9/8 Beenie 115 AMPS, 134 +2, 117 +5, 90 +7, 81 +9

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beenie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo: Yesterday

Good morning :coffee:
I didn't update Beenie's SS until just now. Too tired to jump on line overnight to update. I did get some sleep but hoping tonight to get several hours in a row?

All good numbers overnight but I had to keep checking to make sure she was safe. We'll see what the day brings on the new 7 U dose. We can always go up but I want to be conservative and be able to work during the day, my actual job:rolleyes:, and get some shut eye tonight too.

Thanks for always keeping an eye(s) on us:bighug:
keeping an eye on us.jpg

Sending prayers to our friends and families in FL.
 
Beenie sure is keeping you on your toes. You're doing a good job handling things. I hope she surfs safely today and lets you get some rest tonight.
 
Well done, you! Are you doing all of these tests yourself? I am very impressed! :woot: But you must be so, so tired... You are a very good bean, that's for sure... :D

What does "BCS" mean? I've seen that before but no clue...

Where do you get all of your gorgeous and funny cat pics? You seem to have one for every occasion - and they're all just perfect. Fingers crossed that this is a good day for you. :bighug::coffee::coffee::coffee:
 
Well done, you! Are you doing all of these tests yourself? I am very impressed! :woot: But you must be so, so tired... You are a very good bean, that's for sure... :D
Yes I am getting most of the tests.:rolleyes: DH grabbed the +10 this morning on his way out the door. I'm fortunate to be able to work from home so I can get so much testing under my belt. The overnight tests started because I was chasing greens and wanting to fill in the pieces of the puzzle. Then it escalated to I had to get the overnight tests to make sure Beenie wasn't dropping too low overnight. Hopefully things settle down a bit but I really don't mind the temporary lack of sleep if she keeps tumbling down the dose scale:)
What does "BCS" mean? I've seen that before but no clue...
:joyful: I just found out what it means the other night...Big Chicken S**t
Where do you get all of your gorgeous and funny cat pics? You seem to have one for every occasion - and they're all just perfect
:pI just google for cat pics, save 'em and post! I love cute cat pics! They make me smile so I hope it makes others smile. FD is tough after all and I think we can all use a little smiles and giggles!
 
Yes I am getting most of the tests.:rolleyes: DH grabbed the +10 this morning on his way out the door. I'm fortunate to be able to work from home so I can get so much testing under my belt. The overnight tests started because I was chasing greens and wanting to fill in the pieces of the puzzle. Then it escalated to I had to get the overnight tests to make sure Beenie wasn't dropping too low overnight. Hopefully things settle down a bit but I really don't mind the temporary lack of sleep if she keeps tumbling down the dose scale:)

:joyful: I just found out what it means the other night...Big Chicken S**t

:pI just google for cat pics, save 'em and post! I love cute cat pics! They make me smile so I hope it makes others smile. FD is tough after all and I think we can all use a little smiles and giggles!
BCS - I LOVE it!

Okay, that's it - I'm going to start googling for cute cat pics too...you've made me a convert.
 
Yes I am getting most of the tests.:rolleyes: DH grabbed the +10 this morning on his way out the door. I'm fortunate to be able to work from home so I can get so much testing under my belt. The overnight tests started because I was chasing greens and wanting to fill in the pieces of the puzzle. Then it escalated to I had to get the overnight tests to make sure Beenie wasn't dropping too low overnight. Hopefully things settle down a bit but I really don't mind the temporary lack of sleep if she keeps tumbling down the dose scale:)

:joyful: I just found out what it means the other night...Big Chicken S**t

:pI just google for cat pics, save 'em and post! I love cute cat pics! They make me smile so I hope it makes others smile. FD is tough after all and I think we can all use a little smiles and giggles!
BCS - I LOVE it!

Okay, that's it - I'm going to start googling for cute cat pics too...you've made me a convert. :woot:
 
I'm fortunate to be able to work from home so I can get so much testing under my belt. The overnight tests started because I was chasing greens and wanting to fill in the pieces of the puzzle. Then it escalated to I had to get the overnight tests to make sure Beenie wasn't dropping too low overnight.
I too was fortunate to be working from home when we were in the thick of it. That, and the help of my DBF, who became known in L&LlL as "the night watchman" made all the difference.:cool:
 
I too was fortunate to be working from home when we were in the thick of it. That, and the help of my DBF, who became known in L&LlL as "the night watchman" made all the difference.:cool:
Reductions like this definitely require a whole other level of monitoring and caution. So far I'm happy with the way the day is going. We'll see once we get to +7 and on. Hopefully to safe greens:D
 
I wanted to ask a few questions if you do not mind. My kitty Buddy started 6.5u this morning and I am concerned about him getting into high doses. Buddy, has had a long flare of pancreatitis this summer, he also has had a partial pancreatectomy (spelling). I guess both of these things could make a difference in the amount of insulin he needs.

I called his current vet on 9/6/17 and told her I was concerned about the high dose of insulin he was taking. His doc told me to raise him to 7u and that she had not ran into acromegaly very many times, I could tell she was not going to do the test for Acromegaly. Also, I saw where some one said the cost of Cabergoline was $250.00 per month, which puts it way out of my reach.

What made you decide to test Beenie, was it the high dose or change in her appearance. I have been checking to see if I can tell of a difference in Buddy's appearance, with me being with him all the time I don't know if I could tell. I am trying to pick your brain so I can decide what to do.

I am very happy for you and Beenie, I am sure you have been under a great deal of stress.
 
I wanted to ask a few questions if you do not mind. My kitty Buddy started 6.5u this morning and I am concerned about him getting into high doses. Buddy, has had a long flare of pancreatitis this summer, he also has had a partial pancreatectomy (spelling). I guess both of these things could make a difference in the amount of insulin he needs.

I called his current vet on 9/6/17 and told her I was concerned about the high dose of insulin he was taking. His doc told me to raise him to 7u and that she had not ran into acromegaly very many times, I could tell she was not going to do the test for Acromegaly. Also, I saw where some one said the cost of Cabergoline was $250.00 per month, which puts it way out of my reach.

What made you decide to test Beenie, was it the high dose or change in her appearance. I have been checking to see if I can tell of a difference in Buddy's appearance, with me being with him all the time I don't know if I could tell. I am trying to pick your brain so I can decide what to do.

I am very happy for you and Beenie, I am sure you have been under a great deal of stress.
Oh my goodness please always feel free to ask questions, that's why we're all here:)
I'm not familiar with pancreatitis and how it affects insulin needs though.

For Beenie once she hit 11 U, I think, on ProZinc I decided it was time to test her for the high dose conditions. It was later pointed out to me that once a kitty hits 6U that its advisable to have them tested. Dosing strategy can and will change if a cat tests positive for one or both conditions. I felt in my gut that she had Acro. I noticed her rear paws seemed bigger to me and her breathing had changed a bit. She tends to choke easy on dry treats. This is due to soft tissue growth. Nothing nice about any of that. I pushed my vet to have the testing done. I printed the forms off MSU's website and brought them in to his office and told him I wanted to get the tests done. His office dragged their feet a bit so it took about 3 weeks or so before I was able to get her in to draw the blood. He was familiar with how MSU worked and ordered their mailers which he finds a better way then packaging up the samples himself. I saw the box (mailer) and have to agree on that. It was filled with foam, had MSU's name all over it, had the UPS label printed for overnight shipping etc.
I still don't know what the charge is for the testing. MSU's charges are minimal, its the blood draw at the vet and the overnight shipping that costs. I plan on stopping by the vet today actually to get a new script of Lev and will ask what that final total is. I'll let you know soon as I find out.

The cabergoline, for us, was only $69 for a 30 day supply. If Beenie continues to require less insulin that will factor into a cost saving too. Cabergoline actually working is a crap shoot but it can happen, just look at Marvin. Well Marvin is the exception but there are kitties that have had results in their insulin needs have decreased. There's also SRT, Cyberknife, that are an option for some folks but for us way too expensive and just can't swing it. That is why I opted to give cabergoline a try. Some simply treat their Acro kitties with whatever their insulin needs are and that is fine to. Knowing though helps with dosing since the tumor can pulse and insulin needs change back and forth.
The flip side is it could be IAA and look at Back Kitty. That just take perseverance and that can be beat with insulin alone as it is self limiting.

For Beenie she tested positive for both although not too high on the IAA. We're so lucky that if this is really the cabergoline working its magic. I almost think I'll jinx it if I say for sure that its cabergoline. I mean for her to see results on day one are pretty over the top. Nat, Marvin's mom said she didn't see any results for three weeks. Again ECID blah blah blah.

So whatever you decide my suggestion is I think knowing what you're up against would probably be a tremendous help. There are options on treatment or simply treating Buddy with whatever his insulin needs are. You could always give Levemir a whirl! Beenie is a big fan:cat:

Any other questions please feel free to reach out. Also if you decide on asking for testing you can PM me and I can send you the PDF forms from MSU that you can present to your vet...providing they're willing to do it for you. Unfortunately there have been some members vets that just won't do it. You can still take matters into your own hands and get the blood drawn at the vets office and package and ship the samples yourself. I believe @Susan G & Jimmy G had to do that. Where there's a will there's a way;)

PS I have a Buddy here too. Just took him in in March after a jerk neighbor just left him outside 24/7 then decided to move and leave him. He's such a love!!
This is the stinker after he discovered the top of the fridge:woot:
buddy.JPG
 
Oh my goodness please always feel free to ask questions, that's why we're all here:)
I'm not familiar with pancreatitis and how it affects insulin needs though.

For Beenie once she hit 11 U, I think, on ProZinc I decided it was time to test her for the high dose conditions. It was later pointed out to me that once a kitty hits 6U that its advisable to have them tested. Dosing strategy can and will change if a cat tests positive for one or both conditions. I felt in my gut that she had Acro. I noticed her rear paws seemed bigger to me and her breathing had changed a bit. She tends to choke easy on dry treats. This is due to soft tissue growth. Nothing nice about any of that. I pushed my vet to have the testing done. I printed the forms off MSU's website and brought them in to his office and told him I wanted to get the tests done. His office dragged their feet a bit so it took about 3 weeks or so before I was able to get her in to draw the blood. He was familiar with how MSU worked and ordered their mailers which he finds a better way then packaging up the samples himself. I saw the box (mailer) and have to agree on that. It was filled with foam, had MSU's name all over it, had the UPS label printed for overnight shipping etc.
I still don't know what the charge is for the testing. MSU's charges are minimal, its the blood draw at the vet and the overnight shipping that costs. I plan on stopping by the vet today actually to get a new script of Lev and will ask what that final total is. I'll let you know soon as I find out.

The cabergoline, for us, was only $69 for a 30 day supply. If Beenie continues to require less insulin that will factor into a cost saving too. Cabergoline actually working is a crap shoot but it can happen, just look at Marvin. Well Marvin is the exception but there are kitties that have had results in their insulin needs have decreased. There's also SRT, Cyberknife, that are an option for some folks but for us way too expensive and just can't swing it. That is why I opted to give cabergoline a try. Some simply treat their Acro kitties with whatever their insulin needs are and that is fine to. Knowing though helps with dosing since the tumor can pulse and insulin needs change back and forth.
The flip side is it could be IAA and look at Back Kitty. That just take perseverance and that can be beat with insulin alone as it is self limiting.

For Beenie she tested positive for both although not too high on the IAA. We're so lucky that if this is really the cabergoline working its magic. I almost think I'll jinx it if I say for sure that its cabergoline. I mean for her to see results on day one are pretty over the top. Nat, Marvin's mom said she didn't see any results for three weeks. Again ECID blah blah blah.

So whatever you decide my suggestion is I think knowing what you're up against would probably be a tremendous help. There are options on treatment or simply treating Buddy with whatever his insulin needs are. You could always give Levemir a whirl! Beenie is a big fan:cat:

Any other questions please feel free to reach out. Also if you decide on asking for testing you can PM me and I can send you the PDF forms from MSU that you can present to your vet...providing they're willing to do it for you. Unfortunately there have been some members vets that just won't do it. You can still take matters into your own hands and get the blood drawn at the vets office and package and ship the samples yourself. I believe @Susan G & Jimmy G had to do that. Where there's a will there's a way;)

PS I have a Buddy here too. Just took him in in March after a jerk neighbor just left him outside 24/7 then decided to move and leave him. He's such a love!!
This is the stinker after he discovered the top of the fridge:woot:
View attachment 30867
If my vet had been agreeable we would have probably already have had it done. When you say a 30 day supply cost you $69.00, is that for 30 pills, or how many pills does Beenie take a month. Also, did you buy the Cabergoline from a pharmacy or somewhere else. I don't know if I can afford the mediciation, insulin, test strips and everything that goes along with having a diabetic cat.
 
If my vet had been agreeable we would have probably already have had it done. When you say a 30 day supply cost you $69.00, is that for 30 pills, or how many pills does Beenie take a month. Also, did you buy the Cabergoline from a pharmacy or somewhere else. I don't know if I can afford the mediciation, insulin, test strips and everything that goes along with having a diabetic cat.
The cabergoline is in liquid form. It has to compounded so the bottle is a month's worth for $69. A script was written by my vet and sent to a compounding pharmacy. Not all pharmacy's compound so I knew of one local. Just keep in mind if the cabergoline works for a high dose cat they end up needing less insulin so it could be a wash or a savings at least. That's if it works. I know it is all so expensive. In the end you have to do what works for you. Any other questions just let me know.

PS Just got back from vet and he forgot about billing me for the testing so I still don't know the cost. He seemed to shrug it off like eh he'll leave himself a note. If I didn't remind him who knows if I would've seen a bill :rolleyes:. He's been our vet for 12 years and although we didn't see eye to eye in the beginning of the FD Dx he has a whole new respect for what I'm doing. He's learning a lot from this as well. I showed him Beenie's SS when I was there and told him about what was happening with the cabergoline and he was floored.:woot: He cant believe the drop to 7 U and where her numbers are.
 
The cabergoline is in liquid form. It has to compounded so the bottle is a month's worth for $69. A script was written by my vet and sent to a compounding pharmacy. Not all pharmacy's compound so I knew of one local. Just keep in mind if the cabergoline works for a high dose cat they end up needing less insulin so it could be a wash or a savings at least. That's if it works. I know it is all so expensive. In the end you have to do what works for you. Any other questions just let me know.

PS Just got back from vet and he forgot about billing me for the testing so I still don't know the cost. He seemed to shrug it off like eh he'll leave himself a note. If I didn't remind him who knows if I would've seen a bill :rolleyes:. He's been our vet for 12 years and although we didn't see eye to eye in the beginning of the FD Dx he has That a whole new respect for what I'm doing. He's learning a lot from this as well. I showed him Beenie's SS when I was there and told him about what was happening with the cabergoline and he was floored.:woot: He cant believe the drop to 7 U and where her numbers are.
That is wonderful !!
I am glad that Beenie is responding and so quickly.

Do you know if your vet got the cabergoline from a compounding pharmacy in the area where you live or from one of the on line pharmacy's. One of the local pharmacy's where I live does compounding, I am just trying to find out which place would cost the least amount of money. Of course I would need to know the dose and the frequency.

I am not trying to be nosy, just trying to get all my duck's in a row to see if I can do this. Do you know the name of the person, who did the mailing of the blood sample and took care of things themselves. I would like to get in touch with them to see how they handled this. I live in a small town in the Midwest, so I don't know if any of the vets in this area will do the test.
 
That is wonderful !!
I am glad that Beenie is responding and so quickly.

Do you know if your vet got the cabergoline from a compounding pharmacy in the area where you live or from one of the on line pharmacy's. One of the local pharmacy's where I live does compounding, I am just trying to find out which place would cost the least amount of money. Of course I would need to know the dose and the frequency.

I am not trying to be nosy, just trying to get all my duck's in a row to see if I can do this. Do you know the name of the person, who did the mailing of the blood sample and took care of things themselves. I would like to get in touch with them to see how they handled this. I live in a small town in the Midwest, so I don't know if any of the vets in this area will do the test.
The pharmacy was local to where I live not an on line pharmacy. My vet sent in the perscription direct to the pharmacy, they called me as I had to pre-pay before they would make it.
I tagged @Susan G & Jimmy G and she can probably tell you how she went about getting the testing done. You do still need your vet or a vet to draw the blood, she just took care of shipping it.
She called MSU directly I believe on specific instructions. MSU's number is 517-353-1683 - Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory
tests- Insulin Autoantibody
Insulin Like Growth Factor-1

Best of luck!
 
That is wonderful !!
I am glad that Beenie is responding and so quickly.

Do you know if your vet got the cabergoline from a compounding pharmacy in the area where you live or from one of the on line pharmacy's. One of the local pharmacy's where I live does compounding, I am just trying to find out which place would cost the least amount of money. Of course I would need to know the dose and the frequency.

I am not trying to be nosy, just trying to get all my duck's in a row to see if I can do this. Do you know the name of the person, who did the mailing of the blood sample and took care of things themselves. I would like to get in touch with them to see how they handled this. I live in a small town in the Midwest, so I don't know if any of the vets in this area will do the test.
Hi Theresa,

Marvin is OTJ, he was the first cat on cabergoline. If you want the test push your vet, studies show that 25% of diabetic cats have acromegaly. My baby is doing so much better. Now the only thing he needs is the cabegoline so I don't need to pay for insulin, and I only test once a week to make sure he is still doing well, so cost of strips is way way down..... I couldn't afford any other treatment options, so I decided to give it a try as he really was not doing well. He is doing great now....

I am so happy that it seems to be working for Beenie.
 
Beenie, you are a superstar, keep up the nice numbers :), hope you get to have less broken sleep tonight, it's amazing even the smallest sounds, or your brain being so used to needing to wake up, just to check and make sure everything's ok...it's a hard habit to break, even when you are sleep deprived :bighug:
 
Go Beenie. :D Go depot.

@Teresa & Buddy you vet works for you. I had to ask mine to humour me and do the tests, cause according to my vet, you need to be over 10 units. :rolleyes: Neither Neko nor Marvin got that high. The recent research showing the frequency of acros showed an average of 7 units dose, with some down to 1 unit bid.
 
Hi Theresa,

Marvin is OTJ, he was the first cat on cabergoline. If you want the test push your vet, studies show that 25% of diabetic cats have acromegaly. My baby is doing so much better. Now the only thing he needs is the cabegoline so I don't need to pay for insulin, and I only test once a week to make sure he is still doing well, so cost of strips is way way down..... I couldn't afford any other treatment options, so I decided to give it a try as he really was not doing well. He is doing great now....

I am so happy that it seems to be working for Beenie.
Hi Marvin's Mom, I am trying to find out all I can ahead of time. Had Marvin been diabetic very long, did you notice changes in his appearance or was it just a high dose he was taking. I really am not trying to be nosy, I feel like I need to try and find out all I can. Did you also get your Cabergoline from a compounding pharmacy, is Marvin's meds also liquid.

My cat Buddy has chronic pancreatitis and has had a partial pancreatectomy, did Marvin have any medical issues before hand.
I talked to Buddy's vet on Wednesday and she was having nothing to do with this. I know I could get them to do a blood draw, but if he is positive he will need someone to handle his meds and other problems. Maybe I could find a vet to do this. Any thing you can think of please let me know.
 
By the way, only something like 35% of acros show physical symptoms on diagnosis. Neko's only signs were dose, extreme hunger and later I found her teary eye due to soft tissue growth on the tear duct, was also a sign.
 
Go Beenie. :D Go depot.

@Teresa & Buddy you vet works for you. I had to ask mine to humour me and do the tests, cause according to my vet, you need to be over 10 units. :rolleyes: Neither Neko nor Marvin got that high. The recent research showing the frequency of acros showed an average of 7 units dose, with some down to 1 unit bid.
I talked to the vet on Wednesday and she told me to raise Buddy's dose to 7u and if he got over 13u, we would need to change his insulin. She said she had not seen Acro that much and for me to change Buddy's dose.
 
The pharmacy was local to where I live not an on line pharmacy. My vet sent in the perscription direct to the pharmacy, they called me as I had to pre-pay before they would make it.
I tagged @Susan G & Jimmy G and she can probably tell you how she went about getting the testing done. You do still need your vet or a vet to draw the blood, she just took care of shipping it.
She called MSU directly I believe on specific instructions. MSU's number is 517-353-1683 - Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory
tests- Insulin Autoantibody
Insulin Like Growth Factor-1

Best of luck!
@Teresa & Buddy I had the same experience as you but with 3 vets telling me he didn't need to get tested for Acro/IAA. Finally I just called the closest vet to me, emailed them the form from MSU (which has instructions for the vet i.e. how much, etc) and asked if they would just draw the blood. They agreed to do it for $35. The day I went in I was armed with the paperwork https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe
https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe , and the submission form https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Forms/F.ADM.7.pdf , a microfiber towel, a ziplock back to put the samples in, and 3 ice packs. They gave me the two blood samples and off I went directly to UPS (recommended carrier of MSU). I rolled the samples in the towel, and put it in the ziploc bag along with the check, the submission form, and the info sheet (both links above) for each test, stuffed a UPS box with some bubble wrap and shipped it overnight for 8am delivery (cost $125). Then....I waited one week.

Before doing all this - I called MSU (517) 353-1683 (spoke with Jenna, but anyone who answers will help you) and told them exactly what I was doing and she said fine. She explained the only difference between doing it ourselves and having a vet do it - is that they can't give results over the phone and will have to mail you the results. But in her next breath she told me to call back the following week and they can email me the results. So that's what I did. They also send them hard copy via US mail. I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions...and go with your gut.
 
@Teresa & Buddy I had the same experience as you but with 3 vets telling me he didn't need to get tested for Acro/IAA. Finally I just called the closest vet to me, emailed them the form from MSU (which has instructions for the vet i.e. how much, etc) and asked if they would just draw the blood. They agreed to do it for $35. The day I went in I was armed with the paperwork https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe
https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe , and the submission form https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Forms/F.ADM.7.pdf , a microfiber towel, a ziplock back to put the samples in, and 3 ice packs. They gave me the two blood samples and off I went directly to UPS (recommended carrier of MSU). I rolled the samples in the towel, and put it in the ziploc bag along with the check, the submission form, and the info sheet (both links above) for each test, stuffed a UPS box with some bubble wrap and shipped it overnight for 8am delivery (cost $125). Then....I waited one week.

Before doing all this - I called MSU (517) 353-1683 (spoke with Jenna, but anyone who answers will help you) and told them exactly what I was doing and she said fine. She explained the only difference between doing it ourselves and having a vet do it - is that they can't give results over the phone and will have to mail you the results. But in her next breath she told me to call back the following week and they can email me the results. So that's what I did. They also send them hard copy via US mail. I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions...and go with your gut.
Thank you, I will write this all down. Is your kitty taking any meds for Acro and if so how did you get them.
 
Thank you, I will write this all down. Is your kitty taking any meds for Acro and if so how did you get them.
Hi, you do have to get the cabegoline from a compound pharmacy as they need to make it in liquid. For Marvin, if I had gone with the pill, he would only have needed 1/8th of a pill per day, which pharmacy confirmed impossible to cut it that small. What I did was as the compound pharmacy for a quote, so that I knew how much it would be.

As for Marvin, as Wendy said most acro kitties will not show any symptoms. Marvin did have some, and like Michelle, something was telling me that what he had. I didn't wait, as soon as he got to 6U I started looking into it, long story short, due to issues with the IM vet, my vet agreed to get the test done for me. Marvin was dx with diabetes in March of this year.
 
Thank you, I will write this all down. Is your kitty taking any meds for Acro and if so how did you get them.
No. We've made the decision to manage his diabetes the best we can. I explain more here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-24-jimmys-igf-1-221.182876/

Jimmy eats a species appropriate diet and despite the high numbers for several weeks now...behavior wise and outward physically is doing OK. The only physical challenge he has right now is he has either has megacolon or chronic constipation. Monday I have a phone consult with Realm of Caring to discuss Charlotte's Web Hemp and how it may help him. I think I had mentioned this to you or someone else recently-it has proven success with some kitties that have pancreatic flare ups, IBD, arthritis, nausea, and a slew of other things that may be ailing our kitties including anti-tumour properties.

That's kinda where we are right now...seeking that good dose to keep him at least under the renal threshold.
 
I don't know if I can afford the mediciation, insulin, test strips and everything that goes along with having a diabetic cat.
Teresa, if you really get in a bind, there is an organization that can help - DCIN (Diabetic Cats in Need). If you get to the point where you find you can't afford the insulin and supplies, please send a PM to @Chris & China. She works with DCIN and will tell you how to apply for help.

If you do get the tests, Buddy is positive and you decide to try Cabergoline, call your local compounding pharmacy for a quote, then check with diamondbackdrugs.com. They are a compounding pharmacy in Arizona and they often can beat the prices charged by others. Lots of people here use them.

Sorry to hijack your condo, Michelle! Paws are crossed here that Beenie continues to SLOWLY come down the dosing ladder.
 
@Teresa & Buddy I had the same experience as you but with 3 vets telling me he didn't need to get tested for Acro/IAA. Finally I just called the closest vet to me, emailed them the form from MSU (which has instructions for the vet i.e. how much, etc) and asked if they would just draw the blood. They agreed to do it for $35. The day I went in I was armed with the paperwork https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe
https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe , and the submission form https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Forms/F.ADM.7.pdf , a microfiber towel, a ziplock back to put the samples in, and 3 ice packs. They gave me the two blood samples and off I went directly to UPS (recommended carrier of MSU). I rolled the samples in the towel, and put it in the ziploc bag along with the check, the submission form, and the info sheet (both links above) for each test, stuffed a UPS box with some bubble wrap and shipped it overnight for 8am delivery (cost $125). Then....I waited one week.

Before doing all this - I called MSU (517) 353-1683 (spoke with Jenna, but anyone who answers will help you) and told them exactly what I was doing and she said fine. She explained the only difference between doing it ourselves and having a vet do it - is that they can't give results over the phone and will have to mail you the results. But in her next breath she told me to call back the following week and they can email me the results. So that's what I did. They also send them hard copy via US mail. I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions...and go with your gut.
Thank you, so much for the information. I really appreciate your reply. I am going to look into all of this unless I have a miracle, I will go the same route as you for testing. Sorry, it took me so long to reply.
 
Teresa, if you really get in a bind, there is an organization that can help - DCIN (Diabetic Cats in Need). If you get to the point where you find you can't afford the insulin and supplies, please send a PM to @Chris & China. She works with DCIN and will tell you how to apply for help.

If you do get the tests, Buddy is positive and you decide to try Cabergoline, call your local compounding pharmacy for a quote, then check with diamondbackdrugs.com. They are a compounding pharmacy in Arizona and they often can beat the prices charged by others. Lots of people here use them.

Sorry to hijack your condo, Michelle! Paws are crossed here that Beenie continues to SLOWLY come down the dosing ladder.
Thank you, very much.
 
Keeping our paws crossed for Beenie also!!

I just posted the question about Cabergoline in pill form, but hearing that it needs to be liquid. Thank you! Sleep well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top