9/7/19 Blaze AMPS 349, +6 282, , +9 339, PMPS 357, +1 348, +2 332, +3 346, +5 278

Sarah and Blaze

Member Since 2019
Good morning!

Blaze's AMPS is 349, gave him 1U today.

I'm going to do a curve today to see if we need to increase Blaze's dose.
 
Blaze, Luci sez, 'Come on down to the lagoon, handsome boy' I wanna play!:D:D

Come on Blaze...you can do it!
38754E4B-6CE8-49A1-864F-1D90EEA9B3CE.jpeg

Blaze says, “I’m trying Luci! I’m relaxed and chill, I need to be at the lagoon with you!”
 
+9 is 339.

These numbers are driving me crazy!:banghead:

Try not to obsess over the numbers...this is all new to Blaze too...he's getting insulin and his body needs time to adjust...Lantus takes a bit of time to get the depot built up...and it requires lots of patience...I know it's a tough time getting started and not seeing any good results...it's kind of like dieting ... took a long time to gain, and a long time to lose. The problem with feline diabetes is Blaze can't tell you how long he's had it...Luci didn't tell me either...
 
Try not to obsess over the numbers...this is all new to Blaze too...he's getting insulin and his body needs time to adjust...Lantus takes a bit of time to get the depot built up...and it requires lots of patience...I know it's a tough time getting started and not seeing any good results...it's kind of like dieting ... took a long time to gain, and a long time to lose. The problem with feline diabetes is Blaze can't tell you how long he's had it...Luci didn't tell me either...
I know, it’s just frustrating to see him in blues and then feel like we’re going backwards with all these pink numbers now. I know I’m just being impatient and need to just let the insulin work. You're right!
 
Oh my gosh, I posted Blazes PMPS and forgot to actually give him his insulin. I gave insulin an hour and 15 minutes late, he just ate a snack so I know he has food on board. Is this okay? I will test/feed/shoot 12 hours from the time I gave insulin tonight.

I can’t believe I did that. Should I have skipped the shot instead?
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
@Nan & Amber
@Sue and Luci

Now I’m freaking out and second guessing myself if I gave him 1 unit or not at 5:30 pm. I can’t remember. I remember testing his blood sugar and feeding him but I can’t remember if I gave a shot at 5:30. And I just gave him 1unit at 6:45. Oh god I hope I didn’t double dose him. I’m scared, what should I do? Test an hour after the 6:45 shot?
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
@Nan & Amber
@Sue and Luci

Now I’m freaking out and second guessing myself if I gave him 1 unit or not at 5:30 pm. I can’t remember. I remember testing his blood sugar and feeding him but I can’t remember if I gave a shot at 5:30. And I just gave him 1unit at 6:45. Oh god I hope I didn’t double dose him. I’m scared, what should I do? Test an hour after the 6:45 shot?
Deep breath Sarah, I am tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) too, just in case the other gals are sleeping or out on the town on a Saturday night. :D
 
Ok I second the deep breathe. We got this. No worries you can handle it even if you did double dose but I seriously doubt you did. Check your meter for the last few test times. You would have no doubt tested Blaze before his shot so if you did shoot at 5:30, I'd expect there to be a test after the +9 you posted on the spreadsheet.
 
Hi Sarah and Blaze.
Try and think back to remember if you gave the insulin earlier.
To avoid something like this happening again.......always put the two syringes you will need for the day into a glass or mug near your testing gear and use them each day. That way you will know if you have given the insulin...we all go into auto mode so don't beat your self up about it.
Ok the best thing you can do is get hourly BG tests in to see how the levels are going. If they drop we can do the tests more frequently. So start off with a +1 and post it.
Do you have plenty of high carb food and Karo or honey at home and plenty of tests strips?
And just to be organised ....do you know where the ER is if you need to take Blaze there. Hopefully you won't, but better to be completely organised for all eventualities..
 
Ok I second the deep breathe. We got this. No worries you can handle it even if you did double dose but I seriously doubt you did. Check your meter for the last few test times. You would have no doubt tested Blaze before his shot so if you did shoot at 5:30, I'd expect there to be a test after the +9 you posted on the spreadsheet.
I tested at 5:15 pm which is when I got the 357 test and I remember feeding the cats but I cannot remember if I gave him insulin at 5:30 pm. I went into the kitchen at 6:45 pm and had this feeling that I didn’t give him insulin at 5:30, took a BG test and he was at 328 and then without thinking to post here, gave him 1unit an hour and 15 minutes after his normal test time.
 
I tested at 5:15 pm which is when I got the 357 test and I remember feeding the cats but I cannot remember if I gave him insulin at 5:30 pm. I went into the kitchen at 6:45 pm and had this feeling that I didn’t give him insulin at 5:30, took a BG test and he was at 328 and then without thinking to post here, gave him 1unit an hour and 15 minutes after his normal test time.
These things happen. We all work on auto pilot at times and are sleep deprived. The important thing is you are aware of it and will be testing. It probably didn't happen but you have got this if it did!
 
Hi Sarah and Blaze.
Try and think back to remember if you gave the insulin earlier.
To avoid something like this happening again.......always put the two syringes you will need for the day into a glass or mug near your testing gear and use them each day. That way you will know if you have given the insulin...we all go into auto mode so don't beat your self up about it.
Ok the best thing you can do is get hourly BG tests in to see how the levels are going. If they drop we can do the tests more frequently. So start off with a +1 and post it.
Do you have plenty of high carb food and Karo or honey at home and plenty of tests strips?
And just to be organised ....do you know where the ER is if you need to take Blaze there. Hopefully you won't, but better to be completely organised for all eventualities..
I’m trying so hard to remember if I gave him insulin at 5:30 pm and I cannot remember whether I did or not. I took a test at 6:45pm when I had the thought that I forgot to give him the insulin and he was at 328, he was at 357 an hour and 15 minutes before that.

I do have about 8-9 cans each of MC and HC food and a full bottle of Karo syrup and a newly opened bottle of testing strips. I know where the ER vet is also. I will test in ten minutes, that will be an hour since he got the 1unit.
 
I’m trying so hard to remember if I gave him insulin at 5:30 pm and I cannot remember whether I did or not. I took a test at 6:45pm when I had the thought that I forgot to give him the insulin and he was at 328, he was at 357 an hour and 15 minutes before that.

I do have about 8-9 cans each of MC and HC food and a full bottle of Karo syrup and a newly opened bottle of testing strips. I know where the ER vet is also. I will test in ten minutes, that will be an hour since he got the 1unit.
Sounds as if you are well organised! Deep breaths. You are not the first person to find your self in this position!
 
These things happen. We all work on auto pilot at times and are sleep deprived. The important thing is you are aware of it and will be testing. It probably didn't happen but you have got this if it did!
Gosh I hope I didn't double dose him, I’m usually so good and testing, feeding and shooting right away but I just can’t remember if he got insulin at 5:30 Pm. I’m going to starting putting the two syringes outs every morning next to his test gear like it was recommended so this doesn’t happen again.
 
You have all kinds of support Sarah, you and Blaze are and will be in good hands. Don't beat yourself up..especially if it's not warranted. This is a learning moment, and as Bron said, you are not the first and will not be the last. It's a good idea to put out two syringes for use every day..If Idjit goes back on the juice I hope I will remember that.
 
You have all kinds of support Sarah, you and Blaze are and will be in good hands. Don't beat yourself up..especially if it's not warranted. This is a learning moment, and as Bron said, you are not the first and will not be the last. It's a good idea to put out two syringes for use every day..If Idjit goes back on the juice I hope I will remember that.
image.jpg
This is definitely a learning experience for me! I’m already implementing the two syringes in a cup for tomorrow so I don’t do this again!:banghead: So happy I have so much help and support!
 
Ok so no real change from the BG you took at the original PMPS time. So that was 1 1/2 hours ago so if you did give the insulin the first time we should start to see a drop at the next test. Is that correct timing?
So just to state numbers again:
PMPS was 357 at 5:30pm(not sure if I gave insulin)
Test an hour and 15 minutes after PMPS was 328
Insulin given at that time (6:45 pm)
+1 after insulin was given at 6:45 Pm was 348 (this test was at 7:45pm)

Should I test again at +2? An hour from now? Or sooner?
 
So just to state numbers again:
PMPS was 357 at 5:30pm(not sure if I gave insulin)
Test an hour and 15 minutes after PMPS was 328
Insulin given at that time (6:45 pm)
+1 after insulin was given at 6:45 Pm was 348 (this test was at 7:45pm)

Should I test again at +2? An hour from now? Or sooner?
Ok so that test was 2 1/4 hours after the origional possible dose. So no sign of onset if you did give the insulin the first time.

Yes I would get a +2
I like the syringes in the jar!
 
Ok so that test was 2 1/4 hours after the origional possible dose. So no sign of onset if you did give the insulin the first time.

Yes I would get a +2
I like the syringes in the jar!


Yes that's correct! Glad there hasn't been a big drop yet after the initial PMPS. I will get a +2 in about 35 minutes and post again, thank you so much for helping me through this!

And thank you for the idea of putting the syringes in the jar! I'm pretty OCD so this will help me keep my OCD tendencies with Blaze's insulin:D
 
Okay, +2 is 332. Should I get another test at +3?

Does it look like I most likely did not double dose and only gave the 1U at 6:45pm and did miss the 5:30pm shot?
 
Yes get a +3
It’s looking as if you probably didn’t give the first dose but keep testing until we can be sure Blaze is safe
Okay will do, I will post again at +3.

As for AMPS and shot tomorrow, since I got off track tonight, is it okay to test/feed/shoot at 6:30 am tomorrow morning so I can get back on track Monday morning for work? Need to be closer to 6:15 am on Monday morning.
 
Okay will do, I will post again at +3.

As for AMPS and shot tomorrow, since I got off track tonight, is it okay to test/feed/shoot at 6:30 am tomorrow morning so I can get back on track Monday morning for work? Need to be closer to 6:15 am on Monday morning.
You can go back 15 mins a cycle or1/2 hour a day to get back on track. If you do that, where will you be at Monday amps?
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Okay +3 is 346. Should I do anymore testing tonight or does Blaze seem safe?

Also, Blaze has been on 1U on Lantus for a week now, I'm doing a curve tomorrow to figure out if he's due for a 0.25U increase.
 
He should be ok now. It doesn’t look like he was given an extra dose looking at those numbers.
If you like you could get up at +7 just to check or leave food out for him to graze on overnight.
I left some food in the auto feeder to be available at +7.25 and be just ate a little snack so I will just do that and not test anymore. I’m going to get a curve in tomorrow so I will give his ears a rest tonight.

Looks like it was a false alarm and didn’t double dose like you said. WHEW! What a relief! :confused: Thank you so much Bron, for sticking with me and helping me through this. I appreciate it so much!:bighug:
 
I was checking in to see how you were doing but you were in good hands with Bron and didn't need more hands in the pot so I stayed in the shadows. One thing I did notice though is that you could back your time up a bit more than you've planned and get back to your normal shoot time by Tuesday night.
Today you can shoot 6:30AM/6:15pm today, then 6:00AM/5:45PM Monday and 5:30AM/5:15PM Tuesday.:D
 
Back
Top