9/6 Jesse AMPS 107 PMPS 158

Status
Not open for further replies.
last post

After my last post on 8/12 I took Jesse to the vet because I thought he was blocked with poo. X-Rays showed no obstruction and the vet put him on Albon and FortiFlora thinking it might be a small intestine bacterial overgrowth. He's acting fine and I think his poo is a little better, but I never see him go to the box and there are multiple cats, so I can't tell who's is who's.

His numbers were still in the normal range but high numbers on 8/23 prompted me to lower his dose.His numbers came down. Now they're up again. Am I totally off base about his dose? Would appreciate experienced eyes to look at his spreadsheet and tell me what you think. I'm about ready to give up.

Helping to sap my sanity is my civvie Kiah has 20% of her kidney function left. I'm giving her fluids and trying to get food in her. She is not getting enough and is continuing to lose weight. And my FIV+ civvie Mandy is starting to deteriorate. Don't need any advice on these, just venting my frustration at trying to do this alone being away 10 hrs. a day. I feel like I'm killing my cats

Thanks for listening and thanks for any suggestions for Jesse
 
Re: 9/6 Jesse AMPS 107 PMPS 158-exp eyes on ss pls

first, I want to say that Jesse's numbers are GREAT. It sounds like you have a lot going on, but you don't need to worry about him. He's surfing in a range where he is safe from lows and safe from highs, and just cruising steadily along in numbers that are very good for him. If you want to leave him where he is, there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. Remember "normal" is usually considered 120 and under, and he is there almost 24/7. He might surf in that range for a long, long time on this dose, or his pancreas might heal more and he might end up needing a reduction at some point. He is fine, though.

If you want to try to pull the whole range down a little, you can add some fat to the dose, but you would want to keep an eye out in case it pulls him down too far. If you have other stuff going on or need to focus on the other cats, then Jesse won't suffer AT ALL if you leave him where he is. Ok?

((((Carolyn)))) I can't help much with the other kitties, but I want you to feel GOOD about what you've done for Jesse.

About the poo, can you shut him in a separate room one day when you go to work? That's the best way to know who is doing what.
 
Re: 9/6 Jesse AMPS 107 PMPS 158-exp eyes on ss pls

(((((carolyn)))))

i thought of you sunday - i was in your town! wondered what part you live in . . .

no advice on the kitties, but it sounds very overwhelming. i'm so glad libby could tell you you're on the right track with jesse. one less thing to worry about.

if i could ever help with anything, just holler. i'm close enough to come give a shot or test if you were ever in a bind. we love our kitties.
 
Re: 9/6 Jesse AMPS 107 PMPS 158-exp eyes on ss pls

Jesse's SS looks great. I know you want Jesse OTJ. He can sit in these numbers if you need to make your other kitties the priority for now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top