9/6 Jack amps 115 +4 163

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltycat

Member Since 2016
last condo

Jack is doing good after a skip yesterday AM. I am SOOOOO glad I did a middle of the night test on Monday, caught the jerk at a 36:nailbiting:. Some steering got him up, but whew, glad I caught that one and it earned him a skip yesterday morning.

Obviously he earned a reduction and made a quick recovery from the skip, he is doing good in the blues today so far.

Storm prep is in full swing down here getting the hatches battened down and making sure I am as prepared as I can be. Plenty of Jack food, strips and insulin. I may not be able to keep a pen refrigerated if I have to evac, but they should be good for 30 days at room temp. I can wrap it in a damp paper towel, but with our humidity it won't help too much. Also have some ice packs freezing now to possibly help out. Worst case I use it for a week or so and toss it.

Waiting to see where the storm is headed before making too many decisions, been through these enough to know right now there is just too much uncertainty in Irma's path. I can take Jack and the civvie with me to higher ground if needed, but the coral fish tank and fishies would not do well for more then about 12 hours without some intervention. I've got big battery backups, an inverter for the car and battery powered air bubblers, but most of that requires me to be here. We are only a few blocks from the inter-coastal and while it drains good here, a big storm surge is on my list of things that would not be fun. On the plus side I think I'll have my brothers boat parked here so can always bail out in a boat if it got real bad.:)

I have my go bag planned out and kitty bags/carriers ready. Hopefully the storm continues tracking more easterly and misses us, but I want to be ready if needed.

Hope all the beans are doing good.
 
Ice packs should help a lot, I remember when your pen would last only a fews days anyway :D. Good luck and lets hope it stays east and heads up weaker as it touches the mainland. Keep us updated if you can.
 
Aaarrhhggg. :bighug::bighug:

So sorry you have this to contend with. Prayers. Stay safe and keep us posted.

Will do, having fun today with all my IT clients who didn't want to pay for backups suddenly regretting their decision:)

I have a feeling it will miss us and it will be another non-event, but I don't take chances.... or wait till the last minute like all these panickers that are just now realizing they have no water and non-perishable goods to eat. I got a little "prepper" in me so I'm ready if it does head this way. I'm a florida native so I've been through lots of storms so know how to deal with no power.. and potentially no water(the worst), just not a direct hit yet thankfully.

Ice packs should help a lot, I remember when your pen would last only a fews days anyway :D.
Ice packs and Ice are in the freezer, also a few water jugs to help keep the freezer /fridge colder longer. My inverter should also handle the fridge so I can run it occasionally to keep it cool. More concerned with if I need to leave and deal with Jack while somewhere else. It sure is nice when those pens last more then 3 days, I'm sure you can relate!!! Worst case I use the pen for a week and toss it when things get better.
 
Will do, having fun today with all my IT clients who didn't want to pay for backups suddenly regretting their decision:)
:banghead: Heh. The back up tapes for our office in WTC1 on 9/11/01 were in the trunk of the IT tech's car. The car was in the under ground parking garage under WTC1.

BTW - offices were on 91st floor. All employees made it out safe.
 
95 in FL heading north is already a parking lot :eek:
LOL, I can imagine. I'm in Pinellas county, which is a peninsula:banghead:.... Pretty much any evac route goes over a bridge and rush hour alone can gridlock the bridges... best to stay put rather then get stuck in traffic or worse on a bridge. At least here I have supplies and tools.

@Karen & Lily can be added to the list. ... Congrats on another reducie but Jack, please dude...nice and easy please.
I worry more about her, an afternoon storm down there is like a lake draining from the skies. A big storm like this could really drop some rain on them.
Come on Karen, you know Jack.... all or nothing for that boy:smuggrin:! He sure took the 30's or 300's motto to heart lately. We go up a little and down a little but he just can't seem to make up his mind on a nice steady dose.

The car was in the under ground parking garage under WTC1.
Ouch:facepalm:, I don't think a trunk in the parking garage counts as "off-site". Glad everyone made it out ok. I'm guessing some procedures were changed after that one.
 
Dang, Was hoping to hear that you are not in Irmas way but was pretty sure you were...:(will keep you in safety vines as I follow its path!
Yowza, 36! Your guy does like to make sure you are paying attention!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:Hugs:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top