9/6: Cedric amps 296

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
I used the new pen starting last night and testing him at +4 (380) and +7 (252). I decided to give him 3.25 units this morning. I have to work all weekend, but I might try to work from home on monday since Dallas has to go to the vet for his check up. Fingers crossed that this new more expensive pen :o works better!
 
I don't thin it's the pen(s). I think it's the dose. He just isn't high enough yet. I know it's hard to sort it out when he has had really low numbers on less insulin, but their needs can change over time. It might be one of his other meds causing his BG to be higher, or the chronic p-titis.

If you look at Cami's SS you can see nice low numbers in June and I decreased her dose. She still had good numbers on less than a unit, then her BG climbed and I had to start raising her dose. She got up to 2u before her BG came down. Now she is again getting good numbers on a lower dose. She has been around 1.5u, but last night I gave her 1u on a mid 200. This am she was 141. I think, with Cami, she develops insulin resistance really easily. She is also on other meds that mess with her BG. And if she gets constipated her BG climbs....

It's always something when they have multiple issues going on. Cedric looks to need more insulin, but it's important to not raise the dose without a nadir test even if you have to get up in the middle of the night to do it.
 
Re: 9/6: Cedric amps 296, pmps 231

Yep, got up last night, and fortunately he was nearby. I was more awake last night then the night before so it was tough going to sleep again.

The new pen must be doing better. I still gave him 3.25, and will check him again at +4 and +7.

It's been tough for me, I guess, since he went off insulin before fairly quickly. Frankly, my biggest fear is him getting sick again (meaning going to the hospital). If he needs insulin for the rest of his life, he needs it. It is a bit difficult wrapping my life activites around his schedule though. And when I drove way out of my way yesterday to pick up his new pen, I nearly had a heart attack at the price. It was $55 in mya when I bought one, yesterday it was $68! I'm calling wal-mart!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top