9/7 Julia AMPS 102 PMPS 122

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last Post

We must first start by sending prayers and hugs to Jill with the loss of sweet Charlie and Barb with the loss of sweet Checkers. Sending healing vines and prayers to beans and kitties in need, especially Jamie and Jupiter as they go through this most difficult and stressful time.

If you want to read a silly tale in frustration, keep going lol.

We're still on the F0.25 and I thought we were making some slight progress, even having our first evening in the greens this past Tuesday. Then Thursday I started to notice that Jules wasn't dropping like she would usually, aside from clearing bounces of course. She might go 30 points down in the cycle from whatever number she started with. The numbers aren't bad but I did notice this. I thought it could be a 72-hr bounce kind-of-deal (she is my little Tigger) but she was at 98 yesterday. Then I realized the insulin may be (pardon the language) crapping out. This is entirely possible because this dumb bean has done something a few mornings that's a no-no. When filling the syringe I overfill and then squirt extra into the air of course. However, if I squirt out too much I stuck the same syringe back in. I told myself I shouldn't but I absolutely had no time before work or I'd be really late some days, so I did it knowing the insulin might poop out sooner and I'd just get new insulin once I noticed things weren't going as well. I noticed this number's thing going on so, I called the vet for a new prescription and picked it up last night. The first time we got a vial because we couldn't find a pharmacy that would break apart the packs of pens. I brought the scrip to the same pharmacy and son-of-a-gun the price went up $50 per vial! I was talking to the pharmacist (maybe it was a different one than before - Mom went so I don't know) and she was so nice to check everything for me and it turns out the price they pay for the insulin went up. She started telling me about the pens and I asked about getting one. As it turns out she breaks the packs up for humans and has no problem selling me one at a time. She even calculated the savings for the amount of insulin and money for pen vs. vial, with pen being a better deal. It pays to talk and make nice with people, as my Mom would say. :lol: All I needed was for the vet to write PEN on the prescription. Simple. Same prescription, just specifying PEN.

The pharmacist even called the vet last night and called me back this morning. The vet that wrote the script (one of our regulars) was off until Monday and as long as we had insulin, the vet that called back will have the other vet write it for whatever is most cost effective on MONDAY. The pharmacist even told me that she wonders how the vet will know the price?! This is dumb so we called the vet's office and spoke to them again. The vet (we've never seen) said because she was 82 this morning the insulin is working fine and we have to wait until Monday when our vet is back. Never mind that we don't dose based on one number. Never mind that I wasn't asking for medicine we've never had or even for a different prescription! I was asking her to write PEN on the SAME LANTUS prescription we already had. She told me she wouldn't change a thing right now especially with her being 80.:shock: I was smart and bit my tongue, not telling her that she goes down in the 50's with no problem. :lol: I wonder what she would have said if I told her she was 82 not on the 2 units they prescribed but on a F0.25? *Snort* haha_smiley

I might be over thinking Julia's numbers and such, but there's certainly no-harm, no-foul if I get new insulin. I'm the one paying for it. I was trying to do this on Friday and then the weekend so Mom didn't have to run out and leave Dad to go to the pharmacy or the vet's for a new prescription or even deal with it. So much for easy. I don't want to alienate the vet's office as we do like certain vet's that we deal with so I'm keeping my mouth shut. Jules is fine until Monday and we'll just use what we have. They're just making something so simple, so complicated. This issue is small when compared to big things but it's so silly. What I really want to do is mail every vet at that practice a copy of the protocol so I won't sound like an insane nut job every time I talk BG numbers with them. Like I've read in other condo's, I guess vet's just aren't comfortable with the lower numbers which is a shame.

Does it make sense to stay at the F0.25 until we get new insulin on Monday and then for another 2-3 days to see if it affects her numbers? Advice is always welcome.

Next time I'm just going to tell them I broke the vial. :lol:
 
Re: 9/7 Julia AMPS 102 +8/142

Frankly, I probably would have gone home, wrote "pen" on the prescription, waited an hour, and gone back to the pharmacy. FWIW, a vet tech could call in an Rx for insulin so I don't know what the issue was.

I think Julia's numbers look good. If you can measure a drop more insulin than the F0.25u (skinny 0.5?) it might bring Julia's entire level down just a tiny bit. It might also help to keep in mind that the desired Lantus "curve" is flat and Julia's numbers seem to fit that description.
 
Re: 9/7 Julia AMPS 102 +8/142

Hi Elizabeth,

With Julia's numbers looking so good I don't see any hurry to start a new pen. In fact might as well keep using the vial as long as it's obviously still good. Once you open the pen, then the clock is ticking on both so perhaps get the deal on the single pen and then hold onto it until you need it?

Inserting the (unused) needle into the vial twice shouldn't matter much. No different than the first time, as long and you don't contaminate it or touch anything or sneeze on it? And/or inject anything but air back in. If you do contaminate the needle then you wouldn't shoot with it anyway. Just discard and start over with a new one.

Looking good! I wish Chip could do so well on such a small dose.
 
Re: 9/7 Julia AMPS 102 +8/142

Most vets definitely don't like those low numbers. If I shoot out too much insulin, I stick the same syringe back in the vial to get more. As long as the syringe hasn't touched anything else, it is still clean and shouldn't hurt the insulin.
 
Re: 9/7 Julia AMPS 102 +8/142

THANK YOU!

Maybe I am just the nutty cat lady lol?! :dizcat I should have come here first before creating havoc. I thought I wasn't supposed to be going back in the bottle with the same syringe but as long as the needle is sterile (which it always is) I guess we're okay and I'm nuts. :lol: So, we're looking for flat? I reread the entire protocol today and my overwhelmed brain missed that part. I have to get a superpower magnifying glass tomorrow and will try for a skinny 0.5 though I have to wrap my brain around that being different than a F0.25. I believe it is...I just have to figure out how to measure it. :lol: I looked at the caliper instructions and hate to admit that my brain just couldn't absorb how to measure with it. However, I found information on the "Twist" method which looks like something I can do. And I will not open the new insulin when I get it. If I never use it then I'll worry about that later. ;-)

For what it's worth, my overwhelmed brain is full of work, school, taking care of Dad, Mom, Julia and diabetes, and life. Had I not been in such a tizzy last night I probably could have asked the pharmacist for the prescription back, wrote "pen," and went back. Yesterday was a rough day starting in the morning when I missed seeing someone get hit by a car by maybe 30 seconds? He was lying in the road when I drove up and the driver was calling 911. Then when I was at the pharmacy at night I was just thinking about how Dad was home alone (we don't like leaving him but Mom had to go out, too,) Julia was late for a shot, and my cell battery was dead. Hence, the reason I forgot logic. ohmygod_smile
 
We're all pretty nutty here. :lol:

You'd expect the lantus vial to poop out sometime before 6 months, but it doesn't appear it has yet. Calipers are a great way to add that extra drop, but of course the twist method will work in a pinch.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top