9/7 Ivy amps 400, +2.25 337, +3.5 207, +6 205, +10 167, PMPS 193, +1 198, +2 154, +3 124, +4 170

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-396-2-5-197-3-176-4-107-5-169-10-355.281270/
AMPS 400, Bouncing high after last night’s dip into blues (Libre numbers). And yesterday am cycle also a blue stretch.

I expect another drop this am cycle. She clears bounces very fast.

Adding in lower carb food slowly. Tomorrow will change another snack to lower carb recipe.
Changing one snack/meal at a time slowly (every few days) to reduce her carbs and try lower carb recipe again (after 2 months on a 12.5% recipe).

Holding present dose 2.75 U Lantus since we are lowering carbs and she’s getting lots of action on this dose. If you think I’m holding dose incorrectly, please advise. I’m all ears.

Thanks and have a great Thursday. :)
 
I'm so bad at the carb math....I see in your signature you are using homemade food....can you share the recipe? I am feeding Jack and the rest of the herd Friskies and 9 Lives based on the Dr Pierson PDF, but Jack is a JERK and won't just eat the pate, and insists on some kibble so he gets a mix of Elsey's protein and Ziwi peak air dried. It's been over a year of food fights with him, and now I have another (Pumpkin) that needs a special urinary diet because he had a complete blockage, but it seems he is allergic to the prescription urinary formulas. Pumpkin is going for allergy testing this weekend, but in the meantime I am going broke trying to feed everyone. I'm at the point where I'm thnking it's easier and cheaper and probably healthier if I just cook for them, so I'm asking people on the board what recipes they use. If I can get a low mineral additive then I can just feed them all the same thing even if I lose a few hours sleep every week on the prep. Long story, sorry....Hope Ivy does well with your changes...:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm so bad at the carb math....I see in your signature you are using homemade food....can you share the recipe? I am feeding Jack and the rest of the herd Friskies and 9 Lives based on the Dr Pierson PDF, but Jack is a JERK and won't just eat the pate, and insists on some kibble so he gets a mix of Elsey's protein and Ziwi peak air dried. It's been over a year of food fights with him, and now I have another (Pumpkin) that needs a special urinary diet because he had a complete blockage, but it seems he is allergic to the prescription urinary formulas. Pumpkin is going for allergy testing this weekend, but in the meantime I am going broke trying to feed everyone. I'm at the point where I'm thnking it's easier and cheaper and probably healthier if I just cook for them, so I'm asking people on the board what recipes they use. If I can get a low mineral additive then I can just feed them all the same thing even if I lose a few hours sleep every week on the prep. Long story, sorry....Hope Ivy does well with your changes...:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Christine, I’m sure you are going crazy with the diet. That makes everything more complicated :(
I hired a veterinarian/ nutritionist to formulate the recipes based on Ivy’s complicated medical conditions (includes ckd, Ibd) so I would think it may not be good to use the recipe for Jack if it would not be specifically for his situation. (Let me know what you think).
I would be happy to share her information with you if you think that would be something he would like to look into. This is the second nutritionist I have worked with and she’s very easy to work with and I meet with her online.
 
+10 167 starting to drop now after a mostly stable day of yellow which followed a high bg red and pink early am. (Late nadir?)
Fed small snack of her lamb diet 12.5% food.
Wonder if it will be an active night, I think it just might be.
 
Hi Christine, I’m sure you are going crazy with the diet. That makes everything more complicated :(
I hired a veterinarian/ nutritionist to formulate the recipes based on Ivy’s complicated medical conditions (includes ckd, Ibd) so I would think it may not be good to use the recipe for Jack if it would not be specifically for his situation. (Let me know what you think).
I would be happy to share her information with you if you think that would be something he would like to look into. This is the second nutritionist I have worked with and she’s very easy to work with and I meet with her online.
Thanks for this. I am waiting for his allergy test results to come back, vet said about 2 weeks to process, so if you wouldn't mind, I may send you a PM for more details on your nutritionist. Vet agreed that is the way to go. Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
 
Back
Top