9/6 MAX AMBG 74+.5/86 BG+15.5 188 AM/PMPS 240+2 269+3/273

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124761

Max cleared his bounce last night. I was awakened with a call from my sister that my mom couldn't stop shaking and she called 911. Max was at 92 and 30 minutes later 86 and I didn't know what to do. My sister hung up on me. I fed him some mc and he got up to 136 and then 144. DM is in ER and they are giving iv and antibiotics. Because they already had the c&s they were able to start it right away and please pray with me that is all that is wrong. I am going to try to stay home until +18 and shoot his regular dose. Then I can go to the hospital for at least 3 hours I hope before coming back to check on him. That way I won't need to shoot tonight. If we are really lucky they might send her home but I doubt it.

I'll post numbers before I shoot to see if any dosing advisor is around to help me decide what to do. Does this sound like an okay plan? Thanks.

Fed at last test and he ate some.
 
Re: 9/6 MAX AMBG 74+.5/86 shoot at +18?

if i were you, i'd skip Max's shots if necessary so you can go be with your mom. One of the things i've learned is that I want to choose to do things that won't cause me to have regrets or feel guilty later. Go be with your mom and sis. Shooting at +18 is fine, skipping the shot entirely until your next scheduled shot is fine.

Another option is just giving him something like 1.0u to get something in him, then leaving him lots of food. It's likely that he'd stay high enough to not be a problem, but it's hard to be certain about anything except skipping.

whatever you choose to do, it make take a few days to get back on track, but he will.

praying for you both. it's a hard thing to deal with. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/6 MAX AMBG 74+.5/86 shoot at +18?

(((Elise))))

Sending lots of prayers for your mom that she will be ok. I hope the doctors can find out what's wrong and address it. She's had such a difficult time.

I like the idea of shooting at +18 because you can get some insulin in him (a full dose) after the depot has drained a bit but it will also let you sleep tonight because if you shoot at +18, which I believe is about 12:30 or 1 PM your time, you wouldn't shoot again until tomorrow morning at your regular time. I doubt he would come down this afternoon if you shoot at +18 but be sure you feed him and leave food out.

You can skip or shoot a reduced dose if you prefer and since you are past your normal shot time, he'd probably be fine especially if you leave food out. But then you've got to get him back on schedule which means shooting later tonight and the potential to be up with him.

I don't think you can go wrong either way. I'd do what brings you the most comfort and ability to be with your family and know Max is safe.
 
Re: 9/6 MAX AMBG 74+.5/86 shoot at +18?

They think it's the UTI. The reason why I thought +18 was he should then be safe the rest of the day and I won't need to shoot tonight so I have flexibility going to the hospital. Vitals are fine. Not concerned so much with being off track as being safe and most flexibility. I'll check his BG and post again in 15. Yes I was to shoot at 6:30. Thx.
 
Re: 9/6 MAX AMBG 74+.5/86 shoot at +18?

YOu've gotten great advice....just piling on tons more prayers for your Mom.
 
Re: 9/6 MAX AMBG 74+.5/86 BG+15.5 188

Nothing more to add to the plan. I hope you can maximize your time with your mom. Lots of healing vines going her way and hugs to you Elise. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/6 MAX AMBG 74+.5/86 BG+15.5 188 AM/PMPS 240+2 269

THANKS FOR THE PRAYERS. DM admitted to hospital for low BP and UTI and on IV antibiotics plus pain meds. Sleeping now. I'm on phone with sis waiting to see if Max eats as he ate just a little earlier.
 
Re: 9/6 MAX AMBG 74+.5/86 BG+15.5 188 AM/PMPS 240+2 269+3/2

Thanks for keeping us updated, Elise. We're thinking of you and your mom and sending lots of vines!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top