9/6 Missy AMPS 431 +8 71 PMPS 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom2Missy

Member
A little late on the shot this morning. I'm thinking about trying 0.4U today since she dropped from 508 to 66 last night with 0.5U. Also, she's eating some more of the LC pate food, so hopefully the lighter insulin dose will work out pretty good.
 
Re: 9/6 Missy AMPS 431 +8 71

I was out running around all day, so I told Missy to stay low and to not give me any surprises when I got home. Looks like she did what I asked :-D
 
+8 71
+10 120
+11 160

Decided to go with 0.2unit tonight. I didn't want to wait until +12, let the insulin poop out, and end up in the 300s. I'm so glad she's eating more of the LC food. Of course, I have to spike it with a little bit of tuna, but whatever gets her to eat it. I've been slowly decreasing the tuna amount, so hopefully she'll be straight canned soon.
 
Wow, she is a drama girl, no? Your dosing choices make sense to me. If she goes high again on the 0.2, looks like 0.3 is about your only choice, that makes it easy, yay! You can also do sort-of fat and skinny doses if you get to that, but hopefully these high #s will settle down soon and then she may be fine on the 0.2u. She's getting such good #s I'm a little surprised you are still seeing so much zoom at the end of the cycles, but hopefully it will be settling down soon. Could be the steep drops are adding to it, so I suppose some of it might be that. In any case, nice greens again, yay!
 
She does look great in green. :mrgreen:

I really wanted to be better about timing her injections this weekend, but life got in the way. Luckily tomorrow we'll get back to our normal schedule. Hopefully I can keep her from getting too high at the end of the cycle so we don't have to deal with those dramatic level drops she's been seeing. And again, I am really hoping the lower carb food will help out. She was doing a 9% carb and now we're trying a 5%.

I can't wait to show her vet how well she's doing. When I was drawing up the insulin, I saw the directions that were written on the box: "1U twice daily". Every time Missy had one of her end of cycle rises, the vet would try to raise her insulin dose by 0.5unit. I'm curious to see if the vet will change her thinking once she sees the progress Missy has made with the LC food (which the vet was against) and by "Starting low, and going slow".
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top