9/7 Jupiter BG/64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=103871


Jupiter has been acting so miserable having to wear his cone so frequently. In the evenings I have been sitting on the floor with Jupiter to let him have some play time. I have been giving him catnip and a few toys and I take off the cone and sit there and play with him until he acts like he doesn’t want to play anymore, and then I put his cone back on. He seems to be happy having this special play time.

My 3 furbabies know that they are not allowed on the coffee table, and pretty much never go on it. However, the past few nights after I fall asleep Jupiter has been going up on the coffee table. When I woke up this morning he was standing on the coffee table just looking at me. As I was falling asleep the other night (the coffee table was a mess and a lot of stuff on it) he went up there and just laid down on the table even with all the clutter on it… laid right on top the clutter. So I picked him up and put him in bed with me (coffee table is right next to my bed) and he did it again so again I put him in bed. He didn’t do it again immediately after that but he was laying there in the morning. I am not sure what is causing this behavior. He has been doing this the past 3 days. He doesn’t go on the coffee table while I am awake, only when I am sleeping (or falling asleep), and the one night he went up there and sat and just meowed (til I woke up and picked him up off the table). Its just a really unusual behavior for him.


Going to focus on planning instead of worrying, can you all please help me with this?
Instead of focusing on all the unknowns and my worries regarding Jupiters amputation surgery I want to focus on planning and getting ready for his surgery. So each day I am going to pick one of the questions listed below and in that days condo, I would love any input and ideas regarding that days question. I really think this will help me get through each day until his surgery. If you could all help me focus my attention at the question at hand, I would really appreciate it. This way I will spend less time worrying and more time planning. I know this probably seems really silly, but I think it will be a good way to focus my energy on anything but constantly worrying.

These are not in order but I will pick one question a day to focus on and would love any input and ideas. Please only give ideas for that 1 question so I will have a question to focus on each day. :-D

1. Questions to ask the vet before and after surgery? Questions to ask the oncologist?
2. How to distract Jupiter the night before surgery? I know he is going to be miserable not being able to eat after 6pm and will be on the search for food.
3. Any ideas on how to make Jupiter more comfortable after surgery? Things I can do to spoil him even more & make him happy?
4. Any ideas of what I can do for the 24 hour period that Jupiter is at the vet for? I want to keep myself distracted as possible as I know I am going to be worried out of my mind that day.
5. A list of items to take to the vet with us & a list of items to have here and ready for when Jupiter comes home?
(and if you guys have any other ideas for topics that you think could be something for me to think about and plan - please feel free to let me know :-D )


So today’s question is: Questions to ask the vet before and after surgery? Questions to ask the oncologist?



Once again I want to say thanks to LLEF for doing the fundraiser for Jupiter. Thank you everyone for being here for Jupiter & I, and supporting us through these difficult weeks. Thank you for your generosity in helping to pay for Jupiter’s surgery. This LL family is so amazing and we are so blessed to be a part of it.


Hope all of Marje’s furbabies and Kat’s Gobbles are feeling all better!
My prayers and thoughts are with Jill. Fly free sweet Charlie
Comforting thoughts and prayers for Barb
 
I bet Jupiter really does enjoy that special play time. Maybe him climbing on the coffee table is just a new way to be close to you since things are different for him with having to wear the cone. I think you have a good plan for focusing on questions instead of worrying.

I think someone mentioned this in a previous condo, I would ask the vet what time he is going to do the actual surgery. You may be able to feed Jupiter later than 6:00 if you find out the surgery isn't first thing in the morning. I would make sure to tell the vet you will feed him later if you are going to so they are aware of it.

After the surgery make sure you find out how soon he can eat and drink and how much food you should give him so he won't get sick.

I don't want to worry you, but I had a cat that had surgery and the night I took him home he bleed a little from his stitches. It was nothing really and didn't cause a problem, but it scared me because I wasn't prepared for it to happen. But you might want to find out what the vet says to do if this happens to Jupiter. It's better to ask ahead of time and it not happen then to not be prepared if it does.
 
Thanks Carla. Those are all great ideas... and I wouldnt have thought about asking about the bleeding thing so I am glad you mentioned it. I will ask about that, and I do agree being prepared for that will be a lot better,it will eliminate a lot of panic (cause I for sure would be scared if he was bleeding and I didnt know its normal) - it will be nice to know what to do and whats normal with the bleeding.
 
Jamie, I can't think of anything, sorry. I always think of a lot of questions when I get back home. This is a very good idea of you to ask in advance. I just wanted to say we are sending so many healing vines and hope the surgery goes very smooth.

Have a good day!
 
G' Afternoon from a Broiling North Hollywood - fourth day over 103

Jamie - I think your plan is an excellent one. It will keep you in the moment, which of course, is the only time you can really do anything. But it will also help you to plan ahead and know you've done all you can do.

I'd ask the vet if he (she) has any recommendations re: modifying Jupiter's litter box, food and water bowls to make them more accessible to him. If they've done this surgery before I'm sure these questions have come up before.

I'd want to know if the pressure of walking or leaning on his stump during the first few days after surgery might compromise the wound site. Should Jupiter be encouraged to be quiet or encouraged to move about as soon as he's out of the anesthetic (sp?) fog?

I'd want to know what the normal healing stages are for this type of surgery and what to look for if a problem might be brewing.

I'd also want to know about the meds I'd need to give him after, but I think you've already got that covered.

Hmmmm..... probably think of something else soon as I sign off.

Sending love;

Shai and the Pirate Fitz (GA)
 
Thanks for the healing vines for Jupe's surgery!


Good news - Deb&Spot (and possibly Dian & Wheezer) are coming here tomorrow to bring the crate for us to borrow for after Jupiter's surgery!
 
Say Hi to Deb and Dian for me.

I would ask them what kinds of bowls you can use so that he can wear his cone even while eating and drinking.

That's all I can think of right now.
 
I know some of these things have already been mentioned. Things I might want to ask the vet:

Is he aware that the oncologist wants the entire leg sent for biopsy, and will he send a post-op report to the oncologist.

Can you leave his food and blanket there (don't leave anything that you worry about losing)?

You will likely have to sign a release form. Make sure that they have all of your contact numbers so that they can get in touch with you right away if there is an emergency.

When should you expect to hear from them post-op, can you visit him, when should you expect to pick him up?

When will they need to see him back for a recheck?

What can you expect to see during his recovery? What is normal to expect, and what are abnormal things (e.g. swelling) that you should be on the lookout for?

What care is needed at home? Crate confinement, exercise restriction, wearing the collar, bandage changes, etc. How long does he need these things?

What level of pain should you anticipate, and what meds will they send home with you (tell them you prefer Buprenorphine). Make sure you know what dose to give, and how long you need to keep giving it. Tell them if you already have some at home.
What other meds will he be on?

For the oncologist:

Did they receive a report on the surgery?

Did they receive a report on the biopsies?

When do they expect to be able to start chemo?

What sort of tests would they have to do before chemo starts?

What sort of chemo protocol and schedule are they considering?
 
Hi Jamie,

I can't think of any other questions, but wanted you to know that I am sending positive vines to you and Jupe. You are doing such a great job with all that has been piled on your plate. Jupiter is lucky to have you and I know you feel the same. I am praying for the best outcome for you all!

Jane
 
Jamie, I have been so absent lately from my condo rounds that I did not know about Jupiter's impending surgery. Sending great big ole smooth-sailing surgery vines and fast-healing vines and cancer-go-away vines for Jupiter and comfort vines to you. I can't think of any questions for the vet that haven't already been listed. Sending you virtual hugs and TONS of prayers and vines and **scritches** for Jupe! :YMHUG:
 
Hi Jamie,

I love this approach - a question a day to focus on. It's a great idea!

I don't have any additional suggestions to today's question.

Thinking good thoughts for you and Jupe!
 
I thought of one more:

Should you give his Prozac normally the day before / day of surgery. Should you bring his Prozac pills to the hospital?
 
I normally give him his prozac between 11am and noon. I have to drop him off at the vet at 8:30 so I figured he wouldnt be able to get his prozac that day..... but, I will be sure to find out.

Thank you all so much for you input!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top