9/6 Jenks AMPS 112 +4 80 +6 44 +10 95 PMPS 78 +6 33 +7 48

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
9/5

Gravy & karo plus his usual last-minute rise has Jenks at 112 this morning. I expect that to wear off later this morning. Hope he doesn't dive too low for OH.

I also cut his dose again to 8.5U. If it were just me here alone with Jenks for any longer, I'd give stronger consideration to a BCS dose or two. But with OH back and available to monitor, I think the better decision is to continue playing Wheel of Doses. Hopefully this is a dose we can hold on to for a couple of days to make sure we haven't overshot the sweet spot.
 
Jenks went swimming with the sharks again today. This time it was around midcycle instead of between +3 and +4. It's probably not unexpected, considering his AMPS was artificially inflated by gravy a couple hours earlier and probably began wearing off as the insulin kicked in. It wasn't anything a little gravy couldn't cure though.

This is the first cycle at the new reduced 8.5U dose. With OH back in the house, we're going to hold the line and see what he can do for a couple of days. If this is lingering depot action, it should burn itself off during that time. If it still persists, we know we're dealing with too much insulin.
 
I'm losing my mind here! Not only are we 3/4U down from just a couple days ago, I decided to spot check him an hour earlier than normal, and we have one of his lowest readings of the year. The worst part is that he was snoozing away and not even giving any indication that he was low.

He got some gravy and karo plus ate some food, which now has him in much safer territory.

I can't cut the dose again - that would be 3 times in as many days. So we're going to give him one more cycle to see what he does. If he drops below 50 again today, then I don't there is any other choice but to do a half dose in the PM and maybe even the following AM.
 
Jenks! :rolleyes: I agree with not reducing any further but you may want to do a good 3/4 to 1/2 BCS if he keeps this up. Glad your helper is back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top