9/7 Buster AMPS 417, +5 402, PMPS 438

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/7 Buster AMPS 417

LOL! Thanks for stopping by this morning to lend your support for Leo ... he's sitting pretty at a 99 right now, but I've no doubt he'll be joining Buster in the 400's later today ... by bouncy boy!

So buster, listen to your mama!
 
Re: 9/7 Buster AMPS 417

LOL! Thanks for stopping by this morning to lend your support for Leo ... he's sitting pretty at a 99 right now, but I've no doubt he'll be joining Buster in the 400's later today ... by bouncy boy!

So buster, listen to your mama!
 
Re: 9/7 Buster AMPS 417

I suspect you had a low number last night and that's why you've got such a bounce.

Could you set an alarm and get up and check at night? At least once but more if you could.
I know it's hard to do.
You may be missing some green activity and I know you don't want any more super drops.

Happy Friday!
 
Re: 9/7 Buster AMPS 417

I will try - last night I went out for dinner and drinks and promply zonked out til morning - hehe. Weekend is coming soon - more numbers on the way!
 
Re: 9/7 Buster AMPS 417

o -derp! Sorry, I didn't eat breffis this morning - brain is not working...I didn't shoot him last night because I knew I was going out. Can you explain a bit about dosing off the nadir rather than the PMPS number? I get skeered to shoot under 200, but it sounds like I'm looking at the wrong number.
 
So I don't think Bu got any juice this morning. BUT guess what we got in the mail today?? NEW TERUMO SYRINGES!!!! flip_cat I was supposed to get calipers today, too, but alas they did not arrive.

I tried the new syringes for the pm dose - I'm trying .5 to start with. I will check him at + 2 and 4 at a minimum, depending on how it's going. I hope to get a curve over the weekend to provide some more data.
 
Re: 9/7 Buster AMPS 417

Tara & Buster said:
o -derp! Sorry, I didn't eat breffis this morning - brain is not working...I didn't shoot him last night because I knew I was going out. Can you explain a bit about dosing off the nadir rather than the PMPS number? I get skeered to shoot under 200, but it sounds like I'm looking at the wrong number.

Bump - someone with more experience can answer this with a clearer explanation than I can, so let me defer for others to answer...
 
Tara

I'm glad you did not increase his dose more than .25u with the new syringes although I'm not sure I would have increased just based on how wonky his numbers are because of changes in dose, skipping shots, etc.

Lantus likes consistency. That means we need to get him to a dose that you can safely shoot twice a day. Each time he throws you a number that you don't shoot, his shed is being affected.

What I'd really like to see you do is post when you get a Preshot number below 200 and let us walk you through options. If you had posted last night, he was at a number safe enough for you to shoot if you had supplies (strips, HC food, gravy) and would have been there to test. I would have been happy to work with you to shoot it and monitor him. The goal is to learn to shoot lower and lower (but not below 50) because if you want him to go into remission, you will need to shoot low to stay low. BUT it is imperative that someone with experience walk you through shooting lower and lower until you are comfortable doing it by yourself.

The dose is determined primarily upon the nadir, not the preshot. If you get a high preshot and you decide to take his dose up, when he comes down, he could go dangerously low. I've seen cats go from over 300 to 50 and back to 300 in one cycle. So you dose based on the lower numbers in the cycle, ignoring the bounces.

Does that help?
 
Marje,

Thanks for stepping in to help Tara with her question. I can give a canned answer but based on Buster's ss, someone like you would provide a good analysis of his ss in addition to giving a nice explanation.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I've seen cats go from over 300 to 50 and back to 300 in one cycle. So you dose based on the lower numbers in the cycle, ignoring the bounces.

Does that help?

So true ... Leo ranged from 36 to 587 in one cycle two days ago! Marje was one of the experienced members who helped walk me through that challenging day. If you need help, please reach out, because it's here!

Hang in there Tara - spend some days trying to be consistent with his dose, update your spreadsheet, and ask for help/advice whenever you need it!

Lisa
 
Hi Tara, welcome to LL!

It sounds as though you could use a little Lantus Basics refresher course :smile: Please take some time as soon as you can and read through the New to Lantus sticky, as well as the Lantus Insulin Info sticky.

Take your time going through them - there's lots of information to take in. When you've read them, post any questions you have and we'll be here to answer them, ok?

Hugs
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top