9/8 Grandpa +16 93, +18 100, +19 89, +23 150, +24 (PMPS) 240, +2 242

Beck and Philly

Member Since 2018
Yesterday

Lowest day yesterday with one dip below AT action number. I thought he'd hit a low and come up into blues by now, but it hasn't happened. He doesn't want breakfast. I'm thinking we should skip, but not sure.

Thoughts?

When we do shoot, does the 66 mean his regular dose drops from 2 25 to 2?

Thanks.
 
Last edited:
No shot advice, Beck , but big appy vines and prayers coming Grandpa’s way :bighug: Give him hugs and scritches from me and let him know his fan club has his and your back ❤️
 
We stalled an hour and dropped to 62. Now we are going to just concentrate on getting food in him.
 
Last edited:
He's really not feeling well today. I'm trying to stay optimistic, but he's worrying me. He'll lick at a little gravy on food, but doesn't even want his S&C nuggets. His BG isn't coming up, but thank goodness it's staying pretty steady.
 
Beck , could you syringe a tiny bit of baby food or other normally favorite food ??? Like Carol said, prime the pump ? Sending appy prayers :bighug:❤️
 
Last edited:
Time to get creative... Do you have any more pizza? Seriously, any thing that might be interesting could "prime the pump".

Hope he feels better soon! :bighug:

Yes. He ate some of the sausage from the leftover pizza earlier. My roommate went out and got a rotisserie chicken and he ate what she said would have made about a meatball sized portion. I'm writing this from the pet food store parking lot. I just bought every flavor of Fussie Cat in gravy since he ate that overnight which is what kept him from hypo I'm heading into the grocery store now. I'll get some baby food.
 
He's up to around 150. We shot that number yesterday, but he's only picking at food today. I hate to skip two shots, but we don't want to make things worse.

Very strong smelling urine and peed on the rug, something he only does when he feels bad.

Any thoughts?
 
Last edited:
Just googled what Kris suggested and it’s first possibility that comes up .If UTI could also explain feeling crummy and loss of appy .
 
I’d like to throw in a few general thoughts. First, I hope he starts to feel better and eat.

I believe I understand that you fed him while you were stalling this morning just because he hasn’t been eating?

“Normally”, if you got a shootable number like 71 (AT), if you are new to shooting low and there are members around who can help you, you have supplies, and you are able and available to test/feed, you would want to shoot so that stalling further does not result in the number becoming so low that you are forced to skip. If he was eating, you could have then fed that 71 with a MC food, if you felt you needed to, as you shot so that he didn’t drop any lower. Again...this is for future reference since he’s a bit off his food.

Also, I just want to be clear in case any lurkers read this and don’t understand that you were skipping this morning, but we don’t want to feed to get the numbers up high enough to shoot because then you are shooting a number that will potentially come down really low.

Could you do us a huge favor please and start showing the numbers in your condo subject line in hours since the last shot instead of your local time? Your local time doesn’t tell me anything but if I see a +18 number, for example, I know you had to skip a shot. Thank you...we really appreciate it. There are many reasons why we do it that way.

More eating vines, Grandpa.
 
Sure. I'll do my subject line in hours even if we skip a shot.

I was afraid to shoot this morning since I tried feeding through the night and even if he ate and temporarily had a higher number, it dropped again. His normal shot time is 8 AM. I fed him at 6 AM so he would have two hours before his AMPS to give us a non-food influenced reading just in case we had a shootable number. At 8, my roommate offered breakfast and he refused. We hoped his numbers would rise on their own despite no food, but he had dropped to 62 AT by 9 AM. Since we didn't see his numbers coming up on their own, we boosted him with sausage and anything he would eat. Even though that boosted him to 106, we decided not to shoot because based on the way the night had gone, we were afraid the food high would wear off quickly and he would be low again.

So that's how it's gone all day. He would eat a bite or two or lick gravy. He spent much of the day around 90. Now he is at 240 and we are an hour after his normal shot time. He has no interest in food, so we're thinking 1.5u, but as his numbers rise we become more confused.

He seems nauseous and bloated. It could be the cancer, it could be worms again, it could be constipation, or a number of other things. He's so compromised, it's tough to know.

He has had two Convenia shots over the past few weeks and today was day 10 of Baytril tablets. Would a UTI still be a concern after that much antibiotic?
 
Last edited:
Sure. I'll do my subject line in hours even if we skip a shot.

I was afraid to shoot this morning since I tried feeding through the night and even if he ate and temporarily had a higher number, it dropped again. His normal shot time is 8 AM. I fed him at 6 AM so he would have two hours before his AMPS to give us a non-food influenced reading just in case we had a shootable number. At 8, my roommate offered breakfast and he refused. We hoped his numbers would rise on their own despite no food, but he had dropped to 62 AT by 9 AM. Since we didn't see his numbers coming up on their own, we boosted him with sausage and anything he would eat. Even though that boosted him to 106, we decided not to shoot because based on the way the night had gone, we were afraid the food high would wear off quickly and he would be low again.

So that's how it's gone all day. He would eat a bite or two or lick gravy. He spent much of the day around 90. Now he is at 240 and we are an hour after his normal shot time. He has no interest in food, so we're thinking 1.5u, but as his numbers rise we become more confused.

He seems nauseous and bloated. It could be the cancer, it could be worms again, it could be constipation, or a number of other things. He's so compromised, it's tough to know.

He has had two Convenia shots over the past few weeks and today was day 10 of Baytril tablets. Would a UTI still be a concern after that much antibiotic?

Thank you and I appreciate the info on feeding/skipping as it confirmed what I thought.

I doubt Convenia would do much to address a UTI but the baytril should.
 
Back
Top