9/6 Jenks AMPS 61 +1.5 126 +4 240 PMPS 125 +7.5 114 +9.5 145

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
EDIT2: Now includes 9/6!
EDIT: merging 9/4 & 9/5 into single thread

9/3

Jenks didn't blow up after that 41 last night and subsequent dose reduction this morning. So I'd call this a good day so far.
 
Re: 9/4 Jenks AMPS 138 +7 203

Fingers crossed that Jenks is going to hold this dose reduction. If you see his numbers trending up, don't hesitate to go back up in dose. There's a little bit here about failed reductions. Just be on the look out for that.
 
Re: 9/4 Jenks AMPS 138 +7 203 PMPS 240

240 isn't terrible considering he was 100 points higher at this same time last night. This is usually the crest of the roller coaster, so it's all downhill from here. Let's see where we end up on this new dose.
 
Re: 9/4 Jenks PMPS 240 +7 121 +9.25 49

Here we go again. Normally, I think I'd just monitor him and see what he did so long as he stayed around 50. But this is a 70-point drop in 2 hours, which I think is a lot. So I'm going to nurse him along with some gravy. Unlike last night's intervention with the very high carb Friskies Selects Indoor (approx. 30%), I'm using the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (approx. 20%) w/o any karo. Hopefully we can stall him out, bring him up a little, but not too much.
 
Re: 9/4 Jenks PMPS 240 +7 121 +9.25 49 +9.75 52

Not much change after 30min. So I gave another dose of gravy, this time with a couple drops of karo for good measure. Getting ready to test again in a few.
 
Re: 9/4 Jenks PMPS 240 +7 121 +9.25 49 +9.75 52 +10.25 56

The gravy sure is slow to take effect. We're at 56. Just finished giving him the last of the gravy in this can, again with a couple drops of karo. Need to get him above 60.
 
Re: 9/4 Jenks PMPS 240 +7 121 +9.25 49 +9.75 52 +10.25 56 +1

Up to 68, finally. Only an hour to AMPS, and it's entirely possible the HC can wear off. So OH is going to have to do follow-up tests to make sure he's ok.
 
Re: 9/5 Jenks AMPS 66

66 AMPS. He got his full dose, ate, and is now lounging with OH, who is now in charge of follow-up tests at +1.5 and +3 to make sure he holds steady. I'm not too worried because Jenks is a daytime riser, but with him, you can never be too sure when he'll surprise you.
 
Re: 9/5 Jenks AMPS 66 +1.5 94 +3 109 +6 253

Straight up during the day, which is typically the case. I don't like seeing him quadruple by the midday cycle however. I'm really going to need some suggestions on how to address that.
 
Re: 9/5 Jenks AMPS 66 +1.5 94 +3 109 +6 253 PMPS 267

Straight up again today from AMPS to PMPS. Where we end up tonight, nobody knows!
 
Re: 9/5 Jenks PMPS 267 +4 156 +9.5 78

Hmmm, Day 2 of the reduction and I'm not sure it's successful. He's getting less time in the greens. And there's trend developing where he halves his reading between PMPS+7 and PMPS+9.5, which I'm not sure is a good thing.
 
Re: 9/5 Jenks PMPS 267 +4 156 +9.5 78 +10.75 66

Ugh, this later nadiring is killing me. Hope he comes up a bit for OH.
 
Re: 9/5 Jenks PMPS 267 +4 156 +9.5 78 +10.75 66

i'm going to reply here since you've already posted here today - do you want to just change the date and make it for 9/6 as well?

i think so far it looks like he is holding the reduction. Why don't you give him a little bit longer to see. He's getting some fairly low greens on it, so i don't think you want to increase the dose back up just yet. At least that's what it looks like to me.
 
Re: 9/6 Jenks AMPS 61 +1.5 126 +4 240

Jenks only spend approximately 4 hours in the greens last night. And he jumped right off of the AMPS. I really wish I knew what to do to flatten his cycles out.
 
Re: 9/6 Jenks AMPS 61 +1.5 126 +4 240

there are some strategies that people use if just going straight by the protocol (Plan A) isn't getting the job done.

In general, when a kitty is bouncy, the idea is you want to get enough insulin in them to bring down the high numbers, while preventing them from going too low in order to keep the cat safe.

One strategy is to "feed the curves" in order to smooth out the cycle. The goal here is to prevent any big drops. If you can prevent the big drops, you can often prevent the bounce that results. reducing the bouncing smooths out the cycle.

One way to do that is to increase the nadirs by feeding higher carbs (say try 10%) in the hours when you expect Jenks to drop down. Then you increase his insulin slightly, giving the regular low carb in the hours that you don't expect him to go low. You want to hold his nadirs up for a few cycles, which often is enough in itself to bring down the high numbers. Sometimes just a few cycles of doing this can really make a change.

I have 4 condos bookmarked where different people talked about Feeding the Curve and Bouncing. Take a look here and see what you think and consider if implementing a food strategy might help Jenks.

8/10/13 Tashie
6/1/14 Rocky
8/29/12 Charlie, Bouncing & Somogyi Rebound
10/29/11 Jetta
 
Re: 9/6 Jenks AMPS 61 +1.5 126 +4 240 PMPS 125

Thanks Julie! That was the same idea I was tossing around in my head earlier today. All of his food is 8% of less, so I was revisiting the food list looking for something a little higher for the overnight feeding to give him that bump he needs to not go so low. It's worth a shot.

I see lots of mentions of bounces, but is that really what Jenks is up to during the day? We already know he doesn't have a typical lantus cycle. Rather, he tends to rise during the middle of the day irrespective of either the dose of what his numbers are from the night before. Given how fast they resolve (today he went from 240 to 125 in 8 hours), are they bounces or something else? And does that make a difference?

Anyway, it seems like I need to make a food plan. Perhaps a little higher carb late at night to prevent too low a reading, and perhaps a little lower carb in the morning to give the midday rise less ammunition to work with.

Also, he dropped a 125 on me for PMPS. It should be an interesting night. Also worth noting, Jenks was being a bugger while I was trying to give him a shot. I got about 1 unit in before he growled at me and pulled away. So I had to put the needle in a second time to inject the rest. Not sure how this will affect his depot with insulin in two places, but we'll see.
 
Re: 9/6 Jenks AMPS 61 +1.5 126 +4 240 PMPS 125 +7.5 114 +9.5

Ok, so I ran to the store later in the evening to grab a suitable MC food. I settled on Friskies Savory Shreds Chicken & Salmon (15%) because they were out, or didn't carry, my alternative choices. As far as proof of concept goes, feeding the curve was a success. He got a nice food bump from the extra carbs, which I think would be very beneficial on those nights when he's running green. In retrospect, this may not have been the ideal night to experiment because when he starts the night out low, he tends to have a nice, long, flat cycle. He very well could've stayed blue all on his own. Or he could've taken a dive between +7 and +9. Anyway, I think a trip to the pet store is in order to stock something in the 10-14% range, which I think could go a long way toward mellowing out his low nights. If it succeeds, I'd be willing to go back up to 5.5U, which puts him in the greens longer than 5.25U seems to be doing.

The best news is that with this current number, I can actually get some sleep! Praise be!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top