Re: 9/7 Bj AmPs(493), +3(381), +6(241), PmPs(389)
Good morning Mike!
Half-way there with the ABs, that's good! I know how discouraging this is. I'd be upset and disheartened too. Even so, though, at least there are several visible/knowable factors helping us all determine why BJ has backtracked a little. That quick succession of decreases was, I think, too fast for him. This sugardance can sometimes become a balancing act of staying ahead of the shed, and still letting a cat adjust to a new dose before hopping to the next new one. Letting the shed get ahead of you and the cat can be both scary and dangerous, but going through doses too quickly can also hamper progress... Tough call, no doubt about it.
When BJ shows he's ready to go back to blues and greens, and maybe starts flirting with reductions again, you do have the option of tryin smaller dosecreases. Shaving the dose rather than taking the whole 0.25u off *may* allow for an extra day or two on each new dose, and that in turn *may* help BJ settle into the process and his pancrease to start up again *slowly* rather than as quickly as it was asked to when BJ flicked through the doses on his way to 0.1u last time.
The ABs may be contributing to his higher numbers. He also may not be 100% over the infection yet, which again may be keeping his numbers higher than they otherwise would be.
As unsettling as it is to see him in the current range, it is *not* a sign that he won't go back to making great progress. Even *if* you had to go one more step *up* the dosing ladder, to give his pancreas more of a rest from the rush that happened at the end of August - that's a tool to help him go back *down* that ladder when he's ready.
Hugs
Jane