9/6 China AMPS 99,+5 119,PMPS 179,+4 117,+6 120,+8130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Well, China definitely does better on the 1.25 dose.....and we hit that stupid 49 again at +10 overnight. She didn't do well when I dropped it back to 1, so I'm trying a skinny 1.25

Right thing to do? I really don't know, but she's surfing some nice blues today. Guess I'll just have to see how she does. I don't particularly like the doses in between the lines (those .25 and .75 doses are always a challenge) so trying to split that even further can be pretty tricky.

I do have some calipers, but trying to hold the calipers in one hand while holding the syringe in the other doesn't leave any hands to hold the insulin or pull the plunger. If I pull the insulin into the syringe and then compare to the calipers, if I have too much, it's not such a big deal (other than feeling like I'm throwing away liquid gold) and if it's not enough, I have to go back and pull more out and start over...and each time I try to "focus" on the tips of the calipers, it's harder to really see where they are (my arms aren't long enough anymore...and the more attempts I make, the less confident I am that I'm seeing it right)
I have seen the pictures on how the calipers are supposed to work and understand that..it's my eyes that aren't really cooperating.

Any tips on using calipers??? They would be much appreciated! I know some people use "Light boxes" but that's an expense I can't really afford and I'm still not 100% sure what benefit they are or how the light box would help.
 
Re: 9/6 China AMPS 99,+2 139,+5 119,+8 138,PMPS 179

WOW.....talk about work that juice China just hours after an increase....doesn't take long for her depot to fill!!!
:mrgreen: :razz:

And again with that nagging 49!!!! ha.

Hopefully you will see safer and better numbers with your skinny dose....or your attempt at a skinny dose!! not easy is it?

I don't have any help for you in the calipers area....

but I certainly could NEVER draw up any amount of insulin without my headlamp on!!

I don't know whether to wish for you a restful night or not???? ha

But I will for sure wish for you both a safe night......

~kelly
 
Re: 9/6 China AMPS 99,+2 139,+5 119,+8 138,PMPS 179

They do have a sharpie marker with a very fine point.
You could make a tiny mark on the syringe for your reference with the caliper measurement.
And that might help you not have to go up and down so much. It will take practice to keep the mark thin.

I planned on doing that with a marker but I mostly just was able to look on the syringe at where it needed to be ( always under or over some line) and then loaded accordingly per occasion. The marks on the syringes were always different each day by a smidge or more.
 
Re: 9/6 China AMPS 99,+2 139,+5 119,+8 138,PMPS 179

Hi Chris! Thanks for the visit at our place earlier today.

As a matter of fact, I DO have some suggestions for calipers - after running into problems myself, I tried to put all the informatin I read + any new suggestions all in one post. Here it is: Suggestions for dosing with calipers

I really like calipers & while not perfect, it's much better than the guesswork. I actually use 3 pairs of glasses (my bifocals, + 2 sets of reading glasses balanced over each other - I look like an idiot!), plus a lighted magnifying light that blueprint, planners, or other design architects use. Not sure how much they cost, or where to even find them - amazon maybe or a craft store? I'll try & find out if you'd like? Also good for removing splinters!

Ann uses headlamps & told me which ones - thought I ordered them but.....don't have them, so it must have been a senior moment :o I can give you that info too if you want - let me know!

I really like Rhiannon's idea about the Sharpie, too - right now I pick up the caliper several times - check - put them down - make my adjustment - check - putthem down, etc. A thin line would be helpful there.....

I was going to suggest you ask Marje or Sienne about either a skinny reduction or taking the full reduction & if that didn't work fattening the dose. They have so much experience with that. Probably others as well. Marje's pretty tired tonight - I don't know if she'll be posting.

China's numbers are much better today, so congratulations for getting some movement! Hope you get just the right amount - a 'tap' & not a 'boot'! You're doing a great job, keep up the good work!!!
 
Re: 9/6 China AMPS 99,+2 139,+5 119,+8 138,PMPS 179

Chris, I don't think you saw my post yet, but the condo link has ALOT of caliper info - hope you see this! 'Nite!
 
Re: 9/6 China AMPS 99,+2 139,+5 119,+8 138,PMPS 179

Chris, I don't think you saw my post yet, but the condo link has ALOT of caliper info - hope you see this! 'Nite!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top