Tara
I'm glad you did not increase his dose more than .25u with the new syringes although I'm not sure I would have increased just based on how wonky his numbers are because of changes in dose, skipping shots, etc.
Lantus likes consistency. That means we need to get him to a dose that you can safely shoot twice a day. Each time he throws you a number that you don't shoot, his shed is being affected.
What I'd really like to see you do is post when you get a Preshot number below 200 and let us walk you through options. If you had posted last night, he was at a number safe enough for you to shoot if you had supplies (strips, HC food, gravy) and would have been there to test. I would have been happy to work with you to shoot it and monitor him. The goal is to learn to shoot lower and lower (but not below 50) because if you want him to go into remission, you will need to shoot low to stay low. BUT it is imperative that someone with experience walk you through shooting lower and lower until you are comfortable doing it by yourself.
The dose is determined primarily upon the nadir, not the preshot. If you get a high preshot and you decide to take his dose up, when he comes down, he could go dangerously low. I've seen cats go from over 300 to 50 and back to 300 in one cycle. So you dose based on the lower numbers in the cycle, ignoring the bounces.
Does that help?