9/7 Myrtle PMPS 10.7 (192.6) not allowed to eat - skip dose?

Myrtlesmum

Member Since 2017
Myrtle is having her dental tomorrow. Vet said to give her half an insulin dose tonight and she is not to eat from 8pm. Her PMPS is just 10.7 (192.6) her normal dose is only about half a unit so I would need to give her a quarter (hard to estimate with my current syringes). If I have shot when she is this low I have made sure she has had snacks every few hours so her BG wouldn't drop too low. I'm thinking of just skipping the dose entirely tonight if she can't eat. Thoughts? Thanks!
 
It is usual to give a 1/2 dose of insulin before an op such as a dental.
You can feed her now (8pm) with a good feed, yes?
When is the insulin due?
To get the 1/4 unit divide the 1 unit space by 4 and just go up to the 1st 1/4
However, it is up to you to do what you are most comfortable with.
Myrtle has no history of ketones or DKA has she?
 
Hi Bron. No Ketones or DKA. The half unit syringes haven't arrived yet so I'm still trying to estimate half and quarter doses. I'm looking at yesterday's numbers on the spreadsheet where she started in the morning with 11.5 and ended the day on 8.5. Nadir would probably have been quite low as her numbers start to climb back up by the 12 hour mark and that would have been with her having regular snacks throughout the day. I think I'll play it safe and not give a shot.... I hate these situations, if she could eat I would have given her shot and made sure she had something to eat around the 4-5 hour mark (she gets hungry about then) - and having said that I don't want her hungry around midnight from the drop in BG and then her whining until morning! I think I will skip the dose.
 
Hi Bron. No Ketones or DKA. The half unit syringes haven't arrived yet so I'm still trying to estimate half and quarter doses. I'm looking at yesterday's numbers on the spreadsheet where she started in the morning with 11.5 and ended the day on 8.5. Nadir would probably have been quite low as her numbers start to climb back up by the 12 hour mark and that would have been with her having regular snacks throughout the day. I think I'll play it safe and not give a shot.... I hate these situations, if she could eat I would have given her shot and made sure she had something to eat around the 4-5 hour mark (she gets hungry about then) - and having said that I don't want her hungry around midnight from the drop in BG and then her whining until morning! I think I will skip the dose.
Ok, if you are going to skip the shot, I would test for ketones to be on the safe side. 8pm sounds early to stop food if she is not being done for at least 12 or so hours. Is Myrtle being done early in the morning?
 
I agree Bron. I'm sure last time she could eat up until midnight (different vet same practice but the usual vet is away for a month). I questioned the vet nurse this morning and mentioned how Myrtle is diabetic - she went away and asked and said no - maybe I could stretch it to 9pm tops. She isn't getting done first thing because I was told I could drop her off between 8am-10.30am so I'm assuming she won't be done until well after 10.30 - the way this practice works I wouldn't be surprised if she doesn't get done until early afternoon....... They will put her on IV fluids though.
 
That is a long time to leave her without food. I'm surprised they don't do her first seeing she is a diabetic.
When you drop her off I would mention again she is diabetic and it is not good to leave a diabetic cat without food and insulin for long.
Please let us know how she gets on.
 
Back
Top