9/6 Poopy AMPS 92 PMPS 108 +6 81

Raiye

Member Since 2022
Previous posts: 8/14, Intro post

Good morning!
I was wondering if someone more experienced than I could take a look at Poopys sheet. 8/29 we went up to 2.25 u (1.75 AM shot was a measuring error). I have a sleep disorder that has been acting up so he's missed some shots because I either slept through his shot time, or he was already pretty low and I wouldn't be awake to monitor him so I didn't give any insulin.

Even missing those shots, his numbers have been pretty green the past two weeks.

I thought I did, but I guess that I don't quite understand when to increase or decrease a dose following TR protocol. Right now should I be holding at the 2.25u dose for 5 more cycles, and if he still has nadirs under/around 100 to increase another .25 and monitor?

When he was first diagnosed he had some other health problems and was in a lot of pain. We started insulin and changed his diet to Friskies pate while he was still being treated for that - Should we do a curve without insulin for a day to see what his sugar levels are now that hes not in pain (At the vets his glucose was over 500 on their pet specific meter, my vet is okay with using human meters for home testing.

I have a really hard time understanding anything with numbers so its almost impossible for me to read the information in the sticky about dosing methods and have any sort of knowledge stick and there's absolutely no way I can see a pattern or any rhyme or reason in his spreadsheet (other than a general downward trend). I've just been overjoyed seeing him finally feeling better and have put asking for help about it on the backburner a bit.

If you could try and explain things to me like you would to a kid in like 5th gradeish that usually helps me understand and would be appreciated :D
 
I'm still relatively new around here, and I'm sure someone more experienced will chime in soon, but Poopy's spreadsheet is looking great! I'm surprised that even with missing several shots in the last couple days that he's staying within meter variance of green. That would make me wonder if a reduction might be in order, even though it hasn't been a week in green yet. Let me tag some folks for you!

@Suzanne & Darcy, @tiffmaxee, @Bandit's Mom
 
Hello there! The problem is all of the skipped shots. We cannot have a clear picture of how low this current dose will take your Poopy until he's getting consistent dosing every 12 hours. Otherwise making decisions about increases could put him in danger.
 
Under TR, anytime there is a reduced dose, a skipped shot for any reason, including a fur shot -- the whole cycle count resets. So that pretty much keeps putting Poopy back to square one.

I'm really happy to hear that he's feeling better and it is lovely to see the good numbers on his spreadsheet! It's just that somehow he needs to get his dose every 12 hours. :bighug:
 
And I am just re-looking at Poopy's spreadsheet again. Please, whatever you do, do not increase the dose at this time. He's already been getting really good numbers with nadirs as low at 72. If anything, if you can be consistent with the shots and he stays a week in mostly green numbers, you would be looking at a reduction. I just didn't know if I made that clear. Obviously, if Poopy drops below 50, you would reduce the dose by .25 units.
 
I'm still relatively new around here, and I'm sure someone more experienced will chime in soon, but Poopy's spreadsheet is looking great! I'm surprised that even with missing several shots in the last couple days that he's staying within meter variance of green. That would make me wonder if a reduction might be in order, even though it hasn't been a week in green yet. Let me tag some folks for you!

Thank you! I figured someone would be making their morning rounds and get to us eventually since its not an emergency :P

Those missing doses and good numbers is what makes me think that maybe we should try without insulin for a while and see how he is with just the food change since he's not sickly anymore.
 
What medications is Poopy on for Asthma and Arthritis, if any?

He is currently on buprenorphine (as needed), and we do not have anything for asthma yet. We have a prescription but I am having a hard time finding a pharmacy that carries the dosage we need
 
With stopping insulin altogether, you do risk losing progress that you have made. If he were being overdosed at this point it would be obvious because he would be dropping into the lime greens (below 50).
 
He is currently on buprenorphine (as needed), and we do not have anything for asthma yet. We have a prescription but I am having a hard time finding a pharmacy that carries the dosage we need
Poor baby. Has your vet mentioned to you about Adequan injections for arthritis? Usually they only need to be given about once a months after the initial doses and most people give the injections at home. They're very helpful for a lot of cats. I am glad that your vet gave you Bupe instead of metacam (bad for kidneys) or Onsior (also bad for kidneys.) I just wanted to make sure that there's no Prednisolone involved here. Are you trying to get an inhaled steriod for the asthma? -- that would not be a problem for blood glucose. It does look like your kitty may have a good shot at remission, but the process does take some time and definitely consistency as well as dedication. You're testing, on the days that you've been able to do it -- is excellent.
 
Also, and this is just something I am curious about... your signature says fish allergy -- but most of the Friskies pates contain some fish. I feed several different flavors of the pates to my feral cats and they all contain fish (Turkey and Giblets Pate, Poultry Platter pate and Liver and Chicken dinner pate). I'm happy that he seems to be doing great on the new diet though.
 
Thank you! I figured someone would be making their morning rounds and get to us eventually since its not an emergency :p

Those missing doses and good numbers is what makes me think that maybe we should try without insulin for a while and see how he is with just the food change since he's not sickly anymore.

This is the one thing you should not ever do. The only time I have seen cats stop insulin and become diet controlled is with lots of low numbers meaning under 50 and lots of rapid reductions. If you try without insulin after a dose of 2.0 I can almost guarantee you will be back and in a much higher dose.
Lantus likes consistency so with the recent skipped shots and good bg he might race down the dosing scale. Sometimes sometimes just clicks and this happens rapidly. Please post daily before you feed him at amps and pmps and let us help you decide whether to shoot or skip or give a reduced dose.
 
Also, and this is just something I am curious about... your signature says fish allergy -- but most of the Friskies pates contain some fish. I feed several different flavors of the pates to my feral cats and they all contain fish (Turkey and Giblets Pate, Poultry Platter pate and Liver and Chicken dinner pate). I'm happy that he seems to be doing great on the new diet though.

Looking for inhaled steroid for asthma. His asthma is not bad right now but he does have some coughing fits randomly as he has his whole life.

He can have some fish, but if the food is mainly fish he gets really gross oozy acne on his chin. We never got a formal diagnosis on the allergy but cutting fish almost entirely out of his diet has eliminated his gross chin issue. As long as fish is like 5 or later on the list of ingredients he does well.
 
This is the one thing you should not ever do. The only time I have seen cats stop insulin and become diet controlled is with lots of low numbers meaning under 50 and lots of rapid reductions. If you try without insulin after a dose of 2.0 I can almost guarantee you will be back and in a much higher dose.
Lantus likes consistency so with the recent skipped shots and good bg he might race down the dosing scale. Sometimes sometimes just clicks and this happens rapidly. Please post daily before you feed him at amps and pmps and let us help you decide whether to shoot or skip or give a reduced dose.


I will try and get better at posting. He gets his shots at 11 AM and 11 PM (dont know if anyone would be available at that time) as those are the only times i've found where i'll be available consistently. Even when my sleep disorder is acting up I try to at least be awake to give his shots. I'm pretty comfortable with the 2.25u right now, but when his numbers are like 80's or lower and I wont be around to monitor i'm leery to dose him.
 
Looking for inhaled steroid for asthma. His asthma is not bad right now but he does have some coughing fits randomly as he has his whole life.

For inhaled steroids there are online pharmacies that offer different dosages at much more affordable prices than US pharmacies. I have an asthma kitty and we order his inhaled steroids and rescue inhaler (for when he has attacks) from InHouse Pharmacy. Happy to give you more info if you wish, and this asthma support group is also amazing: https://felineasthmainhaledmedications.groups.io/
 
Back
Top