as a special treat for mama bean), the Karo would wear off right before his nadir, and he'd be in trouble. I will try to keep him above 50, while slowly moving him to lower carb foods, being mindful of the timing of his nadir. More Karo may be in the mix, but we shall see.

Oh, the DRAMA! The DRAMA! :-D
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

We LOVE the drama :lol:

Hope you get to go for your pedicure at some point! I love them too. (Not as much as the DRAMA of course.)

You know the drill. Lather, rinse, repeat - I'll be looking out for the next BG, k?
Jane
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.75 37 +3.2 50 +3.5 60

AMPS 112
+1 80
+2 42 --- 2 tsp HC
+2.5 41 --- 1tsp HC, 1/2 tsp gravy, 2 drops Karo
+2.75 37 --- 2 tsp HC, 3 drops Karo
+3.2 50 --- 2 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+3.5 60 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo

Jane - I hope so too! Maybe late in the cycle today before they close. Glad we're feeding your drama fix, and YES I DID ask for this. But I didn't notice you stopping me, did I? :smile: (Yes I know, you told me it's my call and my hand on the syringe.) Thanks for the gold star!

Lathering, Rinsing and Repeating!!!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.75 37 +3.2 50 +3.5 60

AMPS 112
+1 80
+2 42 --- 2 tsp HC
+2.5 41 --- 1tsp HC, 1/2 tsp gravy, 2 drops Karo
+2.75 37 --- 2 tsp HC, 3 drops Karo
+3.2 50 --- 2 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+3.5 60 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+4 63 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo

Note: my "HC" is one of the Fancy Feast gravy lovers or the like. I don't filter out the gravy, so he gets the little chunks of meat too. I filtered once and it was a PAIN. I'll get some gravy-only if possible, but I don't have it now. So, that's one reason the Karo is in there ... it's making the HC I am using a little closer to the HC of gravy-only.

HI Rhiannon! Yup, he loves to have the world revolve around Him Special Self.

Added variable ... we have a nice thunderstorm coming our way in an hour or so. Leo HATES thunderstorms. He loses his Awesomeness and becomes a scared little kitty who wedges himself under the couch. A couch that's only about 3 inches off the ground. So feedings may get challenging going forward. Jane suggested pureeing food and others I've read administer it by syringe. I hope we don't get to that, but it's an option to consider. I better go clean all the caked-on margarita mix from the inside of the blender...
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3.2 50 +3.5 60 +4 63

Yikes, a storm... I hope it's not too bad. If it were to get a tad punchy, could you maybe keep Leo somewhere you can easily get to him? A bathroom, or a smaller room with you, and the door closed, where he wouldn't have to be got at under furniture? Poor Leo! (Henry hates storms too.)

If you can, Lisa, it might be a good idea ot get a wee bit of MC or LC food into the mix at this point. They last longer, and if this turns into a re-run of yesterday, you may not have to fight so hard to keep Leo's numbers in a safe range well past mid-cycle if he's got some longer-lasting fuds in his system. Easy does it, though, and as you said, this is fine-tuning and "sperimenting" :lol: Maybe half a tsp LC or MC, half a tsp HC mixed, and see how he does on that? You've got the karo there if you need it. Just a thought, since he's surfed the breezy sixites for half an hour now. And only if you feel comfortable with sperimenting like that.

Jane
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +2.5 41 ??

Jane said:
You're a rockstar, Lisa! Re-test again in 15, I'd say. How are Leo's ears looking?

Jane

OOooo, sorry, missed this note. I test his right ear primarily because the left isn't so forthcoming with the red goodness. I'm getting better at just nicking the edge, so his right ear is MUCH better than during earlier marathon events. He has an area that's bruised. He's jerked away a couple times. I've been rotating sites ... starting at the bottom of the sweet spot and working my way up. His left ear has a scar in the middle. That could be partly why. I can get blood if I rub in the tiniest bit of vasoline and warm it really well.

Thanks Jane - means a lot!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3.2 50 +3.5 60 +4 63

You're doing good Lisa. I agree with Jane to start feeding a bit of LC, now that he's in the 60s.
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3.2 50 +3.5 60 +4 63

You're welcome, Lisa! I'm glad his ears aren't too bruised except for that one area. You must have a gentle touch for the pokes :smile: Very nice!

What do you think of the fuds-suggestions I posted just now? (You can of course also wait to decide until the next BG, to see if you feel happy getting some lower carb food in the mix at this point.)
Jane
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3.2 50 +3.5 60 +4 63

Jane said:
Yikes, a storm... I hope it's not too bad. If it were to get a tad punchy, could you maybe keep Leo somewhere you can easily get to him? A bathroom, or a smaller room with you, and the door closed, where he wouldn't have to be got at under furniture? Poor Leo! (Henry hates storms too.)

Yes, I'll have to do that. Poor guy. I'll get a book. :smile:

Jane said:
If you can, Lisa, it might be a good idea ot get a wee bit of MC or LC food into the mix at this point. They last longer, and if this turns into a re-run of yesterday, you may not have to fight so hard to keep Leo's numbers in a safe range well past mid-cycle if he's got some longer-lasting fuds in his system. Easy does it, though, and as you said, this is fine-tuning and "sperimenting" :lol: Maybe half a tsp LC or MC, half a tsp HC mixed, and see how he does on that? You've got the karo there if you need it. Just a thought, since he's surfed the breezy sixites for half an hour now. And only if you feel comfortable with sperimenting like that.
Jane

Agreed. I was looking at yesterday and I went to LC/MC a little too soon and he dipped down with the Karo wore off. His HC isn't pure gravy - it has chunks. I'll figure it out based on his next test which is coming up in a minute..
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3.2 50 +3.5 60 +4 63

Sounds like another crazy day for you and Leo. I think you're right. He just likes to be the center of attention. You're doing a great job.
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3.2 50 +3.5 60 +4 63

AMPS 112
+1 80
+2 42 --- 2 tsp HC
+2.5 41 --- 1tsp HC, 1/2 tsp gravy, 2 drops Karo
+2.75 37 --- 2 tsp HC, 3 drops Karo
+3.2 50 --- 2 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+3.5 60 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+4 63 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+4.5 110 --- 1/2 tsp HC + 1/2 tsp MC

Carla - you're spot on!

Jane - I agree with your thoughts. Last time at this point, I went straight to LC and I think that started the second fall he had and I had to bop back up to HCs for a couple mini-meals. So, a tad slower transition using HC/MC is in order.

Here's what he thinks about all the ear pricks:

Camo Kitty - If she doesn't see me, she can't poke me!

camouflage-sm.jpg
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3.2 50 +3.5 60 +4 63

Thanks for letting me know about the thunder storm. I just put my cats outside real quick before it starts raining.

Hopefully, you won't lose power.

I still haven't had a chance yet, to read your yesterday's condo :roll: but I'll get to it :-D

Congratulations on the dosecrease!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63 +4.5 110

Oh my goodness, how much do I adore that photo! :mrgreen: Cool sofa, too. Cool Kitty - getting the hang of the Elvis thing? :lol:

Good going, Lisa. Fingers crossed!
Jane
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63 +4.5 110

HI Dyana! DH said it's in PA now. It's a really strong band so yes, kitties out now! Get a cup of coffee (or glass of wine) for yesterday's condo. It's a wild ride! :-D

Hi Jane - thanks! He's of course, lounged across the nicest piece of comfy furniture in the house!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63 +4.5 110

Okay, mamabean screwed up.

AMPS 112
+1 80
+2 42 --- 2 tsp HC
+2.5 41 --- 1tsp HC, 1/2 tsp gravy, 2 drops Karo
+2.75 37 --- 2 tsp HC, 3 drops Karo
+3.2 50 --- 2 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+3.5 60 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+4 63 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+4.5 110 --- 1/2 tsp HC + 1/2 tsp MC <- NOPE! Not eaten
+5 147 --- 1 tsp MC

Leo came running for the post +4.5 treat, and didn't touch it. :o I didn't realize it until I went to find him for his +5 test. Grrr. But since his value cruised up, I gave him 1 tsp MC instead, which he ate with gusto. Not sure what that was about. But I'll watch out that the missed snack and MC snack don't let the Karo fall off take over.

Maybe he realized he was climbing out of Elvis mode and backed off on the foods!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

I think you can hold off on the MC, now that he is in the 140s.
But, again, I still haven't had a chance to read yesterday's condo, yet, as I have company over.
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Dang. But don't sweat it, Lisa - he's still doing GREAT! And so are you. I've got to sign off for now, but I'll try to check back in before I go sleepus. Are you ok? I see Dyana online and I know Melanie will keep here eye on LL throughout her day, so there's back-up if and when you need it.

Hope Leo reverts to Elvis-Mode for you :lol:
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Jane said:
Dang. But don't sweat it, Lisa - he's still doing GREAT! And so are you. I've got to sign off for now, but I'll try to check back in before I go sleepus. Are you ok? I see Dyana online and I know Melanie will keep here eye on LL throughout her day, so there's back-up if and when you need it.

Hope Leo reverts to Elvis-Mode for you :lol:
Hugs
Jane

I'm good, Jane - thanks for checking in on us. We should be fine, especially with those other great eyes on our performance. Perhaps not ELVIS mode, tho! The storm is the only variable, but then what's a new adventure without a new challenge? :shock:

Lisa & Leo the Fart Cat
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Lisa & Leo said:
The storm is the only variable, but then what's a new adventure without a new challenge? :shock: Lisa & Leo the Fart Cat

You caught it - the DRAMA FIX bug :lol: I had fun hanging with you and Leo again, as always :mrgreen: See you later if I can check back in, and if not, keep breathing and give poor Leo a few extra cuddles from us against the mean old storm, and we'll check in with you tomorrow!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Strange weather. They had a tornado in Tom's River, and just issued tornado warnings for the next hour in Scranton PA. We're not used to tornados here.

Sorry for the sporatic posts. I told Jane I would be here when she logged off, and got home at 12:50pm our time (almost 7 Jane's time) and was just reading through the condos, when DBF marches in and wants lunch :roll: I told him I was busy at the moment, and he actually cooked it himself :thumbup

Surf nicely, now, Leo.
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Hi Guys!!

Looks like you can go get your pedicure later, right? I think it`s a grand idea and am thinking about doing it too!

Thanks for the visit a while back, it was nice to have Leo's darling-ness gracing my condo while the fur was flying!!

I`m happy with the rice experiment I did. It was a little too much for that moment, the amount I gave him, so no reducie today. But I think it`s going to come in handy to use.

I am allll admiration for your deep diving skills over there with Leo!! *bowing down* :thumbup

- Alexa
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

AMPS 112
+1 80
+2 42 --- 2 tsp HC
+2.5 41 --- 1tsp HC, 1/2 tsp gravy, 2 drops Karo
+2.75 37 --- 2 tsp HC, 3 drops Karo
+3.2 50 --- 2 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+3.5 60 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+4 63 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+4.5 110 --- 1/2 tsp HC + 1/2 tsp MC <- NOPE! Not eaten
+5 147 --- 1 tsp MC
+5.75 164 --- 1 tsp LC

It may be too early to go LC, but he's at nadir and at a good number. Hopefully I can go out in an hour for a couple hours!

HI Alexa! Happy to come over and visit - it's always nice when fur is a-flying as you said! I could probably go get a pedi, but DH wants to go to the tiki bar down the road for a drink before the storm. If Leo stays good for another hour, I'll probably go. Need to make sure all Karo has worn off and his values are still ok. I think we'll be fine.

Oh gosh - no accolades! We are learning under the wonderful tutelage of Jane and Karre, but she's doing a good job on us. Just have to start doing it without the Karo. Well, we were GOING for a reduce, so maybe not so bad.

Dyana - yes, isn't insane? Tornado touched down in around Long Island!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Holy cow. Just got off work, and I hadn't checked / been able to log on since the +1 this morning. Easy to say this now, but "I saw this coming" and wish I had posted it back then. No food boost from breffus, and a 25% drop at +1, I thought you might be in for a sequel to yesterday's ride. I didn't see it coming that fast though, I just figured he'd flirt with 50 by nadir and leave you wondering if you should reduce again.

Personally, this says "reduction" to me - seems like his shed really is full, full, full, and letting the shed get too far ahead is *not* a good idea, and you're having to battle to get him into safe ranges very early in the cycles. You want a dose you can safely shoot every 12 hours... This looks to me like Leo thinks that dose to be the next one down. Still --- What do the others think? Ladies? (And Carl? )

I concur. Leo's calling the "shots" the past couple of days. He's saying "a tad less, ma'am", I think.

Carl
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Carl & Bob said:
Holy cow. .....Leo's calling the "shots" the past couple of days. He's saying "a tad less, ma'am", I think.

Carl

Yup! Little Stinker has made his wishes known. Now I hope he tells Mr. P and Mr. L to get their asses in gear and BEAT THIS THING!!!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

AMPS 112
+1 80
+2 42 --- 2 tsp HC
+2.5 41 --- 1tsp HC, 1/2 tsp gravy, 2 drops Karo
+2.75 37 --- 2 tsp HC, 3 drops Karo
+3.2 50 --- 2 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+3.5 60 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+4 63 --- 1 tsp HC, 1 drop Karo
+4.5 110 --- 1/2 tsp HC + 1/2 tsp MC <- NOPE! Not eaten
+5 147 --- 1 tsp MC
+5.75 164 --- 2 tsp LC
+6:25 192 ----Yay!

Well, I think it's safe for mama bean and DH to go have a couple adult cocktails at the tiki bar! Lil Stinker put the damper on any other plans today, and a BIG storm is coming, and somewhere there's a martini to be had before it hits!

See you later!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Wow, Lisa & Leo, very exciting condo! I just got caught up on all the excitement of Leo's yesterday condo. Congrats on the reducie. :mrgreen: Enjoy your cocktails at the Tiki Bar! :-D I hope the storm isn't too bad!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Hi Lisa, Just catching up on Leo's latest wild ride on the green rapids today :mrgreen: wow! He is giving you a break at the moment so enjoy it while you can. You are doing a great job tweaking the carbs and have earned some adult carbs yourself drinking09 . Hope the storm is not too bad where you are!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

HI Ann and Leslie!

Yes, we had some delightful adult beverages! The storm was really rainy but the thunder passed us by for the most part. Leo's BG went up but heck, it's probably just his bounce!

Lisa

+11 291
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Hi Lisa - I just saw your +11 291 and thought 'Oh good, now I don`t feel so bad! '... because over here we have a +9.5/303, and I was feeling like a Failure Bean!! But if we have company then I`ll just chill out...hahahaaa :lol: Glad you guys got to have adult beverages and entertainment! - Alexa
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

reuben'smom said:
Hi Lisa - I just saw your +11 291 and thought 'Oh good, now I don`t feel so bad! '... because over here we have a +9.5/303, and I was feeling like a Failure Bean!! But if we have company then I`ll just chill out...hahahaaa :lol: Glad you guys got to have adult beverages and entertainment! - Alexa

Well, we've got a PMPS of 344, so ha! Don't feel bad - they do things that sometimes aren't predictable. Look at Leo ... I figured he'd bounce last cycle and he surprised me and stayed mellow :shock: But NOW the bounce I expected is here!

Time for a nap. I think I'll sleep all night long. He's in a bounce and mama hasn't slept through the night in quite a while... ni ni
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42/37 +3 50/60 +4 63/110 +5 1

Hi Lisa

Wow you and Leo have had a couple of really, really busy days.

I know I haven't been as involved in Leo's Lantus dance as many others but I'm wondering if there is a way to feed him to manage his curve a little more without having to resort to so much HC and karo. Please understand that I am in no way criticizing anything that was done....when you get those low numbers, you need to get them up. You've had great help doing that and you've done well and handled it with great calm.

Maybe a little background will help. When Gracie was newly dx, we were going through the same kinds of cycles you are having with Leo. And yes, ECID. I thought that perhaps the best thing for a FD was the lowest carb food I could find for her. I had to control her numbers with lots of HC, gravy, and karo even tho some very experienced members told me to ditch the karo ;-) Luckily, Sienne suggested I PM Jill/Alex and talk to her about feeding and that made all the difference in the world.

Low numbers are scary and when we are new, they are really, really scary and they always need to be taken very seriously. And I do not like to see any cats...yours or mine, in the 30s or 40s. But maybe a different feeding strategy might help Leo as he has decided to come down the dosing scale. What is the %carbs of the food you normally feed him at PS? If it's really low, maybe you want to consider feeding him a higher low carb food early on. So if you feed a 2% food now, why not try a 4 or 5% food instead? Some cats even do better in the 6-10% range.

It is totally possible that Leo has hit his fitting dose and he's ready to start coming down the dosing scale and he might continue to do this sort of thing on you. But if there is a chance to feed him a little higher LOW carb food, maybe maybe maybe (or maybe not) you can keep him from going so low that you have to use HC and karo to get him up. You had the right idea when you said you should have fed him MC at +1. I think when you shoot a dropping number (which is a great way to take advantage of overlap as long as you know how to control numbers and keep him safe), and you do a +1 (great job there) and see he does not have a food spike.....you can see what might happen the rest of the cycle.

It's hard to predict what our kitties will do. Gracie went up at +3 on me and by +6 she had gone from 189 to 36. That is not like her at all...she's usually very flat. But I gave her 11% and she stopped and I gave her just a little more and she came up a bit. Then I switched her to 8% to get her to surf. No karo or HC involved. Many of the really experienced members here have never even used karo. I'm not saying never use it.....it's important to get a kitty out of those low numbers.

I also thought Carl had a really great and very valid point yesterday.....you have to give the food time to work. In order to keep Leo safe, it would be good when he's in higher, safer green, to find out how long it takes him to respond to food. (please do not try this when he's in the 30s/40s...try it when he's in the 60s/70s). I know that when I give Gracie 11%, I'm wasting my time to test her in less than 30 minutes because she isn't going to show it in her numbers yet. That's her..again, ECID. It's easy to overcarb if you don't give the food time to work. I know it is nailbite_smile waiting for the time to pass to retest. So a really, really important point here is to experiment when he's higher and learn how long it takes Leo for food to kick in. Maybe for him, 20 minutes is fine so if you don't see a response in 20 minutes, you know he needs more food.

The other important lesson is when you see he is clearing a bounce and you shoot a dropping number, be prepared for drama :lol: :lol: :lol: He reminds me of a little brown furry girl I know who likes to be dramatic with bounce clearing.

My point in all this is we were where you are and I did the same things. It took me a long time to learn (thanks to Jill) that there was another way to manage Gracie's curve on most days. You're always going to have a cycle here and there where they throw you a curve ball. It's great if you know how they will respond and you've built up alot of good data the last few cycles.

Just some food for thought. Great work!!!
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +4 110 +5 147 +6 192 PMPS

Marje

Thanks for the detailed feedback - yes, I am certainly open to how to deal with Leo's roller coasters without resorting to the big guns. Now that I know I can handle a bad situation, it's time to manage his food better. I've got him on a feeding scheduled that seems ok so far but he gets all the same food - FF classics - 3-4%. You have some really valid points, and I want to re-read your post in the morning when I am more away. I am dead, and at this point I'm going to assume that he won't crash in the night, and I can actually get an entire night's sleep. Changing the carbs a little at different points in the cycle really sounds like a good idea.

Thanks!
Lisa
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +4 110 +5 147 +6 192 PMPS

Wow, thanks for that information Marje!

And Lisa, hopefully you can read this tomorrow when you're rested and enjoying that first hot cup of coffee. :smile:

Let me preface this by saying that I have never, ever, had to deal with one of these "oh no, kitty is low!" situations myself. While Bob was on PZI, I wasn't really an active member of the board. I lurked and read for hours each day, but rarely posted, and never asked for any dose advice. I more or less learned here and winged it. Bob wasn't tested nearly enough beyond preshot numbers. However, I did see 40s twice (I have no clue at all how many 40s or 30s I might have missed). I saw a 42, and a 44. Each time, it was around nadir time, and I gave him half a can of FF classics, patted his little head, told him he was a good boy. One time I went back to bed, the other time I went back to work. SO I'm hardly a voice of experience or responsible FD management.

But, when I try to fathom how much I've learned SINCE then by staying here? I have a hard time grasping that that amount of information can fit inside my head.

Sitting where I am sitting, most of you probably won't understand how easy this is for me compared to what it's like for you. I'm not the one looking like this :o :shock: :o at the meter that says 41 or 36 or some number you can't quite wrap your head around. I understand that for people who have managed lows many times with your kitties, that for instance, when Marje saw the 36 out of nowhere today, it wasn't really a crisis. I even asked her in her condo tonight "how did you deal with it Marje? What does it take for Gracie to come back up?" Because I figured, shoot, she's done this plenty of times, and while it's not like "oh yawn, Gracie is down to 36 again - I'm sure no matter how many times you see it, you're still a little nailbite_smile . And in Marje's condo, she answered my question by saying that Gracie got a total of .75oz of MC 11% fudz. Wow. I use FF with my boys. You know how tiny the cans are, right? That's 1/4 of a can. Does that even fill a teaspoon? If I gave Bob 1/4 can of FF, he'd inhale it and ask "Gee dad, what was the point? Why not just let me lick the lid?"

I guess the entire key, which I have seen lots of people here say is "know thy cat"? It's incredible to me that an amount of food that small is all it took.

I also thought Carl had a really great and very valid point yesterday.....you have to give the food time to work.
When I said that yesterday, I'd gotten in halfway through the day's adventure. When I looked at the recap, my concern was "wow, that's a lot of food going in, and not much BG boost yet". My primary concern at that moment wasn't necessarily the carb content (I paid more attention to that later) but that Leo's tummy was reaching capacity, and if he needed more food, he might not be able to fit much more.
Now I don't know exactly how long it takes for karo, gravy, HC, MC or LC food to get from the bowl to the meter, but my thinking was "I don't think the last two servings of HC have gotten there yet". I imagine this is one of those irritating ECID things, right? No telling how long it takes, because there's too many variables and every cat digests food at a different pace?

This is one thing that has me perplexed, and I've discussed it with Jane and a couple other people by PM - I've read the "how to deal with low numbers" sticky lots of times. Where I get lost is "at what point do you stop the HC/karo/gravy strategy, and cut back to MC or better yet, to LC in order to get the numbers up and then keep kitty surfing?" My instinct says "use the lowest carbs as possible to get the results you need or want". So when I am trying to help people, especially on the rare occasion when I happen to be online and few if any other people are around, I think I tend to advise backing off the carbs maybe too soon? I think what I'm after is trying to see what the last snack did before advising on the next snack?

The lower carb food boost is going to stick around longer than a karo or gravy boost, isn't it? So if you can get the numbers up to safer levels using LC or MC, then is it logical to think that the rise is going to last longer, and maybe the surf will last longer? Does what you feed to boost the numbers have an effect on how much of a bounce is going to follow the lows? Dose a short surf mean a higher bounce? These are questions I don't know the answer to, but I think knowing the answers would influence my advice, kwim?

I remember the very first time I "helped" during a diving exhibition. It was Mikey and Jenn, sometime around the 12 days of Christmas, I think. For a while, it was me, and Jenn, and Marje. I was off the next day, so staying up all night wasn't a problem. But there came a point where Marje had to sign off, and before doing so, she did an awesome job of "prepping" me and Jenn by laying out the guidelines and I had the "sticky" open in a 2nd window. I was READY! A couple hours later, don't remember exactly what the question was that Jenn asked, but I didn't have an answer. So, my response was along the lines of "well, Jenn, I just looked around the board, and you and me are the only people around (I think Karre must have been OTJ or something, because Jane wasn't here :lol: ) So, let's try "this" and if it's wrong, the worst that can happen is somebody will tell us we screwed up tomorrow morning when we're still asleep! :-D
And sure enough, the next day when I checked in, Marje had very graciously pointed out what we should have done (love ya Marje!). The point is, we both learned from it.
I saw Alexa post above, and I know she was only joking, about being a "Failure Bean". Thing is, there is no "fail" with this. Every day/night is a learning experience, and as long as you remember what didn't work, or could have worked better the next time, then progress is being accomplished.

This place is the greatest, and the people here are all "rock stars" in my book. I love doing this "stuff", and helping people out when I can? Love it. No better feeling than signing off for the night and feeling like I somehow helped somebody out. Two or three weeks out of the month, I don't have to worry about setting the alarm to be on time for work, so late nights are what I do anyway. And, I've "met" some really incredibly wonderful crazy cat people in the process. :smile: Every day I learn something new, and I think that's a pretty universal feeling here.

So, is the whole key that you have to be able to figure out what works best, in terms of getting low numbers into safe surfer-dude numbers "you have to know YOUR cat?" And the only way to really do that is to "do that"? Experiment, see what works, and then see if you can find something that works even better the next time?

Sorry for the long post. It's apparently impossible for me to write short stories :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +4 110 +5 147 +6 192 PMPS

Great post, Carl, and you have come a long way, baby!! And you've worked hard to get there so you can help so many people. THANK YOU!

And your take home point is important....Know your cat. Experiment when the cat is at safe numbers so you can handle the low ones appropriately, recognizing, as I said before, that sometimes you are just gonna get those curve balls. No, Carl, I'm not bored if Gracie gives me a 36...it still gets my attention that I need to deal with it NOW. But it's not like the first time I got a 39 and put about 1ml of karo down her throat and the whole time she was NOM NOM!!! :razz:

Just want to be sure one thing is clear. IF it is necessary to manage the food curve (and for many cats, it is not necessary), then you want to do it with their regular food in their regular amount as much as possible. This isn't the same thing as managing low numbers, k? Example: I feed Gracie on a specific schedule, with a specific amount of food, at a specific carb rate day in, day out and she normally stays fairly flat UNLESS her shed is getting full and she decides to boom down. Then I have to resort to feeding low numbers with either 8 or 11%. But if I catch her headed down fast, I start feeding the 8% to slow the drop because I'd rather flatten her out early than work like crazy to bring her up from low numbers.
BUT.....she is not a newly diagnosed cat and she fails reductions.

For a newly diagnosed cat, you want to try and control drops and flatten them out but not to the extent that you are keeping them from earning reductions. Controlling the drops helps minimize the bouncing. But feeding them alot of HC food to intentionally "hold" them above 50 is not a good idea for a newly diagnosed cat. (And...that is not what you were doing, Lisa, but the opportunity will most likely arise at some point). The point is for them to safely earn reductions so they have the best chance of going OTJ.

Sleep tight.....you can always read this later.
 
Re: 9/8 Leo AMPS 112 +1 80 +2 42 +4 110 +5 147 +6 192 PMPS

Well, you are certainly learning a lot of stuff fast, Lisa. I can't read this entire condo, but I skimmed it and I'm glad it looks like you will get some sleep tonight. Sleeping will help you mull this over and get it stored away where you can find it next time you need it. In any event, good job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top