9/7 Noodle AMPS 276 +4 283 PMPS 300 No progress!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
In looking back over Noodle's SS for the past few weeks, I am puzzled why he seems to have pretty much as many yellows on the smaller doses as on the more recent higher doses. But he never really seems to break out of the high 200s-low 300s. On the positive side, his eating is not ravenous any more, and drinking and peeing are normal. His behavior, playing and grooming are great. The ketones have been negative for a few days. If I didn't know he was diabetic and had no test strips or BG meters, I wouldn't think anything was wrong with him. But I am very confused as to why all his "clinical signs" are fine but the BG numbers won't budge. Any thoughts or advice would be much appreciated. I'm frustrated beyond belief! Thanks so much.

Christi
 
hi christi!

actually, i see a lot of progress.

if you step back a bit of distance from the spreadsheet, look how the upper part of it has an overall pink look, and then there is a distinct change at 9/2 where it's now a yellow look, even with one spot of blue in the middle.

you just haven't gotten to the right dose yet. it's really common to not see much progress until you hit the Just Right Dose, the one that finally moves things. until then, the ss look you've got is common. and then, for whatever reason, when you finally get to the good dose, you'll begin to see progress.

Moving along methodically, adjusting the dose as frequently as the protocol suggests, is the best course. Right now, you've got 8 cycles at 2.25 with nadirs mostly in the 200-300 yellow range. In this range, you could've increased after 6 cycles (highlighted below). It's helpful to increase the dose on time so you avoid developing Glucose Toxicity, which develops from a cat staying in high numbers too long and having their body begin to perceive that as normal.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Hang in there - there are no quick fixes with feline diabetes, but Noodle will get there!
 
Hi Julie,
Thank you for your objective look and assessment of Noodle's SS. I guess I'm just discouraged but I am relieved to hear that Noodle's numbers are pretty normal for a cat still in the process of reaching the ideal dose. Every time I see a pink it just plummets my hope. I wish I had more faith in the glucose meters. I had to change meters last week and am afraid that that might be giving me a different result. When I finally get the control solution, which had to be ordered from the manufacturer, maybe I can get reassurance on that point. I originally planned to raise Noodle today to 2.5 but had to be gone all day with my mom's illness and wanted to be home to monitor Noodle for safety. But I will go to 2.5 with tomorrow's morning dose.
Thanks so much for your response and encouragement that I'm on the right track. Sometimes it feels like Noodle and I are just stuck and can't get out of first gear :?

Christi
 
I agree with Julie.....You just haven't got to Noodles best dose yet

Tonight's pink (and it's just barely pink) was his first pink in 12 cycles! Before that, he was pink more than anything else, so that's definitely progress!

Don't stress out about the meter...If you were getting really wonky numbers that didn't make any sense whatsoever, that might be something we'd think about, but his numbers are perfectly normal ....He just needs a little more juice

Hang in there Christi! He really is making progress!

Remember, this is a marathon, not a sprint. It's going to take some time.
 
I Dont know if anyone has said this yet, feline diabetes is a marathon and not a sprint. I have also found that 1+1 dose not always equal 2.
Hang in there, you are not alone.
 
Hi there :cool:

It is a marathon, like the others have said.
I know how baffling and frustrating it can be. I went through it too.
Our journey was long - BK crossed from newly diagnosed into the land of long term diabetic along the way.

Take a look at BKs ss.

A relentless sea of pink for nearly 10 months and plenty of intermittent returning waves until about the 17 month point
He did not taste HC until we were 11 months into our dance.

It was 6 months before BK saw a green number - that's no typo - 6 months. It was 08/06/2008 and lasted 3 hours.
The next time he saw green was 09/23/2008, 6 weeks or so later, his lantus dose at the time was 12.5u.
I just hated that BK had the highest dose in all of LL . . . 8 months and nothing really to show for it except 2 green cells on the entire ss . .
it really was so very very discouraging. . .

Sometime in Oct of 2008, we had him tested for Acro - and much to everyone's surprise, it came back negative.
In a last ditch effort to find answers, we had him tested for a little known condition - IAA.
Bingo. We had the answer to why BK was such a 'big gulper'

However, there were no other know kitties at FDMB who ever tested for IAA , there was not a protocol.
Even the wise ones of the day were at a loss. It was pretty much 'seat of our pants'

We persisted, persevered. . .and eventually prevailed.
After 21 months, the last cat anyone would have thought would go OTJ (and that's no exaggeration) did just that.
It was quite the celebration :cool:

Black Kitty is proof that with the help of the LL community miracles can happen.
 
Hi Sandy and Black Kitty,
Wow--I was blown away when I read what a long and uphill climb you and Black Kitty have been through over all those months. And to think that he made it OTJ! That IS a miracle!
I must say, you had a lot more patience and perseverance than I seem to have. I'm a real lightweight to be freaking out after 7 weeks on Lantus! :o I am so glad you told me your story in detail; it really puts things in perspective for me. Thank you. :smile:
Compared to BK I guess 2.5 U is not that big a dose after all!
Thank you so much for your continuing help. When I get discouraged, I'm going to re-read your post!

Christi
 
Hi Chris and China,
Thanks so much for your encouragement! You know how they say sometimes you can't see the forest for the trees? Probably since I see all those pinks staring me in the face I can't focus on anything else. :? I'm so glad experienced forum members like you can look at Noodle's SS and see some hope. That encourages me. I guess I won't win any awards for patience ;-)
I'm following the advice I get here and will just continue gradually raising Noodle's dose till we hit the ideal. In the meantime his bean will try to remember we're in a marathon, not a sprint.
Thanks so much for your help!

Christi
 
Hi Darin and Charlie,
Thanks so much for your words of encouragement. Maybe if enough people remind me that FD isn't a sprint, maybe it'll sink into this thick skull and I'll develop some patience :?
I don't know what I would do without the help and support of the people on this forum and I really appreciate your response to my post. Thanks so much!

Christi
 
i think you're seeing some New Dose Wonkinesstoday.

BK's story is pretty amazing, isn't it?!

Tomorrow would you start a new post, please? We ask everyone to start a new one every day so they don't get too long and cumbersome. In the meantime, I'm sending "come down now" vibes to mr noodle! :-D :-D
 
We just wanted to stop in and cheer on Noodle for his dosecrease tomorrow. Work that juice Noodle!!!!
Hang in there Christi, this is one great dance :-D
 
Hi Julie,
Thanks for the "come down now" vibes! Noodle sends a big wet kiss. :razz:
Yes, sorry, will start a new post tomorrow--I know they get out of hand and hard to plow through.
Thanks for your ongoing help and advice! I need to remember about the NDW!

Christi
 
Hi Kim and Twice,
How nice of you to be rooting for Noodle! That is so thoughtful!
I took a peek at Twice's SS and never saw so many glorious greens, then that Twice was OTJ. That is so great. And gives me hope :smile:
Thanks so much for cheering us on!

Christi and Noodle
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top