9/6 Walter AMPS 266, +3 241, PMPS 48/58, +0.75 53 - seriously, Walt?!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Still no movement at all. Both boys got a dosecrease last night, but there's no sign of either one of them working the juice. I just don't get it. It's the same Lantus pen that is still good for another two years and has been refrigerated consistently. The same box of syringes. The same food. Neither one of them seems sick. I just don't know what could have possibly changed.

It's just one of those weeks where it's hard to keep going. We are approaching the one year anniversary of me taking Walter home and despite my best efforts, he's not even any closer to being regulated. Mandarin has been diabetic for almost 2 years now and same thing. He's getting worse rather than better. Hard to not feel like I have failed both of them.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:...remember that numbers are only part of the picture. How are they feeling? If they are feeling good, that is what matters most. FD is a tough dance, but we're all here with you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hard to not feel like I have failed both of them.

Stop that! We can only do what we can do. And Christina you're doing more than most cat companions even think about doing. We can't control everything and we can't know everything. All we can do is the best we can do. My mantra when Polly was making me shrug and sigh and wonder...we'll just keep plugging along.

Boys! You could help, you know.

I really hope both of your guys find a corner and turn it soon.

Marilyn and Polly
 
There's a lot of "upset" going on with the L&LL kitties these days. I say blame it on the weather...seasons changing? Christina you're one of the top amazing beans with all you do. Boys...please start cooperating. Sending extra vines and prayers your way :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, everyone, for your kind words. Unfortunately, I am getting a lot of pushback from the shelter that I am fostering for. Our shelter vet knows very little about FD and has pretty much made zero effort to even talk to me or learn anything about the protocol that I am following. They seem to think that Walter would be better off on dry prescription food, a short acting Insulin and no home testing. I am just so tired of having to justify myself and then I can't even honestly say that this protocol is working for him. I am not sure if they will even give him a script for Lantus again.

...and, for the record, that would also be the same vet that now thinks that all kittens should be housed completely separate from all other cats until they are 16-18 weeks of age and up-to-date on all shots. I very loudly voiced my opposition to this idea - which I think borders on animal abuse. I can't even imagine that my babies would be stuck in a cage, all by themselves, for several months. Without an opportunity to run, play, interact with other cats, get much human attention... Granted, we would be able to better contain the spread of contagious diseases, but I just don't think that this would be humane.
 
I agree with compassion. I can't imagine why anyone would go into the field of veterinary medicine at all, much less be a shelter vet, if they lacked compassion and the drive to continue learning how to better treat their patients.

And I couldn't agree more about the kittens.....grrrrrrrrr.
 
all kittens should be housed completely separate from all other cats until they are 16-18 weeks of age and up-to-date on all shots.
Oh my I can't believe it! Kittens need socialization; both animal and human kind! And I just can't image leaving kittens in a cage for any length of time; that just makes me so angry and sad:(
They seem to think that Walter would be better off on dry prescription food, a short acting Insulin and no home testing.
Yup because Walter's BG would be lower if he was eating dry food with 20% carbs.:rolleyes: Yes I suppose you could stop the home testing if he was eating that crap :rolleyes::rolleyes:
Rant over. :D
 
Oh Christina, it's not a thing you did. You are so dedicated and such a good bean to all your furry gang. It's the dang felines and their persnickety personalities. Have you tried a different pen just for comparison' s sake?
 
Seriously, Walter?!? No action for days on end and then you throw me a 48 at shot time? :eek::nailbiting::banghead: I was so sure that this would be another uneventful day that I left for work early, updated our departmental website, held my office hours and taught my 3-hour night class without even worrying about Walter diving. And then I come home to a 48. :eek: I had a little bit of room to move the shot, so I held off on feeding and retested 30 minutes later. Since he had come up a little bit, I gave him his regular dose.

I just couldn't bring myself to skip a shot after the last few days. Now let's hope that I won't regret this decision. :nailbiting: But I am home, I have plenty of supplies, and I had several nights where I was actually able to sleep. Bad news is that tomorrow is the one day this week where I have to get up early and teach... but that's okay.

I would be tempted to call the shelter vet and tell her that this is exactly why I test at home.... but I know it won't make a difference.
 
Oh Christina -you've had such a stressful day!! Beware the flat yellows. Isn't there a professional association of shelter vets that issue guidelines on these sorts of things? I have a vet friend who is on the board of a cat shelter - I can ask
 
Isn't there a professional association of shelter vets that issue guidelines on these sorts of things?

Supposedly, this is the standard in shelter medicine... but while I can see how this set-up makes sense in a public intake shelter that doesn't hold animals for very long, it makes no sense to me how this can be an appropriate solution in a foster home where kittens stay for weeks (and sometimes months) at a time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top