9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Dosing opinions??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunky's Mom

Member Since 2014
Well. . . . today Skunky dropped to her lowest ever.

She got her shot at 1030 ET and I went back to sleep :-(
at 2:09, so +3.5, I checked her and she was 48. She had eaten all her food I gave her when I gave her her AM shot (which is rare these days, she's always leaving food. Low carb low phosphorous food sucks, apparently ;-)
I checked two more times and the number kept getting lower 42 then 39. This is not within meter variance, so that bugs me.It's really close, but just over 20% Second test 3 mintues after, different blood drop. Next one, same drop - i think - one minute later.

Since it was daytime I was mellow with feeding a bit of high carb gravy and a touch of high carb, and then her regular food. She's almost at +6 now so I need to go check her again.

Ok, so - is it time to reduce to 0.1 unit? Or should we stay at .25 and see - maybe her depot is still affecting her? Her first .25 shot on the reducie was Saturday morning.

Here's yesterday/last night's action: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124844

Last night, I started pumping some high carb to her when she was 50 at +2. I know I gave her crunchy treats. I must have given her some regular high carb because there is an open can of it. Apparently, my sleep deprivation was catching up with me. I slept til 1:30 p.m. today. YIKES!
I guess I wasn't up for playing around with teaspoons :twisted:
I got her up quickly, at 74 at +4, 92 at +5, and a whopping freaking 100 at +6.
I was worried that I could have screwed up by letting her get that high. I hope not.
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Reduce???

+6, 71. Kind of interesting that it is the highest number of the cycle. Hrmmmmm
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Reduce???

This is a real judgement call. There could still be some carryover from the depot at your 0.5u dose. Looking at Skunky's numbers, though, I think you can give a reduction to 0.1u a try. If it looks like the reduction isn't holding, bring the dose back to 0.25u. There are photos of what a 0.1u dose looks like in the New to the Group sticky.
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Reduce???

Thanks Sienne!

I sure would like a decent night's sleep tonight. I definitely don't want to mess up her momentum, though.
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Dosing opinio

you're really close to doing an OTJ trial.

i'd probably reduce to 0.1u.

i do want to add that anytime she goes below 50, break out the gravy, give a teaspoon and then recheck every 20 minutes or so, depending on how long it takes to get into her system. you don't want to become complacent and let her go more than 30 minutes without rechecking her. then when she's over 50, keep rechecking every 30 minutes until there have been at least 2 tests (1 hour) of rising numbers AFTER you've stopped giving food. You want to make sure she's past her nadir and holding her blood sugar up before you stop testing her.

The details are in the Low Numbers sticky, but i especially want to emphasize the part about how numbers can bobble around and go back down, so you have to stick with her. Looks like you don't have much longer to do this, but you want to keep her safe, especially now.
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Dosing opinio

Thank you Julie!

I tried the thing with the push it all the way in and let the vaccum draw it out, just playing around, and it seemed to work so. . . I guess that's what we're doing!

I'll keep posting (of course!) and we'll see if she starts getting too high.
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Dosing opinio

Congrats on the reducie! How exciting this is!! Sending safe surfing vines and paws crossed that she holds the reduction! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Dosing opinio

Thanks Tricia!

It is SOOO exciting. . . . and I'm glad for the good news since I just lost my awesome babysitter and am a bit bummed about that.

HOwever. . . . she just tested 93 at 11.5.

Does this change anybody's opinions? I'm really shocked she's that high.
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Dosing opinio

That 93 is beautiful!! I would still go with the reducie. If it doesn't hold, you can always take the dose back up, but with that 48, I'd give the reduction a go.
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Dosing opinio

Yes! Thanks Amy.

I can't stop saying "reducie!"

it's such a fun word. And I'm so silly :lol:
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Dosing opinio

:lol: it's the little things that make life special, isn't it?! REDUCIE!!!! :-D

one thing to be aware of - sometimes if a cat is ready to go off of insulin, instead of going low, they'll have an inverted curve, more like a n than a u or --.

for example, if Skunky starts the day with a 65 and is 90 at +6, then falls to 60 at pmps, we're going to start wondering if the 0.1u is too much. as long as it's flat throughout the cycle, or there is a slight U curve like she had today, no problem. but after you reduce to 0.1u, we'll be watching for either flat ------ or a slight u, not a n.
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Dosing opinio

Thanks, Julie. Boy. . . that's weird! I would have never thought of that!
 
Re: 9/7 Skunky AMPS 89; +3.5 48 +4 68, +4.5 58 Dosing opinio

I sure am glad that we took the reducie tonight.

I just went upstairs to do her +2 and saw the brand new pack of test strips strewn out. The pack we bought last night to replace the ones my daughter dumped out yesterday. Dangit. I can't believe she did that. I don't even know how she had the opportunity. grrrr.

I had to stick Skunky 3 times and use 5 strips to get one reading :evil:

+2, 91
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top