9/6 MrCat AMBG 87 Day PMPS 181

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and MrCat

Member Since 2013
Greetings! Mr.Cat had a great night last night (PMBG 88) and a good start to the day today! After his vet visit yesterday, he started a 14-day course of clindamycin for his tooth infection and also started UroMaxx for slight blood in his urine (no UTI detected). He seems better already!
His BG appears to be calming down, too. I guess everyone on the forum was right about pain/infections raising BG! I'm just happy that he's feeling better.
flip_cat

Here's to another good day
On Mr.Cat's OTJ!
(Cheers to Deb for inspiring me to rhyme :-D )

Yesterday's post....
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=103779
 
Re: 9/6 MrCat AMBG 87 Day 4 OTJ Trial

So glad to hear Mr Cat is feeling better. Lets hope for a successful OTJ trial as his body continues to heal.

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT Cheers to Mr Cat :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Karen
 
Re: 9/6 MrCat AMBG 87 Day 4 OTJ Trial

Yeah for day four!
Mr Cat's ready to roar
Just another ten
Until we party again
party_cat


All this bad poetry could be hilarious....LOL
 
Re: 9/6 MrCat AMBG 87 Day 4 OTJ Trial

Glad Mr. Cat's numbers have gone down! And glad he is already feeling better!!

So how does he like the UroMaxx? How do you give it to him? Just some drops in his food or straight down the hatch?

I have never heard of it before and am considering buying some online...but Tom is pretty good about knowing when I am trying to slip something in his food!! darn it!!

Congrats on day 4!!

~kelly
 
Re: 9/6 MrCat AMBG 87 Day 4 OTJ Trial

Oh good! Chris has joined the bad poetry club! Congratulations!

Mr Cat is feeling better,
gonna' write him self a letter,
gotta' tell those kitties at the falls to prepare,
Mr. Cat's gonna bungee jump if he dares! A very nice green number for Mr. Cat for today.
 

Attachments

  • OTJ day 4 green circle.jpg
    OTJ day 4 green circle.jpg
    2.7 KB · Views: 257
Re: 9/6 MrCat AMBG 87 PMPS 181

Thanks, everyone! But I am afraid that Mr.Cat took a turn this afternoon. He was very lethargic during the day, but I thought it was just the heat. I waited until his usual PM time to test and lo and behold, he was at 181. I broke down and gave him .5U. I know everyone will say.... aahhhhrgh! Why did you do that ?!?! Well, he has a few weeks of antibiotics ahead of him, oral surgery, and blood in his urine. If he had been officially OTJ for a while when all this happened, I may have stuck it out. But at only 4 days without insulin and with the wacky numbers over the past few days, I just don't know if he's ready for an OTJ trial yet. Maybe when the other issues have been handled, he can move forward.
I hope I don't get too much fallout from everyone for giving Mr.Cat insulin. I plan to reduce his dose back to .25 or maybe even .1 if he's low tomorrow morning. In the meantime, I'll test at +3 after his shot tonight and see how he's doing. I'm a little worried about posting this due to the inevitable comments that will follow, but I have to be honest about what's happening. Thanks for your support! ;-)
 
Awww...we understand!!! Let's get him healthy again, and then we'll work towards getting him back OTJ! It might take a little longer, but it's well worth the effort. Don't feel bad, there have been others who tried to start trials but just weren't quite ready and there's people like you, who were already off and the cat gets sick or hurt or something and has to be treated for that (Like IBD)...when insulin comes back into the picture, you might just have to fight a little harder to keep his BG in safe numbers ....but we'll be here to help!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top