9/7 DKA Millie +1.5 187, +2.5 166, +5.5 65, +6 41!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
I've noticed that on several occasions just as it might be time to increase, I end up getting a lower reading with Millie's bg. In other words, she tends to bounce and it takes longer than 6 cycles to clear and for me to get a true reading of how the insulin dose is working (this happened on 8/27 and 9/2). Similar thing happened recently on 9/5 where she had been bouncing prior, then she was 80 on her +6. I know I need to increase at times but it seems if I suspect she might be going lower then I guess I should hold off? Feedback appreciated.

@Kris & Teasel
@Jill & Alex (GA)
@Bobbie And Bubba
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Dyana

Today at her +4 she is 90!!! YAY, green.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...12-6-80-6-5-284-now-what.183485/#post-2035791
 
You have to customize the protocol sometimes. I know of a cat that waits to break a bounce until the 9th or 10th cycle when it is normal to break a bounce within 6 cycles. "Know thy cat!" :cat::bookworm:
 
The same thing happens with my guy, Sylvia, which is why I wait longer to increase. I've tailored my approach to suit his idiosyncrasies. :)
That's what I mostly have been doing. She has the DKA history so a time or two I've increased sooner (especially if her numbers are really high). It makes it a bit tougher.
You have to customize the protocol sometimes. I know of a cat that waits to break a bounce until the 9th or 10th cycle when it is normal to break a bounce within 6 cycles. "Know thy cat!" :cat::bookworm:
Yes, that time it was close to the 10th cycle!
 
In other words, she tends to bounce and it takes longer than 6 cycles to clear and for me to get a true reading of how the insulin dose is working (this happened on 8/27 and 9/2). Similar thing happened recently on 9/5 where she had been bouncing prior, then she was 80 on her +6. I know I need to increase at times but it seems if I suspect she might be going lower then I guess I should hold off? Feedback appreciated.
I guess I'm just not seeing that pattern. On the AM of the 2nd, she did a good drop to 139 at +3, and I suspect got quite a bit lower cause she was sky high and bouncing that night. 3 cycles after that on the PM of the 3rd, she did another huge drop which probably set off another bounce. Three cycles after that on the 5th she broke the bounce and got down to green. 4 cycles later, today, she's back to green again.

When do you feed Millie? She seems to do these cliff dive falls around +2. You might want to spread out her meals a bit more so she has something at +1 and +2 so she has fresh carbs on board when she onsets. If you can slow down the drops, you might reduce the bouncing due to drops. And when you do see a big drop at +2, it's worth getting a later test. An example is the night of the 5th, where her PMPS was 339 and she was down to 255 by +2. If the +2 is quite a bit lower than preshot, that's a sign of an active cycle and more monitoring needed. I would have gotten at least a +4 that night.

Given you are using the AT, and have seen green a couple times on this dose, I would try to hold the dose a little longer. See if you can slow the drops and flatten her out a bit.

Gotten a ketones test in the last couple of days?
 
On 8/27 that was her 9th cycle on the 1.5 dose, she finally hit some lower numbers later that day. I didn't increase because I suspected she was going lower but just didn't catch it.

Interesting about the +1 and +2 observations about her drops. We feed her at shot time and the food is left out for her since she does come back to it. She is a slow eater and grazes for an hour or so. Usually the food affect shows up an hour or so later (that's been my experience when she is low and I have to feed her).

If I 'flatten' her out with food, how much would that interfere with my getting a real sense of where the dose is taking her? Or I guess keeping her 'flat' is actually more important so she can surf those numbers a bit? Still trying to get a sense of how it all works.

Yes, I've been getting ketone tests, I sometimes forget to put it on the SS but I have it on my written sheet.
 
Sorry I missed your tag as I wasn't home and didn't get an email. I'm glad Wendy saw it. With Max feeding some mc to keep him from dropping helped level him out. I would do that if his +2-3 was dropping too fast.
 
Many times when you shoot lower they surf instead of big drops. Get at +1 and a +2 and go from there. It's your call but either way the 1.5u depot is at play. Also, only shoot if you can monitor and have plenty of supplies.
 
Many times when you shoot lower they surf instead of big drops. Get at +1 and a +2 and go from there. It's your call but either way the 1.5u depot is at play. Also, only shoot if you can monitor and have plenty of supplies.
OK, never experienced Millie surfing low numbers, but it will be nice to see. I will get the early ones and wake later to check on her. I have supplies, etc.....

Thanks!
 
Hey Sylvia, I would get a +1 for sure since this in the lowest you have shot with this dose.

ETA I take that back you shot a 129 back on 7.31 with this dose. But do what makes you comfy.
 
I am glad you shot full dose. On this forum, we use 150 as the number below which you stop, do not feed, and ask for help deciding what to do.

Could you remove the "?" from your subject line now that you've shot. And keep it updated with the latest numbers, so we can see at a glance if you need attention.
 
I am glad you shot full dose. On this forum, we use 150 as the number below which you stop, do not feed, and ask for help deciding what to do.

Could you remove the "?" from your subject line now that you've shot. And keep it updated with the latest numbers, so we can see at a glance if you need attention.
Not sure I was aware of the asking for assist at the 150, with my nervousness I usually ask for input with anything below 200, lol! Is the 150 with the AT meter?

Will take down the ?

Thank you!
 
I hope you see a nice flat cycle. Until Max leveled out he often bounced with a lower preshot which for him was green. Don't get any ideas Millie.
 
Nice. Are you going to test in an hour? You can let her eat a little.
I did the +1.5 and +2.5, it's almost midnight now so I'm going to get some shuteye. I'll get up in a few hours and check her. Not sure if I should leave food out; maybe a little bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top