9/8 Gracie PMPS 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

9/7 Recap:
AMPS: 78
+2: 110
+4.5: 67
+5: 54
+5.5: 64
+7: 80
+9: 109
+10.5: 127
PMPS: 157
+2: 160
+4: 113
+5.5: 151
+9: 215


Happy Caturday and strong healing vines for Rocket and Kristen's Abby today.

Ickus on last night's cycle.....but baby girl has been so lovey, purry, with lots of headbutts and somersaults on mamabean this morning when we were cuddling. She seems to be feeling really, really well.....just a happy little girl. Unfortunately with her shot this morning, I knicked a capillary and when it bled, I could smell insulin. I know 150% for sure that when I depressed the plunger, the syringe was all the way in her so I know the insulin got in, but I think some of it came back out with the blood so I might see it in her numbers today :evil:

Tobey is much better today but still a little quiet. If you didn't get to our condo yesterday, he ate Gracie's pill pocket with the clavamox and it made him really, really sick. I think the squids and pepcid helped him last night but I fasted him until right before bed and he ate a tiny bit of baby food. At +9, I gave him a little more. This morning, he wanted his regular food. No more pukus since about 6 last night and he's drinking on his own today. He did his usual "Inspector Pinkerton" survey of the entire house this morning to be sure nothing was remiss while he was recuperating.

Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36

Uh yes....I did retest that 36 with my Contour and it is accurate. I have no idea why I smelled insulin because there was none on the syringe but I evidently got all of it into her.

Lesson to newbies: this is why, when you think you might not have gotten all the insulin in them, that you don't try to reshoot and give a little more; you might actually have gotten in the full dose. If you think you give a fur shot or partial fur shot, just forget about it and let the cycle play out. While I thought some of the insulin "backed out", I figured I'd just have to suck up some low numbers and get on with it. Is it possible it did back out and this is just shed or bounce clearing? Possible on the shed but I doubt it because she obviously onset when she was supposed to and if she didn't have quite enuff insulin, I think she would not have gone this low. I do think she is clearing a bounce and she tends to get a little dramatic about it sometimes. But with a 36, I'll be reducing her dose tonight.
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36

Marje, Bummer about the suspect shot, hope Gracie got most of her dose and maybe that +6 is just routine drama?
Glad to hear Tobey is recovering from eating Gracie's meds, what a scary thing.
Hope all of you have a great day!
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36

Wow, Gracie! That number just sort of popped in out of nowhere! (I thought Marje had done a typo :lol: )

Marje,
Just for informational purposes... you saw the 36, retested and found it to be accurate. What next? How do you bring her back up? I know you've done this plenty of times, but what does it take to get Gracie back up?

Happy to hear Tobey is back to being himself. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36

I definitely did a double-take too and immediately thought Marje left on the '1' in front of that 36!

MISS GRACIE! Where you GOIN'? THAT was a KT and Pumbaa dive.....psst pretty girl, beans don't like that kind of dive....how 'bout not doing that one again please.

BIG HUG to fuzzy feetz and bean feetz too!
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36

Nice catch on the 36. Congrats on the reducie. I'm glad Tobey is doing better today and that Gracie is so playful.
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36 +6.75 42

Carl....I just give her Wellness Core turkey/duck. It's 11% calories from carbs. She's already up to 42 30 minutes after she ate. I gave her a little more just now to get her out of the 40s and see if she'll hang out in the 50s.

If she's low like that, I'll give her more....so for that 36, I gave her .45 oz. For the 42, I gave her .3 oz.
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36

Marje,

Thank you for being around last night. I wanted to shoot, I didn't want to shoot, I wanted to want to shoot! :-D Good thing I'm a member of "the collective."
Did you know that's what your fan club is called? Probably so. Hee hee.

This is interesting to me:
Possible on the shed but I doubt it because she obviously onset when she was supposed to and if she didn't have quite enuff insulin, I think she would not have gone this low.
. Can you explain more fully, please?

Congrats on the reducie for Gracie Waycie and on Tobey's Inspector Pinkerton routine being resumed -- a good sign.
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36 +6.75 42 +7.5 50

Dale

First, I had no idea I had a "fan club" and certainly no idea that you all were the "collective" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Little worker bees, you all!!!

I'm glad my visit to your condo last night was timed just right!

So...on Gracie and my comment about the shed. When I give Gracie a reduction, like I did on a.m. cycle 9/6 from the 30s the night before, I can usually assume with her that the next 3-4 cycles of green are shed from the higher dose I reduced from. After those 3-4 cycles, if she starts going up into high blues and yellows and bouncing again, it's typically a sign for her that she is working just on the new dose and not on the shed from the old one. I have seen her have influence from a higher dose up through six cycles after the reduction so I was toying with the 36 being from that but I really don't think it is because by the fifth cycle (especially after her higher numbers last night), any shed influence from a higher dose is really, really starting to wane. I don't think the shed could have gotten her this low. And I must have gotten all the insulin into her because if I hadn't, I also don't think she would have gotten this low.....even on a bounce clearing cycle.

Does any of that make sense? It's strictly a "know thy cat" kind of thing.
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36 +6.75 42 +7.5 50

Congrats on the reducie - yet again! I see Gracie has joined today's "go higher 2-3 hours after AMPS, then throw them a ringer at +6" club. These cats sure like to keep us on our toes!

I'm glad Tobes is feeling better today and Gracie is doing summersaults. That would be a cute video. Hint!
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36 +6.75 42 +7.5 50 +8 52

surfer-4053.gif


Do it baby!
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36 +6.75 42 +7.5 50 +8 52

Geez, and just when I was bragging about Checks' blues. :lol:

What a fantastic day for Miss Gracie. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Marje, I'm so happy to hear that Tobes is fine today. As you mentioned yesterday, now you know that Clavamox doesn't agree with him. Is that because he was well? I mean, if he actually had bacteria to get rid of, would it still have made him sick?

Is that question even answerable?
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36 +6.75 42 +7.5 50 +8 52

Barb

My guess is he can't take clavamox and even if he had had bacteria, he'd have reacted the same way. Gus can't take it either. I'm just lucky Gracie can.

Go Checks GO!
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36 +6.75 42 +7.5 50 +8 52

did a doubletake when I saw that 36...
What a jump!
Yay on getting a reducie!
Surf , Surf, Surf, Gracie!
Really glad to hear Tobey is better today. It's never fun to take someone else's medicine.
I accidentally took my son's adhd medication ( dexadrine) one time and it was not so great.
And I remember taking dexadrine as an appetite suppresant back in the 80's but it wasn't the same.
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36

max&emmasmommie said:
Good thing I'm a member of "the collective." Did you know that's what your fan club is called?
Can I join? Although it does sound rather commie. :lol: :lol: :lol: Paws crossed for Gracie's reducie! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36 +6.75 42 +7.5 50 +8 52

Hey Marje,
So glad to hear that my other best boy is ok. Tobes, you gave your mamabean a scare!
Challenging cycle for Gracie today. Good luck with the reducie.
Wishing you all a fine evening. How are you feeling?

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Aah Lil Girl!! Could be the start of a bounce, could be end of her cycle. So I chose to take the reduction to keep her safe instead of shooting through a bounce I don't know for sure is a bounce :roll: :roll: ;-)
 
after all, resistance IS futile! :-D

gracie's looking super - yay on the reduction. i have to go backwards through her condos to see if you posted the results from this week's test! i'll be back.
 
Glad to hear Tobey is feeling better today!! I guess that was an AB lesson you never wanted to have to learn. If he's already back to checking out the house, surely he'll be fully back to himself in no time.

Sounds like you and Miss Gracie had a wonderfully affectionate morning!! Congrats and good luck with the reducie!!! That 36 is a scary number but you handled it so well! I hope I'll be able to so the same when Yahtzee gets that low. Haven't seen it yet but I am fully prepared and as well educated as possible from the collective minds of many - thanks to the FDMB :smile:

Question for you, do you think hitting the capillary could have caused the insulin to hit Gracie's system faster than normal? I was warned by the vet to watch for blood when shooting, but luckily, I've never experienced that. Would hitting or shooting into a tiny capillary cause an abnormal absorption effect? I don't think I've read anyone's experience with this type of situation and now I'm a bit curious.

Hoping you get another love-filled morning, and this time with Tobey too!! The only thing better than one furchild givin' lovin' is 2 furchildren givin' lovin' :-D
 
Even Gracie's bouncy numbers or "high" numbers are still stinkin' awesome!!!!! :lol: Must say, that was a pretty impressive dip into the 30's! Hope you guys have a quiet night!

Good night, Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 9/8 Gracie AMPS 175 +3 189 +6 36

Anne & Zener said:
max&emmasmommie said:
Good thing I'm a member of "the collective." Did you know that's what your fan club is called?
Can I join? Although it does sound rather commie. :lol: :lol: :lol: Paws crossed for Gracie's reducie! :-D
Liz
I would totally join :lol:
 
sorry about all the excitement last night! I'm glad that Tobes is better, mush have been scary for you and your sweet boy. The last time Tess had a UTI they gave us Clavamox in pill form. She had had Clavamox before with no problem, but the pill made her sick. I've been told that sometimes the binder used in forming the pills can make people sick, so it may not be the Clavamox but the pill formulation.
 
Ann...thanks for letting me know that because I didn't. So far, it isn't bothering Gracie but poor little Tobes!

So the biggest requirement for the collective is shooting low :lol: :lol: :lol: and I'm sorry it cant be a democracy but really...did the Borg Queen put things up for popular vote? :lol: :lol:

Deb...that is an interesting thought. I don't think it would influence it because of the way levemir works but who knows?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top