9/8 Captain Price AMPS 109

Carson

Member Since 2022
Hey all, this is my first time posting on the Lantus board. I've been testing Captain Price twice a day before insulin shots and lately he's been low in the morning and anywhere from 150-200 in the evening. I don't feel comfortable giving insulin when he's lower than ~130 as my wife and I work throughout the day but have a hypo kit handy at home. Should we lower the dose to 0.5 units? Testing has become easier, at the moment it's still very difficult to get a reading without help from my wife, and we know we should be testing more often. Any feedback is appreciated, thank you.
 
Hi Carson welcome to the LLB! Good to see you posting over here, the folks that frequent this forum were absolutely instrumental in helping get my boy Hendrick regulated.


[edit] Yes, don't be surprised if you hear from some of the senior members that you need to get some more tests done during the two 12-hour insulin cycles. Have you considered a Freestyle Libre sensor?
 
Previous post intro post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-diagnosed-with-diabetes.267000/#post-2988195

To be honest I don't think any members would feel comfortable giving dosing advice since you aren't getting any tests in after AMPS and PMPS
I know you both work can you get a test in when you get home from work and after his PMPS shot get a test in @+3, and @+6
We don't know how the insulin is working for Captain Price and how low he's dropping which will tell you whether you need to decrease the dose .
Per SLGS
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

On the weekends can you get more tests in both Sat and Sunday
 
Thank you Diane, we are planning on doing a 12 hour curve this Saturday, 7 AM to 7 PM. We'll work toward additional testing in the evenings as well. At this time I'll stick with 1U every 12 hours unless his levels are too low to leave unattended.
 
Last edited:
Welcome. As you know lantus is dosed based upon how low a dose takes your cat and we don’t know the answer to that. You are seeing very good numbers for a cat recently on insulin and have a really good chance of getting him diet controlled. If you could get a test at +2 until you can do a curve that will help us. Cats often go lower at night so any night tests until tge curve will also help. I would lower the dose to .50 now though as lantus likes consistency and you want a dose you can give safely every 12 hours. I also suggest you get an auto feeder that you can set to go off while you are at work and at night while sleeping. I look forward to seeing the curve Saturday.
 
Back
Top