9/6 Racci AMPS-121,+3-111,+6-140,PMPS-179,+3-56

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78526
9/5 Racci AMPS-105,3.5-35!,+6-77,PMPS-222,+4.5-84

Happy Fursday! This week has just flown! I'm hoping to visit condos today but am losing cable off and on so if I disappear for a while, odds are that's what it is.

Racci had a good morning and I slept late so she went back to sleep with me. We got up for meals several times but it was so dark out from the storm that we just went back to sleep. :oops: Luckily we woke up in time not to be late with her shot and meds. Today Racci had a slight decrease because of yesterday's 35. I just took it down another hair since she has a hard time holding decreases at this level. Hopefully she'll do well with it. I'll just work it down that way till I get to 2.75u.

Racci has had all p's today but almost had another poop disaster. Luckily I saw her going and was able to avoid it. She went on the wrong end of the box this time which would have meant she would walk on it getting out if I hadn't been there to catch her and move it first. Sometimes I wonder if the vet was right when she said she might be going a little senile. She is still so smart about everything else though that it doesn't make sense to me. At any rate, I'm glad we avoided it and she wasn't constipated today. :smile:

Going to cut this short before I lose it when my cable goes off again. TTYl (I hope) :razz:

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Racci AMPS-121

Always good to avert a major clean up! :o :-D

Guess you need 2 exits for the lb.

Nice start for Racci today. Hope you have a good Fursday!!
 
Re: 9/6 Racci AMPS-121

Hi Rhiannon!

Very true! I definitely would be better off with 2 exits but unfortunately my bathroom is fairly small and since she's so big but has such short legs, it's very hard to find a lb that works for her. This one is big and has 2 ends that are short so she can get over them without trying to jump but since it's big, I have to turn it so only one end is accessible. What she needs is a lb that is big with 4 sides that are only 4" or less high and it seems to be impossible to find. If they are big, the sides seem to all be 7" or bigger. If you ever spot one like that, please be sure to let me know.
 
Re: 9/6 Racci AMPS-121

did a quick search but 5.2 inches is as short as I can find.

Have you looked at shallow plastic pans for dry wall, other house construction type things? I feel like I've seen them at the hardware
store ( I love shopping in hardware stores that have variety stuff)
The other thing I thought of is the plastic storage bins with lids that come in all sizes. There are some flatter under the bed type with lids.
Obviously you don't need the lid part but you might find something that would work that way . Walmart, Target, hobby lobby.

The other thought I had was to take some cardboard boxes that are at least 3 or 4 inches bigger on all side of your litter box.
stack them and cut out a hole to make a step platform. I'm thinking 3 or 4 boxes , same size , flattened.
Give Racci a little stair , you could even cover it, wrap it in contact paper so you could wipe it clean if it got wet or messed on.
And the contact paper would hold they don't slide away from each other.

Oh you said against a wall, so it only needs 3 sides but you could just slide it around the cat box.
 
Re: 9/6 Racci AMPS-121

I didn't look at the ones that slide under the bed. That might work if I could find one small enough. They're usually pretty big, at least the ones I've seen are. The hardware store didn't really have anything useful. They either weren't washable or didn't work for one reason or another. A lot of them were very flimsy plastic and would break too fast. She's heavy and if she steps on the edge it has to be able to take it.

I'll check Target and see what they have. Thanks.
 
Re: 9/6 Racci AMPS-121,+3-111

Hi Melanie, Sleeping in with Racci sounds like a wonderful way to pass a storm :smile: . I hope she holds her shaved dose.
Good interception at the litterbox! I hope you can find something that will work as a low sided easy access litter box for Racci. As I recall Chris set up sweater boxes for Tucker I think they are deeper than you are looking for. I will definitely let you know if I see anything that looks promising.
Have a great afternoon!
 
Re: 9/6 Racci AMPS-121,+3-111

Hi Melanie, just stopping in to visit you and Racci. I hope you find something for Racci, good suggestions above. Hope your storm passes by and no more loss of electricity/cable.
 
Re: 9/6 Racci AMPS-121,+3-111

Hi Melanie:) Glad to hear that Racci is feeling pretty good! Looks like she had a pretty nice cycle today and I hope she likes her mini shave :-D
Thanks so much for coming to visit Ella with your vines. It meant a lot to the both of us.
 
Re: 9/6 Racci AMPS-121,+3-111,+6-140

Hi Ann, Tamara & Leslie,

Sorry it took so long to get back to you. I was helping Alexa & Reuben and Racci wanted help & food & cooking, etc. My internet keeps going out still too. One of those days. We've had loads of cable trucks all different brands in the neighborhood working the past few days so I imagine the storms knocked something out.

Thank you all for the suggestions and extra eyes for the lb. Racci has these really short legs and now that her legs and back hurt and she doesn't jump anymore lb is really a problem for her. She's constantly scraping her poor belly getting out. I don't understand. There must be other cats that have the same problem yet no one seems to have a lb for them.

I don't know if stairs would work for her. She doesn't like stairs.

Thanks for visiting! Hugs!
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Racci AMPS-121,+3-111,+6-140

Nice day for Racci and congrats on the reducie! That stinks with your Internet. I hope they get it fixed. How did we ever do it before? Have a great night Melanie!
 
Re: 9/6 Racci AMPS-121,+3-111,+6-140

Melissa, I don't know what we ever did without it! Since I have cable for everything, I lose my tv and landline also when it goes out! Talk about total boredom! At least I have my cell phone though. :smile:

I hope Racci can keep the reducie. Notice how high she is today? I'm hoping she'll settle in tomorrow. She sometimes needs 3 days with a new dose.

Thanks for visiting. I have to go check my sauce. Have a great night too!

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Hi Jane,

Isn't she though? She climbs up so high I'm wondering whats up with her and then just dives! Well at least I know the new dose is not too bad. :lol:

I was just getting ready to call it a night too!

Melanie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top