9/6 Tigger PMPS/338 +1.7/266 +3.2/283 +4.2/298 Early Nadirs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Good Morning, LL! ~O) ~O)

Regarding Nadir Question & feeding, please see ??? post at bottom of condo - Thanks!!!


Yesterday's condo

Sending Barb hugs & support today, knowing those feelings and that void. Also sending healing & support to Jupiter & Jaime, + firm poop wishes to Marje & her fab 3, + appy vines to China, Gobbles, & Lucy, & any others in need today - :YMHUG:

It's a 2-cup morning, just because it tastes soooo good! Little Simon decided to treat me with a lap nap - it's been awhile, so I'm definitely blessed!

Nice sunny morning here, the wild turkeys already made their circuit: 6:45AM: single file across the causeway to the grape trellis - some fly to the top to eat the grapes, others forage in the grass, then single file to the front stone patio & the big oak tree for an acorn entree. Finally, single file down to the creek for desert. Such fun to watch! :lol:

Tigger was very active last night (lots of "BRRRRP!"s & nuzzles), even tho' I stopped testing at +5 because he stayed high. Was hoping he'd drop at AMPS & de-activate the dose increase threat. He didn't :roll: so we pulled the trigger, & bumped him up .25 to a fat 1.75 units. Afterwards, I saw Marje's response Tigger might still be bouncing & maybe give him more time - :shock: ohmygod_smile Sure dislike acting against Marje's wisdom...

Have a great Friday, everyone!
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 Pulled the Trigger

Hoping that the extra juice will help to bring down his #s for you today, and every day. Hang in there, guys. You're both doing a wonderful job.
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 Pulled the Trigger

Hey Suzanne! Thanks for stopping by today. I read Tigger's story about how he lost his eye - awwwww.....I love happy endings!!! He's so sweet! My parents had a cat who's cornea just popped out one day and they ended up having the eye removed and the cat never noticed! They just adjust nicely!

Sorry you had to carry through with your dose increase threat! Maybe it will help Tigger get through his bounce quicker. I know the feeling of shooting the wrong dose -did that this morning. Oh well. If that's the worst thing that happens this week, it will be a pretty good week! :-D

Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 Pulled the Trigger

Well, will let you know soon enough if it is too much. I've upped Tess's dose a few times only to have to reduce it within a few cycles. Some times it;s just the jump start they need.

Just read the story about Tigger's eye too! :evil: Let me guess who "that vet" was!

BTW We finally got more raw for Tess, if you want a few ounces to see if Tigger would like it let me know when you are coming to town and we can get together.
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 Pulled the Trigger +2/272

Thanks, Everyone, for stopping by, we love the company :lol: :lol:

@ Angela - I hope so, too & thank you!

@ Dara - yes, animals are such incredible teachers about resiliency & overcoming obstacles, aren't they? And - tomorrow is another day -

@ Ann - Yup - "that vet" also prescribed the Glipizide (strike #3) :evil: :evil: :evil: I'd like to try some NV, thank you! - we may be heading out Sunday (BGs permitting) -thinking of going to SLO & checking out the Tails store myself - sounds like they have alot of great products. Would really like to meet you, though! And - I hope you're right about the 'Jump Start' - we need one! I'd actually be overjoyed with a high level blue!
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 +2/272 +4.5/259 Pulled the Trigger

It looks like Tigger is responding nicely to spreading out his food more than you were!

I think it's possible that Tigger is still a little bouncy but it's not entirely clear -- at least no to my eyes. The concern with increasing if there's a bounce is that when a bounce breaks, there can be a fair amount of momentum when that happens. If you increase the dose at the same time that a bounce may be breaking, you could have a good deal of momentum behind the dropping numbers. As long as you feel confident in steering the numbers with food, you'll be OK. The problem that can arise is that the numbers get away from you. If you monitor carefully and have all the supplies you need, that shouldn't happen.
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 +2/272 +4.5/259 Pulled the Trigger

I know sometimes that extra "kick" gets their attention when the threat to increase doesn't...after all, how many times have we told our cats "if you do THAT again, I'm gonna ____ (fill in the blank)" and they just look at us with their all knowing eyes that say "sure you will mom"...and go right back to whatever it is we didn't want them to do?

Cats don't seem to take our threats all that seriously, do they? :lol:

China dropped back to that darn 49 again last night, so the increase helped...but I'm kind of back where I started. 1 wasn't enough, 1.25 might be a little too much..and trying to get that dose in between is really hard!

Good luck on the new dose!!
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 +2/272 +4.5/259 Pulled the Trigger

Thank you for writing that great read all about lucky Tigger! I loved it!! very sad yet so inspirational....as all great stories are.

I am glad you have that available for everyone to read on your signature line too.....it will help many of us who feel so overwhelmed and hopeless sometimes...

Such a great story two-fold: one....Tigger is a survivor....nothing will stop him! Diabetes is nothing man!! And secondly: oh.....those vets!! right??
:evil:
I think you said it best: don't allow a second chance when they fail once!

good luck on the increase ....let see those results Tigger!!


~kelly
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 +2/272 +4.5/259 Pulled the Trigger

Hi Suzanne,
Good luck with the dosecrease!
I'm sure you'll be able to keep him safe!
I hope Tigger will come down to blue/green soon.
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 +2/272 +4.5/259 Pulled the Trigger

Thanks again everyone for your support & dosing input, I like having the visitors & the conversation!

There seems t be a fine line between knowing when a cat is still in a prolonged bounce, or needing an increase, or frequently bouncing because the dose is too high. (Or D: ALL of the above! ohmygod_smile )

@ Sienne - thanks for your experience & wisdom. Well said - & I will be sure & monitor Tigger to make sure I don't miss a big drop when the depot fills & (if) this dose really kicks in. I think that actually happened to us on 8/9 - I fattened a dose up too soon, before the buonce cleared. I didn't realize until both you & Marje explained it today, but it makes sense now. I hear both you & Marje saying the same thing & will hold this dose longer to make sure I'm beyond doubt before increasing - or at least I'll ask first ! :oops: It did create alot of momentum, tho, no doubt!

@ Chris - Yes, we want that extra 'tap' - just not a 'boot', right? Since China is too low on 1 dose & too hi on the next, maybe you should ask some more experienced members about taking the full reduction & if you lose momentum again, then fatten the dose so you're more in-between??? I'd check with someone who really understands those things, tho! Do you dose with a caliper? It's helped me ALOT!

@ Kelly - aww, thanks for the kind words. Yes, there's so much to learn from our fur kids - sometimes I wonder who the 'teacher' really is? :lol:

Re. vets - I don't know what percentage are in the bottom of their ranking class - but I'm amazed at the stories I've heard in this forum. For some it's also an issue of conscience. At least I can sleep at night. Well ,when Tigger's bouncing, that is!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 +2/272 +4.5/259 Pulled the Trigger

Yeah, I'm noticing that our cats listen to us as well as my high school boy's chorus listens to me...NOT! :roll: Good luck with the dosecrease! and YAY for extra nap time! Happy Friday!!
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger AMPS/322 +2/272 +4.5/259 Pulled the Trigger

@ Deborah - HA! High school - that's a WHOLE other ballpark! I think I'll stick with kitties - better results! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger PMPS/338 +1.7/266 + 3.2/283 Early Nadirs late

Odd, but since around 9/1, Tigger's been nadiring between +1.5 & +4. Is that part of a bounce or just coincidence? FD sure has alot of curve-balls confused_cat

:?: OK - If we are suddenly seeing nadiring as early as +1.5 - +4, & we typically have a cat that has had huge swings in BG, would it be better to feed at +1 & +2 only rather than +1, +2 & +3 until the nadir moves more to the middle of the cycle? Would a +3 feeding interfere with BG since it may be after the nadir? :?:

Thanks, I appreciate any input. I know Gabby has an early nadir & Sienne feeds +1 thru +3, so I'm assuming the answer is 'no' to the above but I don't know why??? Other than the LC wouldn't affect the BG that much???
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger PMPS/338 +1.7/266 + 3.2/283 V.Early Nadirs la

Do you dose with a caliper? It's helped me ALOT!

Yeah, I asked for some help with calipers in my condo today...didn't get any though :sad:

I have a pair of calipers, but I can't hold the calipers in one hand, the syringe in the other, and still need another hand to hold the vial and one to pull the plunger....LOL

Also had a heck of a time figuring out conversions..how many mm in a unit...how many in a 1/2 unit...how much is 1.75

and then there's the fact that I don't see so well anymore. My arms aren't long enough and at some point all those lines just kinda fun together!
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger PMPS/338 +1.7/266 +3.2/283 +4.2/298 Early Nad

@ Chris- I posted with some caliper links on your condo a short while ago - I'll make sure it went through......
 
Re: 9/6 Tigger PMPS/338 +1.7/266 +3.2/283 +4.2/298 Early Nad

Tigger's nadir may never move to the middle of the cycle. As you noted, Gabby has an early nadir. There are days when her nadir is closer to mid-cycle but overall, her nadir is early. That's just her metabolism.

There's no one right answer for how to feed. It's largely a process of trial and error. If you want to shift Tigger's feeding schedule, just give it a couple of weeks to see if it's working and take good notes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top