9/6 Bob AMPS=189

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning everyone! HAPPY FRIDAY!!!

Bob is playing mind games with me. I know when he is curled up in the laundry basket all cute and warm, he is actually plotting how to torture and confuse me.

So, for two days he has been sniffing the dry and walking away from it. So, I put the dry out for Penelope and Hector and give Bob an entire can of wet. I also reduce his insulin by 1 unit - I know it's alot, but when he's only eating wet, his numbers drop like a boulder! I turn around ten minutes later and he's eating the dry. I don't get it. I just don't get it. How can I confidently give this cat insulin twice a day when I have no idea what he is going to be eating?? I thought about putting Hector and Penelope in a separate room with the dry while I'm at work and leaving Bob out with only the wet. I just have this bad feeling that he will not want the wet if I take away his options. Also, unfortunately, I absolutely cannot feed all three of these cats Wellness food - I literally do not have the money. I'm already spending about $125 a month between the orijen and the wellness, then there is Advantage, insulin, needles, blood glucose strips, litter and other medical expenses. But I'm torn on how much insulin to give. I'm sure I will come home to some crazy number.... Sorry to be whiney. Just wish this was all a little easier - it's driving me nuts.

I hope everyone has a great day!!! Thoughts and prayers for Barb and Checkers, Kat & Gobbles and all who need them.
 
I'm sorry Bob is being so picky about his eating. Maybe if you leave a little dry out along with the wet, he'll choose to eat the wet. I hear you on the expenses. I still feed some of my kitties dry because one is picky like Bob and because of the expense. I know wet is better, but you have to be able to pay the bills too.
 
Hi Dara, I haven't been by in awhile, & it looks like Bob's as feisty as ever. I think feeding him separately, especially while you're gone is the best idea. I'd also leave both food options available to him, unless weight is an issue. Then you know precisely what & how much he's eating. Sorry I can't advise you on the dosing. I can sure commiserate with the expenses, tho - ours have gone through the roof with the new diet (for all 3) & testing supplies! Sure hope everything settles down for you - sending canned appy vines for Bob & calming vines for you! :lol:
 
Hi Dara! So Bob os consenting to eat wet?!! :shock: Whooo Hooo!

I know on the expense of the canned food but, eating a good canned diet can save a lot more in vet expenses in the long run.

Have you looked into the large 12.5oz cans? If you are sure they will eat it, it can be a lot cheaper online. http://www.chewy.com/cat/wellness-complete-health-turkey/dp/30202 It comes out to $2.33 a can for more than twice as much food as the 5.5oz cans. If you auto ship you can save even more.
 
Carla, Angela & Suzanne - hey guys! Thanks for stopping by with encouragement! Always nice to have so much support!

Ann & Tess said:
Hi Dara! So Bob os consenting to eat wet?!! Whooo Hooo!

I know on the expense of the canned food but, eating a good canned diet can save a lot more in vet expenses in the long run.

Have you looked into the large 12.5oz cans? If you are sure they will eat it, it can be a lot cheaper online. http://www.chewy.com/cat/wellness-compl ... y/dp/30202 It comes out to $2.33 a can for more than twice as much food as the 5.5oz cans. If you auto ship you can save even more.

Hi Ann - yes, Bob is eating the Wellness Turkey only, but I'm very paranoid about it! Yesterday he tried to bury it - not sure if that's because he's saving it for later or he was treating it like poop and trying to get rid of it. However, he's really weird about it. Sometimes he won't touch it and goes for the dry and sometimes he won't eat the dry. I just can't figure out what he wants. I really think he wants the option of both. Thank God I found wet he has continued to eat - it's been a few weeks now.

I do have the autoship order from Chewy.com for the 5.5 oz cans. I read somewhere about BPA linings in the cat food cans and now I'm all paranoid about it. The large can is the only one with the BPA in the lining (I called the company). I'm not sure if it should be a real concern or not....
 
Hmmmm, thanks for the heads up on the BPA in the larger cans. But not I have something else to worry about! ohmygod_smile They seem to be attributing thyroid problems to it, but Tesshas been fine so far.ANTI_JINX!!!
 
It sounds like Bob is taking his job of keeping his bean guessing a little seriously! I wish I had ideas for you...it has to be extra frustrating since he'll go for the canned sometimes, but not others. Cats! What can you do but love 'em anyway? In my house, with a variety of diets running among 5 cats, I do feed each what they need, but spend a lot of time playing "food police"...if I were to confine any of them so they couldn't eat eachother's food, I would end up with a mutiny. I hope you figure out a workable plan for your crew.

Have a great evening, Dara!
 
Hi Dara,
I'm sorry Bob is so unpredictable about what he wants to eat.
My two cats eat different foods, so I do have to play "food police" too, but it's easy since I don't free-feed them.
I hope you'll come up with a plan that works for everyone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top