9/7 Opinion on Cher's SS Readings, please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jancol & Cher

Member Since 2017
Tested Cher's AMPS on the AlphaTrak = 40.1
Tested again straight away = 36.8
Tested straight away again = 35.7

Is this within the 20% variance range?
 
Thank you for confirming ... I have no idea how to calculate the variances.

Would it be possible for someone to have a look at Cher's SS to give an opinion on what might be going on with her levels please.

I sent through two curves to her vet yesterday and she advised me to wait until we see a more consistent trend. She said to do another curve next week. She commented that her levels were quite varied between 31st August and 3rd September.

Any feedback would be welcome from members, please.
 
She certainly bounces to very high numbers but her recent lows are blues and that tells me you have room to increase her dose.
 
She certainly bounces to very high numbers but her recent lows are blues and that tells me you have room to increase her dose.
I think that the high numbers are not solely bouncing but also a result of skipped shots.

It looks like the 4u was too much, but it is possible that the 1u reduction was a bit heavy handed, she may well need more insulin. (We usually change dose in 0.25u increments) that said, the 3u did get her to 112 at pmps(7cycles ago) getting to a lower than usual number likely triggered a bounce, and that combined with the skipped shot resulted in the higher numbers.

Since she is fairly new to blues I'd be inclined to hold on to the dose for now. Even if you were following TR I think I'd hold for at least 8 cycles. Those last blues you got are just 6 cycles following a skipped shot, as lantus is a depot insulin when you skip a shot this drains the depot and it can take 6 cycles for you to start to see the full effect of the dose.


She commented that her levels were quite varied between 31st August and 3rd September.

Skipped shots, dose changes during this period messes with the depot and can result in wonky numbers. Every time you make a dose change, or skip a shot this affects the size of the depot, it can take up to 6cycles for the depot to stabilise.

Ideally as you gather enough data you'll become ready to shoot more consistently, those of us that follow TR will, for the most part shoot anything over 50 (68 on the alphatrak), and on SLGS anything over 90 (human meter).

It's something that you would build up to, and ideally have someone experienced guide you through. In the meantime though I would read the stickies on shooting and handling low numbers, forewarned is forearmed.

Any reason you are making dose changes in 1u steps? That's a big dose change, it makes it easy to miss a good dose which can result in kitty being overdosed when you are taking the dose up, or conversely see kitty run in unnecessarily high numbers because the dose is taken down too low. Most of us use syringes with 1/2 unit markings this allows us to accurately increase/decrease dose in 0.25u steps.
 
I think that the high numbers are not solely bouncing but also a result of skipped shots.

It looks like the 4u was too much, but it is possible that the 1u reduction was a bit heavy handed, she may well need more insulin. (We usually change dose in 0.25u increments) that said, the 3u did get her to 112 at pmps(7cycles ago) getting to a lower than usual number likely triggered a bounce, and that combined with the skipped shot resulted in the higher numbers.

Since she is fairly new to blues I'd be inclined to hold on to the dose for now. Even if you were following TR I think I'd hold for at least 8 cycles. Those last blues you got are just 6 cycles following a skipped shot, as lantus is a depot insulin when you skip a shot this drains the depot and it can take 6 cycles for you to start to see the full effect of the dose.




Skipped shots, dose changes during this period messes with the depot and can result in wonky numbers. Every time you make a dose change, or skip a shot this affects the size of the depot, it can take up to 6cycles for the depot to stabilise.

Ideally as you gather enough data you'll become ready to shoot more consistently, those of us that follow TR will, for the most part shoot anything over 50 (68 on the alphatrak), and on SLGS anything over 90 (human meter).

It's something that you would build up to, and ideally have someone experienced guide you through. In the meantime though I would read the stickies on shooting and handling low numbers, forewarned is forearmed.

Any reason you are making dose changes in 1u steps? That's a big dose change, it makes it easy to miss a good dose which can result in kitty being overdosed when you are taking the dose up, or conversely see kitty run in unnecessarily high numbers because the dose is taken down too low. Most of us use syringes with 1/2 unit markings this allows us to accurately increase/decrease dose in 0.25u steps.
 
Thank you for your response ...

The 1u reduction was as per the Vet. At the time, I wanted to suggest to her to reduce by .5u but I felt she would think I was questioning her judgement. In hindsight though, next time I will suggest that I would feel more comfortable with a .25u reduction.

So, tomorrow I should look at maybe increasing by .25u?

I have printed out the sticky notes and the hypo tool box notes plus I have collected the suggested items, but being forewarned and forearmed does not make me feel confidant .... it's still scary!

Thank you again ....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top