9/7 Batuffolo +4 49 - PMPS 82 ?

Hi There! Below is my answer to another poster. I would suggest the same for you. Are you able to more consistently check pre shot numbers? I saw a 59 3 hours pre shot that should have definitely been retested before giving insulin. Best wishes to you. :)

{Not an expert but I wanted to get an answer out there quick for you.
Yes, hold the insulin at 106. For a more definitive answer we need to know if you are following the SLGS or TR protocol? Which ever you are following, read the corresponding yellow sticky at the top of this section. For SLGS you would hold under 150 pre shot.
You can also put a "?" in the front of your title so people are sure to read it.}
 
I try everyday to do pre shot, i don't want stress out the cat, so i'm more confortable to do in other moment, today he eats less (maybe little tired of wet food purina dm). He stay good to see..i start with method of my vet, no protocol....but he don't understand why i stopped dry food he suggested me (diabetic royal canin).

He tell me to continue with two unit and increase dose of food dry or wet..
 
I would reduce the dose. 2.0 units is too much. If you have syringes with half unit markings, I would try 1.75 units maybe 1.5 units if you can't test any more than ou have. We strongly suggest testing before each shot to make sure it's safe to give insulin, If you stop the DM dry food and fed just low carb wet or raw food, that is a good thing, and your cat will need less insulin.
 
We see a number of cats get tired of the DM wet food. Do you have any other low carb wet foods in Sicily? I know you can order good food for diabetics on line. @Gill & George
 
Hello Mauro and Bati

Just saw wendyWe post regarding food. There is quite a lot of low carb wet food options available here in europE though like me, I am in Spain, you may find it difficult to buy in the local shops.

Here is a list of food available, although it's says it's a UK list most of the food is available throughout europe.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/u/1/d/1J5JpMe6TDXrHq_aTl9hUtHy6Gs9oRBqlz4nPGKxtySA/pubhtml

I have had to buy the low carb food on line, I use zooplus.es they have an Italian shop

These are the links to the food I use at the moment
https://www.zooplus.it/esearch.htm#q=Thrive I buy the chicken breast and the tuna and salmon flavours. These are like real pieces of shredded chicken or fish pieces in a stock, George's favourite is the tuna and salmon.


https://www.zooplus.it/shop/gatti/cibo_gatti_scatolette/terra_felis/570910 the turkey and chicken flavours this is a soft pate consistency, quite wet.

https://www.zooplus.it/shop/gatti/cibo_gatti_scatolette/granatapet/symphonie/403395 the turkey and salmon, pure chicken, and venison flavours. A firmer pate and you can see pieces of muscle meat in the pate.

There are many more foods that are available, I pick these because I like that they don't have anything other than meat/fish in them, no vegetable protein, no grains of any type, and the meat is good quality protein. I also have to be careful with phosphorus in the diet because George has early chronic kidney disease (CKD) so this limits my choices now.

I have used catzs fine foods, feringa, animonda carny, granatapet pet delicatesen. The animonda carny is quite good value and quality is good, my non diabetic cats eat this, on the chart I linked check out the varieties that are suitable for diabetic cats.


I agree with Wendy, 2u is too much insulin that 48 the other day is too low, lantus is dosed on how low the dose is getting your cat a drop below 50 definitely warrants a reduction in dose. Like Wendy already said, either 1.75 or maybe even back to 1.5 if you are not able to test much.
My George loves getting his tests, he always gets a freeze dried treat. These have no carbohydrate just pure freeze-dried meat so they will not affect his blood glucose.

https://www.zooplus.it/shop/gatti/snack_gatti/secchi_naturali/cosma/207962

I only have to shake the treats and he comes up sits down has his test then his treat, it took a little time, but he associated the test with his favourite treat so testing was not stressful, and it really oi the only way to be sure that they are safe.

Have you got some high carbohydrate food that you can use if his numbers drop low?
 
Thanks Gill, today i ordered cosma snack and some can of thrive and granatapet, these are complete food? The somministration for a cat o 7.2kg is always about 200/250gr a day?

Thanks again all!
 
Thanks Gill, today i ordered cosma snack and some can of thrive and granatapet, these are complete food? The somministration for a cat o 7.2kg is always about 200/250gr a day?

Thanks again all!
Yes they are complete food.
George weighs 6.75 kg he's 19, lazy indoor cat, he gets 1 can of thrive (75g) for breakfast and then one 200g can of the granata pet, divided up through the day at approxx 3 hour interval.

This has had him loose weight from 7.5kg to 6.75kg and stabilise at 6.75 kg which is an ok weight for him.

My 3 non diabetic cats get 800g a day, shared out between them. They are smaller more active cats ,(3-4.5kg) so I would think that 200g sounds a little short for your boy.

Does he need to loose weight?
 
https://catinfo.org/docs/Italian5pages.pdf

Here's a document, in Italian, written by Dr Pierson, she's a Vet in the us, specialising in feline nutrition here's a link to her website. You will find the information there of how many calories you should be feeding.
Here is website

Catinfo.org

I weigh George regularly, and adjust his food, cutting back his rations if he gains weight, or adding more if he were to be losing weight.
 
Thanks again Gill, Vet says he a little overweight so at first visit (dx day) he suggested me to give him dry royal canin diabetic 50gr a day. Then i found this place and change gradually in wet food in disaccording with my VET that i will change for next control...

Now Batuffolo weight is 7.2kg, he prefer eats not all once a time..with Lantus i read he can start eat before and continue in the first hour..so i open one can of 3oz in the morning 10min before shot and then leave this food to finish.
 
he suggested me to give him dry royal canin diabetic 50gr a day.
My vet also recommended diabetic food, Hills diabetic dry food, she ordered a packet for me but while we waited for delivery I came here and decided not to use it either, we agreed to disagree on the food issue, I just think that most vets are not well informed on feline nutrition and the big petfood companies like royal canin and Hills have 'convinced' them with their marketing. The quality of protein in royal canin and hills is very poor, I fed george a royal canin diet Rx food for years, 60g, he never lost significant weight, poor boy was always hungry and as it was so high in carbs I am sure it contributed to him developing diabetes. Since the swap to a wet Low carb diet he lost weight, went into remission and though he still loves to eat, he is not always hungry, he seems much happier.
I now feed all my cats (even the stray outdoor farm cats) a wet, low carb diet.

Now Batuffolo weight is 7.2kg, he prefer eats not all once a time..with Lantus i read he can start eat before and continue in the first hour..so i open one can of 3oz in the morning 10min before shot and then leave this food to finish.

I used to test put food down and once George was eating I would actually give him his insulin while he still had his head down in the bowl eating. Most times he never looked up.
Some kitties eat slower than others so your plan seems good. Lantus doesn't onset till around +2 so he has time to get some food down.
With George I would feed, 75g thrive, and shoot, he tends to eat very quickly, then often I would give a snack of two teaspoons (approx 25g) at +1 or +2. then he would get 'lunch' at about +5 (50g/4teaspoons), then no more food till pmps. Sometimes if numbers required it I would feed more, if he was dropping.

Have you got some high carb food? Just in case he is dropping low and you need to bring numbers up?

I see no BG numbers on the SS since the 24th, have you been able to get any?
Did you reduce the dose?
 
Not able to do test, he seem very hungry when i try, i'm monitoring all day, today i will try again.
Maybe when you get the treats you can get him to be more cooperative.
I played a lot wit George's ears, rubbing them and stroking them so that he got used to me handling his ears and so that he would associate that with nice feelings. I think that made testing him easier.
I would always test George on my lap, I would shake the treats, he would come to me on the sofa, lie on my lap, I'd rub his ears, warming them up, stroking him and being nice for minute before I tried to test, being calm and relaxed helps, they can sense if you are nervous, some people even sing to their cats to relax them, I would talk to George all the while (I'm not a good singer it would have probably frightened him.:joyful:hehehe). Maybe even try going through the routine when you are not testing, so you can gain his confidence.

Does the meter you use require a large blood sample? that can make it harder, especially in the beginning when their ears don't bleed so readily, with time new capillaries form and it gets easier to get a drop of blood, it also helps if you warm the ear, if ear is cold it is much harder to get a drop to form. I would warm with just rubbing Georges ears (he loves this) with my warm hands, though some people use a sock filled with rice and warmed in the micro wave (make sure it's not too hot though)
I had two meters, my backup one Freestyle Freedom lite requires a very small drop, and it was much easier to use, strips were more expensive than my SD code free (1€ a strip here in spain:eek:) so I didn't use it all the time, but if he was staying at the pet sitter when we were on vacation, then she would use it, as she was less comfortable with testing and George did not behave as well for her.:rolleyes:
 
Back
Top