9/7 Smokey PMPS 139/128 NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmokeyD

Member Since 2011
Last night http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51706

Morning LL! I haven't had my ~O) ~O) ~O) yet and really need it this morning. I was up several times with Smokers last night. His PMPS last night was low for us (not too low by any stretch) and I was worried about giving inuslin. I confirmed that he was on the rise and gave him the full 2U. I got up several times last night to make sure that we didn't drop too low and he did beautifully. We got down into the 130's!!! Yay Smokers! I just hope this doesn't cause another bounce.

Smokey is still trying to cough up a furball. I'm going to stop and get some fish oil caplets tonight and give him one over his food and see what happens. I've tried butter and Vaseline and he doesn't like either.

Last night I did catch him batting at the pull cord for the miniblinds. Something I've never seen him do but he seemed to be having a great time! Progress!!
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247

Good morning! Smokey is looking good this morning. So glad he just surfed for you last night. Those up every couple of hours nights are tough on us beans. Hope you get some rest today or at least a lot of ~O) ~O) ~O) .

Great to hear that he is playing and feeling good. It is sooooo nice when they start doing things they did before being sick.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247

Hi guys .. not a bad start at all for smokey .. Getting up through the night is rough, but you just have to think of it as more data .. the more you know :-D I hope smokey does well on the furball meds .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247

+10 181
+12 139/128

DO I SHOOT?
Looks like he is dropping... test again in 20 min?
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247, +10 181, PMPS 139/128 PLEASE ADVIS

Will test 7:40pm CST and post
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247, +10 181, PMPS 139/128 PLEASE ADVIS

7:40 122

Still dropping. Smokey seems happy as a lark. I've got high carb and food ready to go if I need it. I'm really not sure what's happening here...
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247, +10 181, PMPS 139/128 PLEASE ADVIS

Here is information and guidelines for deciding what to do when presented with a low (for your cat) PS-
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

From that sticky-
IF YOU'RE A NEWBIE (without much data) the FDMB FAQ section 4.4 applies:

Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?

A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise. In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine. Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.

Keep in mind that these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's reactions to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then your experience should be your guide.
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247, +10 181, PMPS 139/128 PLEASE ADVIS

Thanks for reminding me of that Sandy. I think the plan will be to wait for a few hours- checking every 20-30 min. If it is not going up by 9.30 we're going to skip a shot and see where that lands us tomorrow. Thanks for being here! Hopefully this will be an uneventful night!
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247, +10 181, PMPS 139/128 PLEASE ADVIS

What time did you shoot last night and this morning?

Also, if you stall a couple of hours tonight, will you be able to shoot 12 hours later tomorrow AM? I would re-test in no more than 30 min.

FWIW, those aren't dropping numbers. They are all pretty much the same. Remember, there's up to 20% variance due to the meter. Your 139 is really a range from 111 to 167.
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247, +10 181, PMPS 139/128 PLEASE ADVIS

I did stall last nights shot but only by about 20 min. I wasn't home to get a reading prior to PMPS. So when it came back a 161 I didn't know if we were going up or coming down. I tested 20 min later and we were at 178- going up so I gave the shot at around 7:20 (only about 15 min late). This morning I knew we were coming up as I tested throughout the night and shot at 7:10 am.

He just ate almost an ounce of FF and I just tested. To recap

5.30 pm 181
7.20 139 (PMPS time)
7.25 128
7. 40 122
7.45 fed 1oz FF classic
8.15 130

Looks like we're skipping this shot and are going to have another eventful night!
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247, +10 181, PMPS 139/128 PLEASE ADVIS

Sienne- you were right! Flat yellow curves at 1.75U leads to excitement at 2U! ;-)
 
Re: 9/7 Smokey AMPS 247, +10 181, PMPS 139/128 PLEASE ADVIS

I think that executive decision made to skip the shot. Will keep checking for potential drops though. Gave Smokers his second dinner.... I was hoping for sleep tonight but I suppose that is not to be!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top