9/6 Maggie AMPS=130 Adequan dosage?, +6=122, PMPS=103, +2=99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alicia & Maggie (GA)

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-5-maggie-amps-131-2-89-6-127-pmps-103-3-80.183469/

We went to the vet yesterday afternoon for UTI recheck. Infection is still present and we'll start Zenequin.

Maggie got her first Adequan injection while there. Vet had never given it to a cat. Her references said once a week and subQ. I've read it should be given twice a week for 4 weeks, then weekly for 4 weeks, then monthly, and that it should be given intramuscular. Vet gave 2 units, I'd read .5-2.5mg per pound.

If Adequan has been successful for your cat, what is the dose per pound, the frequency, and the injection method that is used? Is anyone else giving the injection themselves? Thanks!
 
See my SS PM cycles. Gizmo got it 2x's/week for a month then once a month maintenance. He just got his first monthly about a week ago. I gave it Tuesday and Saturday then the monthly was same date as last shot one month later.
 
See my SS PM cycles. Gizmo got it 2x's/week for a month then once a month maintenance. He just got his first monthly about a week ago. I gave it Tuesday and Saturday then the monthly was same date as last shot one month later.
Thanks Lizzie for the info. and the condo link! Are you giving the injection with an insulin needle or an ml needle? If with an insulin needle, is it hard to draw?
 
Shadow was on it. She was 12 1/2 lbs... got 25 mL ....oops.... should say mg.
I preferred using my insulin syringes which made for a full syringe and it's subcutaneous.
Shadow always slept so wonderfully the day she got that shot.
 
Last edited:
I've used adequan with two kitties so far...and need to get another one started on it soon. It is a fabulous medication for arthritis!

I followed the loading schedule you mentioned above: twice a week for 4 weeks; once a week for 4 weeks; every other week for 4 weeks, then after that, as-needed (usually every 3-4 weeks - I gave it when they started getting gimpy again). I always gave it SubQ - according to my vet, it works just as well SubQ as IM, and it really did work for my kitties.

I didn't use insulin syringes, just because it was quicker to inject with the other syringes. And I always did the injections at home...since it's SubQ, no need to go to a vetty!

Dosing is based on weight, so I would get that info from a vet.

Most recently I found that Valley Vet had the best price. Years ago, Drs Foster and Smith also had a really good price, too.
 
from the adequan website...

  • For cats, the dose is 0.5 mg to 2.5 mg per pound (1 to 5 mg/kg) in the muscle every 4 days for six doses. Other protocols include using PSGAG at 2.5 mg per pound twice a eek for 4 weeks then weekly for 4 weeks then monthly.
  • The duration of administration depends on the condition being treated, response to the medication and the development of any adverse effects. Be certain to complete the prescription unless specifically directed by your veterinarian. Even if your pet feels better, the entire treatment plan should be completed to prevent relapse or prevent the development of resistance.



I just noticed i said mL up above..... going to correct that.....

it was mg....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top